We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Large - Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Large - Residence to your Saves list
Le Grand Large - Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, rue Dalbarade, 64204 Biarritz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
Oslo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I agree with the other positive reviews of this place. We visited the place in 2008, and found it so good that we decided to return this summer.

However, I would also like to add the quality and service provided by the restaurant. Biarritz is generally an expensive place to have dinner, and quality is more variable than other places in the Basque region. The half board solution at Le Grand Large provided us with a wide variety of choices, high quality of food, great day-to-day variation and good service. Most waiters spoke good English and were really polite and helpful. Breakfast is good and varied as compared to what is common in France. Although the wine list is limited, it offers interesting moderately priced and interesting regional options (Landes, Jurancon, Madiran).

If you really want to splurge on a great dinner, I would recommend going to Bayonne, San Sebastian/Guipuzkoa or to smaller places in the Basque countryside (buy a Guide Michelin). Top level options in Biarritz are both expensive and limited.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    81
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
58
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Generally acceptable stay. Good location. Rooms satisfactory - relatively expensive. Lovely warm water in pool - but area otherwise neglected. Insufficient seating/sunbeds & no shades. Could be exceptional with improvements.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Just got back from a stay at Grand Large. This is a hotel but the rooms are like studios with a well designed and equipped kitchen area. The rooms were clean and with daily maid service..We ate in the restaurant once and the food was only average and the fixed menu a bit like school dinners. The pool was the warmest I have ever known for an outdoor pool (a bit too warm really). It was good for swimming and 5ft deep in the shallow end, so not really suitable for small non-swimmers. It was the pool area that was most disappointing, The shower barely worked and the foot wash was constantly full of stagnant water. The childrens pool was empty of water and not in use. The pool area was unkempt, never cleaned for the 4 days we were there, so if you lost a sock it is still there! The chairs were uncomfortable and too few. What could have been a lively area where you could sit and enjoy drinks by the side of the pool was basically a painted concrete floor with a pool in the middle.
The location of the hotel is ideal, Good sea views and just 5 minutes to the town centre and shops and similar to the beach. We ate at a small restaurant in the port area at lunchtime: good food, nice atmosphere and reasonable prices. Just a couple of minutes away from the hotel are stops for the Navette (free bus) that will take you around town 7.30am - 7.30pm. For longer journeys, we went to Bayonne & St Jean de Luz,(well worth the trip) use the STAB bus. Tickets are Euro 1. 20 for every journey and you buy them on the bus.You can also catch a STAB bus (Nos 6 or 9) to and from the airport and be with easy walking distance from the hotel.
This was an enjoyable break in a beautiful part of France. The Hotel is not cheap at £94 per night because for that you should get better pool facilities, However, the staff were friendly and helpful and the overall experience was worth the trip. We from Birmingham with Ryanair for £34 return each.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is my second time staying here. The first time was with a bunch of friends, for golf. This time with a 19 and 22yr old. It is great value and I love the fact that with the ( mini) kitchen you can make a cuppa, or have a sandwich without any hassle. I have stayed on the side facing the sea and the back facing the town and the sea. If I remember correctly the rooms on the front might be quieter but , really, noise was not a serious factor from outside as everything quietened down reasonably early. There was no ambient noise from within the hotel. The pool is fine for a dip or a bit of sunbathing but with the beaches so near it was superfluous really. We did not eat in the hotel this time but ate there on our first visit and the food was fine. The service throughout the hotel is top class. It is great value as there are some rooms with four beds ( twin and bunks) which, at this time of year at 92 euros per night is great value. I will def return again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Stayed last weekend. The location is a short walk (5min) to the beach to the left or 5min to your right and you are in Le Halles market surrounded by fine restaurants, pubs and retail units.

Rooms are self-catering style with everything absolutely spotless on arrival and plenty of cooking and eating utensils supplied. Supermarket "Carreforre" just a short walk away using Rue La Fontaine.
We stayed in a room with an ocean view and it was a spectacular sight with fantastic views across the water to the lighthouse and back across the town.

Hotel staff were more than helpfull & friendly and spoke excellent English which was a big help. They had no problem recomending places to see and showing same on maps.
The Biarritz people in general seem to be a friendly sort who appreciate their tourism trade.

There was only 2 of us but room worked out at about 93 euro per night and would sleep 5, with twin beds that can be pushed together, a couch bed and two bunk beds. Excellent value for the quality of the accomadation.

I highly recomend this hotel to couples young or old or small families.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This hotel was ideal for our three day stay in Biarritz. We were fortunate enough to hit a heat wave and enjoyed an afternoon by the pool - our first chance to relax in the sunshine this year. The room was spotlessly clean and everything either freshly painted or new. Having read other reviews, I believe that the exterior of the hotel must recently have had a facelift as it looked fine and the grounds were well manicured. It was nice to have the small kitchen area; useful for snacking and breakfasting on delicious items from the boulangerie/patisserie.

Although the Hotel should be easy to find, it took us some time and a few queries for directions before we found the place. This despite having walking directions printed and in hand! We used the handy shuttle service from the airport to Biarritz centre. On reflection, a taxi might have been a better idea, as street names weren't always visible and the airport isn't far from town so, would have been worth the added expense.

In summary, I would recommend Le Grand Large as a no hassle and relaxed, but well run hotel and Biarritz as a great place for a few days break, having beautiful beaches, an attractive town centre and good choice of eateries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

It's taken months to get round to posting this review, I stayed at Le Grand Large in May. As you're probably aware Biarittz isn't cheap, particularly with the exchange rates giving about 1 euro to the pound. This was about as much as we were prepared to spend on a hotel and I was happy enough with the hotel.

The previous reviewer was unhappy with the apartments opposite the hotel, which I can't comment on but the actual hotel itself was clean, the room was a decent size, the balcony gave great views (I think we were on the 6th floor, and we found the staff friendly. The pool was great as the weather wasn't good for late May and the beaches were not an option on most days, but my kids were happy with the pool, which being heated made outdoor swimming possible. This proved invaluable.

We only used the bar and had breakfast but the evening and lunch menus looked good and we were tempted, but can't comment on quality.

I think I'm a fair judge of hotels and would stay there again. Though this third visit to Biarritz was obscenely expensive, so would think twice before visiting this city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Large - Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Large - Residence

Address: 1, rue Dalbarade, 64204 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#20 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Large - Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Grand Large - Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Large résidence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Large - Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.