We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming,quiet and authentic inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'

Save Saved
You added Chateau Les Farcies du Pech' to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'
Les Farcies Nord | Pecharmant, 24100 Bergerac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Bergerac B&B and Inns
Pleasanton, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Charming,quiet and authentic inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This lovely property is a bit out in the country, but still convenient for getting around - about a 10 minute drive into town. We had our choice of rooms. They were very reasonably priced and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but we had a lovely view from our window of the countryside. What made the place for us was the owners - they really made us feel part of the family. They had breakfast with us (served on gorgeous Hermes dishes, which I coveted!), and even gave us some foie gras as a present! The husband is the winemaker and gave us an intimate tour and history of the chateau, and we bought a bottle of his wine. If you want the real authentic, "I stayed in a chateau in the vineyards in France" experience, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wonderful find. We were made most welcome and would recommend the Chateau. Rooms were large and very clean with a really comfortable bed. Peaceful location, walking distance to Bergerac (30 minutes). Breakfast was excellent. Safe secure parking,We will go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our first B and B experience in France, and hard to beat. A beautiful old farmhouse, very atmospheric, large, handsomely furnished room, fantastic breakfast, sympathetic hosts who have a genuine interest in their guests. We loved it. I also bought some of their wine. I am not a drinker, but those who received it spoke very highly of it. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night, but I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This small chateau is definitely a bit different from a normal hotel - we had a very nice large bedroom. It is a good 30 minutes walk from Bergerac so you really do need to have a car with you. The communal breakfast is a good opportunity to meet the other guests but it is very overpriced. For 10 euros you just get freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, bread, croissants and pain au chocolat and this is the same every day. Also no one staying could access the wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wonderful huge room, atmospheric breakfast with the host and other guests.....a visit to the wine cave......it was just perfect !

Its about 30 minutes brisk walk to the river in Bergerac and 10 minutes to their excellent local restaurant, La Flambee, which I would definitely recommend too !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

First things first, this is not a hotel it is a chance to hitch a ride on a different way of life.

Located on the very edge of Bergerac this beautiful old building has been sympathetically maintined and, only where required, updated. Hence the fabric of the building (and the bedrooms themselves) is original mellow stone and warm dark wood, but the beds are by no means aged and the bathrooms and particularly the showers are the best the 21st century can offer.

There is no "reception" in the traditional sense, rather a warm welcome from madame, who is also the host for breakfast (with any other guests who have also managed to tear themselves away from comfy beds in rural-quiet bedrooms). There is no option for an evening meal, and it is here that the rural location becomes slightly less than ideal. However there is at least one decent restaurant within a longish walk or very short drive (La Flambee) and this was excellent, if not overly cheap. It also features the wine of Chateau les Farcies du Pech on its wine list, also available to buy from the chateau.

We would have loved to have stayed longer. If we had we might have unwound so much we would never have wound back up!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seemed the nicest, but were warmer on hot nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Wow! What a place! This Chateau was such a hidden gem, a couple of miles out of central Bergerac, surrounded by vineyards, very quiet and relaxing. At first we thought we had arrived at the wrong place because it seemed like no one was in - but eventually the dog's bark attracted the attention of one of the inhabitants and we were warmly welcomed and shown to our amazing room. The Chateau was genuinely old and our room had been decorated to reflect the period features of the building - but with all the modern comforts. We spent the evening sitting outside in the amazing grounds with a bottle of wine, dreaming of a life in such a beautiful property! Breakfast was a simple traditional french breakfast; very good. (The kitchen was designed so that you could create your own lunch/dinner.) I would totally recommend a stay at this fabulous Chateau! It is a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'

Address: Les Farcies Nord | Pecharmant, 24100 Bergerac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chateau Les Farcies du Pech' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Les Farcies du Pech', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.