We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a great experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atalaye

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Biarritz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Atalaye
Save
You added Hotel Atalaye to your Saves list
6 rue des Goelands | Plateau de l'Atalaye, 64200 Biarritz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not a great experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at hotel Atalaye. Although it is very well located, our room was small very old fashioned and not practical at all: useless furnitures taking up all the room and only 1 power point. The bathroom was covered in mould and again not practical. Finally the hotel didn't provide any assistance with parking which is a pain in Biarritz in July. I feel that we paid too much for what we got.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    8
    10
    13
See reviews for
5
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel looks very nice from the outside, but the rooms have seen better days. Try to get a room as high up as possible. I had a room on the first floor, and I could hear everything that was said in the front desk, one floor below.

Some rooms do also have a very odd design. My room, a double room, had a bathroom, but it was build in the room after the room was built, and the walls didn't go all the way up to the ceiling, so you didn't want to be in the room if someone was on the toilet.
There was only one outlet in the room, and it was located in the bathroom, so charging two phones/tablets/computers at the same time was impossible.

Now to the plus side. The locations is good. The cleaning ladies are doing a great job if you consider what the rooms look like to begin with, and the bed is comfortable. The staff is also very friendly, so there's no problems in having wet wetsuits in your room (if you are a surfer). The wifi also works great.

I might book it again if I get to Biarritz to surf again, but I would first check other hotels as well. You don't want to spend a day in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights, the location is great, a short walk to the beach. Our room was comfortable , the decor was very dated and there was a musty smell however it was clean and serviced daily. Breakfast was expensive for what we got, I would suggest getting food in one of the nearby shops for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here two days ago at the end of a hiking holiday on the Camino. Paid 45Euro for a single room, which I thought was excellent value. Biarritz is so expensive, and this hotel is ideally located, 2 minutes to a stunning beach and the street is littered with other hotels and cafes, and 2 minutes to all the cute little shops.
The room was very basic and the hotel (I think) is kind of weirdly built, there are a lot of doors and glas separation walls, but my room was clean and totally did the trick for my stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke sufficient English, so I can really recommend this.

Room Tip: My room (no.6) was behind the management sitting room and was basically on the ground floor, so I co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

A very comfortable old hotel with very friendly helpful staff. Because it was so relaxing I stayed three days longer than intended. Room was large, separate bathroom with great deep bath and everything works. Breakfast and wifi available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview - if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The view from the room overlooked the ocean--beautiful. The inside of the room is a different story. The carpet is questionable and bathroom tiny. I was honestly afraid to sleep on the bed, however when one is tired one can sleep anywhere. This tiny hotel did not have air conditioning and it is in a great location, but really the price we paid would have been for a 3 1/2 -4 star hotel, and this was a 2 star hotel. Moreover, with the amount we paid, we thought breakfast was included and ordered breakfast. After a wild night of having fun in Biarritz, we skipped breakfast. The concierge charged us 9 Euro for a breakfast we did not eat and the breakfast we would have eaten included either a croissant or madeleine and coffee. I explained that we did not eat breakfast and the concierge retorted that we must pay because he had to go get the breakfast from a nearby patisserie. 9 Euros! Per person//per day on top of the overpriced hotel room!!!
The halls were dank.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This Hotel was by far the worst in customer service and pricing. It is extermely over priced for what they offer and they lie about the room cancellation requirements as well as have no customer service skills. When I called the hotel in May to find out about rooms, I was told that they needed a credit card on file to hold a room for me. While I had planned on staying there during my European vacation, I felt uncomfrotable leaving my credit card information so far in advance. The hotel manager releived my fears by telling me that my card would only be charged after I checked out. I had intended to stay there but something came up and I cancelled my reservation two days prior to my reservation date yet when I returned to the States, I saw that they charged my credit card any way for a double occupancy ocean-view room.

At first I thought it was an honest mistake on their part, so I called to resolve the issue whereby I was told that I would have to send an e-mail requesting my money deposited back into my account. I sent the e-mail only to receive a response from the hotel manager stating that I was wrong and stayed there. I explained I had to go to Germany instead of Biarritz therefore it was Impossible to be in two places at once. They responded that that was my problem because since the initial booking was made, they had already paid a commission fee to their booking agent and would need to re-coup their funds. I again explained to them that I am not responsible for how they pay their booking agents especially since I cancelled my reservation 2 days prior to the reservation date, and that I did not stay there, therefore was NOT going to pay for a service that I did not use. They told me to take it up with my bank.

Immediately I rushed over to my bank to have them reverse the charges and explain what had happened with this hotel. My banker reversed the charges and I thought things were fine.

Recently I checked my bank account and the hotel who stole funds from my account, stole my money again. I was charged for a double occupancy ocean view room that I had never seen, much more never even stayed at.

I am disgusted that Hotels in France can get away with stealing from tourists, and that this hotel in particular only cared about paying their booking agent and not from doing what was right by not charging my card since I did not stay there.

Again when I called the hotel directly they were rude, dis-honest, and overall my telephone conversations with them to resolve this issue have been very un-pleasent. They have the WORST customer service of any Hotel I have ever stayed in France and Europe. When will they STOP STEALING money from potential guests?

I am appalled and insulted that they got away with it but moreever that they will continue to steal from every person that considers staying there. Their lack of honesty, integrity, and ehtical moral code make this the ABSOLUTE WORST HOTEL I NEVER STAYED AT.

Only the motely fool would book a reservation with these crooks.

Victum of Hotel Theft & FRAUD Crime

Room Tip: Do NOT reserve a room here unless you want to be charged for a room / service you never stayed in no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaxuxa, Propriétaire at Hotel Atalaye, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
It is very surprising because these people have stayed at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atalaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atalaye

Address: 6 rue des Goelands | Plateau de l'Atalaye, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Atalaye Hotel Biarritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atalaye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.