We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dordogne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote
Save
You added Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote to your Saves list
34 rue du Perigord Vert | Payzac, 24270, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 471 Dordogne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Couldn't have been better. We stayed for four nights, and appreciated so much the lovely warm welcome we received. Patsy and Steve are great hosts and just make you feel at home in the nicest possible way. Spotless clean comfortable room with en-suite shower, and a more than substantial breakfast to start the day. Very reasonably priced too, we shall surely be visiting them again, and would recommend their B&B to anyone visiting this area of France.


Julia and Joyce

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cartigny L'Epinay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very good room, super food, excellent hospitality. Steve and Patsy were excellent hosts and made our stay a joy. We used Aux Deux Arbres as our base for visiting parts of the Dordogne. We hope to visit again and will try to stay with Steve and Patsy. You will not e disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Everything the other reviewers say about Patsy and Steve's hospitality is true to the last word. Never before had we felt more welcome than at Aux Deux Arbres. We came to Dordogne to send our two teenage daughters to a summer French course and were staying with Patsy and Steve while the girls were learning. On the night of our arrival to the area we spent quite some time driving around looking for the village were the girls would be staying, without much success. When we gave up and came to Aux Deux Arbres in despair Steve got behind the wheel and led us to the place we'd been looking for - I doubt we would have found it without his help. The day when Steve took us trout-fishing is another one to remember. Steve and Patsy gave us a lot of advice as to what to see in the area and owing to their recommendations we visited a few really wonderful sights in Dordogne.
The kitchen at Aux Deux Arbres is a separate story. It's in a class of its own, it really is. The dinners are plentiful, be prepared to put up some weight for resistance is useless. Our penultimate dinner was so splendid that we thought it could not possibly be surpassed. Well, it was. The sheer choice of the finely cooked Chinese dishes Steve and Patsy overwhelmed us with on our farewell night defeated imagination.
Our room was nice, very clean and cosy, the bed really comfortable. Payzac is a very quiet village so you are guaranteed an excellent night sleep. Just make sure you are up in time for breakfast - you'd hate to miss it. We already are.
Patsy and Steve, thank you, we hope to see you again. - Tanya and Dimitri

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveandpatsy, Owner at Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your "excellent" review. We try to take away the stress of being in, what may be, an unfamiliar country and culture. I just wish you had phoned us earlier.
We are pleased to be associated with the intensive French language learning course and look forward to seeing you both again. Next time, that fish won't get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent two nights at Aux Deux Arbres whilst we were visiting friends and relatives for a wedding. We could not have been made more welcome. Within a few minutes we were treated like family. Steve picked us up from the airport and drove us back to the train station. He also showed us a nice part of the country side we would not ordinarily have seen. The beds were comfy, the food was great and the ambiance relaxing. Needless to say we will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveandpatsy, Owner at Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us an "Excellent" review. We strive to maintain our top 10% position in TripAdvisor rankings for the Dordogne. We are pleased to be able to show you a very small part of this beautiful country. There is so much more for you to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were travelling from Nova Scotia, Canada to attend a wedding at Chateau La Durantie. We were very fortunate to have picked Aux Deux Arbres Bed & Breakfast to stay. Steve and Patsy couldn't have been more welcoming. Our room was lovely, our bed extremely comfortable. But I can't stress enough how Steve and Patsy went above and beyond to fulfill any of our needs. Picking us up from the train station, driving us to and from the Chateau. Tours through the area, great conversations and Patsy puts on quite a spread for breakfast. I'm just sorry we missed out on one of her gourmet meals. Our time spent with them was too short. Thanks again for making our stay a lovely experience. Holly and Rick

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveandpatsy, Owner at Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for your "Excellent" review. We try to give the kind of service we would want and this includes helping with travel arrangements. It's one less worry for our guests and helps towards a good experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were very pleased that we chose to stay at Aux Deux Arbres. Patsy and Steve treated us like family, and we could not have felt more relaxed and welcome. They are great cooks and super hosts. When we stayed we were in the process of buying a holiday home in the area, they went out of their way to introduce us to local people and gave us valuable help and advice with our project, which we were very grateful for.
The location is perfect for both relaxing and exploring the area - And the beds are super comfy!
Patsy and Steve are really lovely people and we would recommend their B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveandpatsy, Owner at Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for our "Excellent" review and finding the time in your busy schedule give it. Do keep in touch about progress of your holiday home project. We would be pleased to help in any way with advice and contacts for getting your work completed. See you for dinner in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were welcomed with cool home made ginger beer and enjoyed a wonderful four course meal - restaurant standard.Room very well equipped ,spotless and bed very comfortable . Excellent filling breakfast -would definitely return for another stay maybe on our motorbike next time-thanks very much

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveandpatsy, Owner at Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us an excellent review. Interesting that you are considering a return visit on your bike. We are keen to promote the superb biking roads around here and would also give me the excuse to show them to you. Look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote

Address: 34 rue du Perigord Vert | Payzac, 24270, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Dordogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aux-Deux-Arbres (With 2 Trees) Bed & Breakfast / Chambres d'Hôte in the Perigord Vert, North Dordogne, South-West France, an area famous for fine food and good wines. Open all year.4 Course Evening Dinner available. Just 10 mins from wedding venues Châteaux Durantie and d'Essendieras. Transportation from airports / rail station and to the venues available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Deux Arbres Chambres d'Hote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.