We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and central small hotel offering excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Alizes Biarritz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel les Alizes Biarritz to your Saves list
Hotel les Alizes Biarritz
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 rue du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
hastings
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Compact and central small hotel offering excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Very central location within the narrow one way street system at the centre of the Old Town means car access is a problem - as is parking. You have to take pot luck with the local traffic - and pay for your metered space once the summer gets underway. Once inside Les Alizes not an inch has been wasted. As such it's ideal for a budget break right at the heart of Biarritz .Cafes and restaurants are literally on the doorstep and the superb coastal walks of the town begin are a minute's stroll from the door. Rooms are clean and accessible by lift (again tiny ) so it adds up to a cosy bolt hole ( breakfast served in your room ) rather than waste space on a breakfast room ! Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
31
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Really close to the swimming beach, this hotel is lovely. A 10 minute walk from where the bus dropped us off.(we came from San Sebastian) The bus stop is right near the visitor centre.
We paid 60 Euros and breakfast was 6.50 each - served in the room, it was ok. I would stay here again, but probably wouldn't get the breakfast.
Biarritz is a really pretty town, but try and not visit on a Monday, most of the tourist attractions (museum and convent and somewhere else that I can't remember are all closed on Mondays)
Perfect for a relaxing day at the beach though. We bought picnic things at the small supermarket (closed 12 - 3pm!) and had a late lunch on the beach.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Small but clean, the Hotel is just a very short walk from the beach, but a word of advice if you're a couple its worth asking for a room at the back of the Hotel away from the road as it does get very noisy at night....very noisy, we changed to a different room after 2 nights but had to pay extra and from then on in it was fine.

Breakfast was nice though I chose to stroll up to the Patisserie up near the Supermarket (shopi) The hotel is run by a ver nice married couple, I'd deffo stay there again although I may wait till the exchange rate is better as the norm for a coffee is about 3.50 Euros.....forget buying a grande beer. Go to the supermarket for some quality wine. The restaurant on the left as you walk out of the Hotel is very good and cheap....but don’t order the wine!.....best for Moules....

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We booked this hotel by phone from the UK, giving credit card details etc. On arrival they had lost this booking. I can accept that mistakes can be made but rather than apologise we were accused of inventing the booking, lying about the phone call and treated with utter contempt by the woman behind the desk. (I have the hotels number and time of call in my phone, I assure you this was not my mistake).

The bottom line is - if you want to be sure you have somewhere to stay when you arrive then DO NOT book this hotel in advance.

The location is great - we stayed at hotel marbella next door which was good. I see the palym hotel on the same road has good reviews too.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Great little hotel in a great location. We were 2 adults with an 8 year old child. Instead of the usual accommodation of double bed and camp bed, we had double room with little single bedroom off it. Breakfast served in your room every morning. Staff very friendly and helpful, hotel spotless. Hotel right beside beach, on quiet end of main street with plenty of shops, bars, restaurants etc on doorstop. Excellent value for money, will definitely return.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Alizes Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Alizes Biarritz

Address: 13 rue du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel les Alizes Biarritz 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel les Alizes Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Alizes Biarritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Alizes Biarritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.