We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot with lovely staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Bordeaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Bordeaux to your Saves list
Hotel de Bordeaux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Place Gambetta | Centre Ville, 24100 Bergerac, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bergerac
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great spot with lovely staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely night in this hotel from the friendly and helpful welcome right through to the cute boutique-style room. There's a decent outdoor pool for if the weather's good and pleasant seating area around it.
Worth reserving parking in advance as there isn't much of it!
Location is really handy, just around the corner from the main church/cathedral and the edge of the old town. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    102
    48
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
92
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, N.Yorks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were slightly concerned when we arrived at the hotel, some of the letters were missing from the sign outside followed by a notice on the reception desk stating payment in cash only. However, things started to look up, a friendly receptionist and a nice room at the back of the hotel avoiding any street noise. Hotel is conveniently located near the centre of Bergerac with street parking available in addition to the hotel's secure car park. Bergerac is a lovely town with a variety of restaurants and bars. We enjoyed our short stay and the Hotel Bordeaux was a good choice despite our initial misgivings.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel to avoid any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbordeaux, Propriétaire at Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are pleased that our guests leave comments about hotel, many thanks!
As you wrote, the sign outside is broken because of a storm 2 months ago, the new one will finally arrive at the end of September!
The credit card terminal was out of order during the week end, unlikely for us and our guests and so we had to wait until tuesday to get it fixed. As we explained on check in and on the note at the reception, the only way to pay for french was cash or cheque, and english or other countries by cash.

We are very sorry for all the inconvenients but sometimes we can't find better solutions!

We hope you had a nice stay with us!

Best regards,

Alexandra Manant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Bergerac, France. Initially we were not impressed with the hotel due to first impressions. Some of the neon lettering of the hotel name on the front of the building were not lit up but found out that they were hit by a storm and are waiting for their insurance claim to be sorted. Also our room was not very clean. We were told that it was due to a new cleaner not doing her job properley and it was sorted within around 5 minutes. They were our only gripes. The service we received was very good. The staff and owners of the hotel were very friendly and could not do enough for us. It is a very nice hotel with nice pleasant rooms and public areas. Not noisy and in a good location to pop down to the shops and the old part of Bergerac.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavaflow1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoy your stay with us, we are looking forward to meet you another Time!

Best regards,

Alexandra Manant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Hotel du Bordeaux and really enjoyed our stay. Good location only 10 minutes walk from the train station and into the old town. Despite central location was very quiet so no problem from traffic noise. Rooms very clean if a little basic. Great to have a pool which would have liked to have made more use of with better weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavaflow1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay!
WE hope to see you again,

Best regards,

Alexandra Manant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was a good value but there were some problems -- poor WiFi in the rooms; rooms are small and the bed was a smaller ( and kept getting smaller as the night went on ); and the elevator would only work with one person and some luggage. With a second person it refused to budge but thankfully we were only on the 2nd floor. Some good things though - the reception clerk was friendly and very helpful; the swimming pool was an unexpected bonus; the private parking lot was convenient.

Room Tip: the lower floors are better -- see comment on elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel was in a reasonably good location around 10 minutes walk to the centre. Room was not overly big but clean as was the shower room. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good selection of foods for breakfast. However, the bar had a very restricted selection. But overall thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel minutes walk away from the old town and with good access to the town centre and a short drive/taxi to Bergerac Airport (10-15 euros) and train station (less, can't remember how much). We got caught up in train problems due the recent Paris derailment and the storms in the Southwest which prevented us getting back to Paris as planned. Fortunately we came across this little hotel. The breakfast buffet offered very good coffee, boiled eggs, yogurt, cold meat and cheeses, bread and pastries, juices and cereals and was included in the room rate. We ate outside on the terrace near the swimming pool. There are loads of good cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance of this hotel so the fact that it did not have a restaurant was not an issue at all. We didn't use the swimming pool so can't comment on that but it was a lovely setting for it. We sat out on the terrace to use the free wifi after check-out (which was a very generous 12 p.m.) until we needed to leave to catch our flight. The staff were very helpful and there was lift access to higher floors. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable with private shower room and air conditioning (it was 40-45C outside!). The beds were low to the ground and a tad on the firm side though comfortable enough. There was a bit of road noise and you can clearly hear the comings and goings within the town centre late at night and in the early morning so if you're a light sleeper, maybe not for you. We slept great though. There is a small bar for drinks which was handy for taking things back to your room for overnight but again there is so much nearby you don't spend much time in the hotel anyway! Very reasonable price for a night's stay and breakfast but totally depends on what you're looking for, no complaints from us (Mom and two daughters 10 and 14 in triple room).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bordeaux

Address: 38 Place Gambetta | Centre Ville, 24100 Bergerac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bordeaux 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Bordeaux in Bergerac in Dordogne offers you 40 redecorated rooms, all with air conditionning.Free Wifi access is available from your room and in all the public areas.Our professionnal and dynamic team will be happy to help you and advise you to make your stay easier. In the summer our guest will enjoy a relaxing moment in our back garden, and in the warm days you be able to make a swim in our outside swimming pool. We are only a few steps from the historical city center and all the local restaurants. Please ask reception for any advise. We're in the city center of bergerac, so you will have eveything near the hotel. (shopping, museum, wine shops and restaurants) At night reception close at 10pm and after that you will have to use the digicode to get in the hotel. So please for any late ckeck in, call the hotel before to get the access code. For car parking, you have a paying public car park just in front of the hotel or if you prefer, we have a privat car park with limited spaces, it's better to book it with your room and it will cost per night. Please note the car park is closed during night time, so no access to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bordeaux Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Bordeaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.