We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice hotel, poor wifi signal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza to your Saves list
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice hotel, poor wifi signal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had 3 nights at mercure biarritz and it was great. Only fault was poor wifi signal which consistently drops out (room 314, perhaps location of our room was too far from the port)
Location is excellent. Biarritz is smal so you can walk everywhere eg. Sofitel spa, beach, main tourist sites, galeries lafayette. Reception staff were helpful and didnt look gutted when we asked if they speak English. Nice to have tea making facilities even if youre provided with paper cups and only 2 milk sachets. Room was spacious, block out curtains did its job, aircon was a tad underpowered, good hot water and pressure. Nice spacious bathroom, clean.
No printing facilities though which is poor, IMO. Had to find some place to print our boarding passes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    141
    50
    18
    6
See reviews for
24
151
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Modern chic hotel set in an old building. Exterior building looked really old but impressive inside. Old style refurbished glass elevator was very pretty, got a corner basic room just above street level, surprisingly not noisy at all, very new and modern furnishings. We were there off peak season, Biarritz was quiet but we could imagine how busy it could get during summer when tourists would swamp to this place for the beach. Right opposite a small casino, close to the shopping streets. Breakfast was average, service was good though. Not a bad stopover.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An older building than most Mercure hotels, and much more interesting for that reason. Bedrooms are large, with full length balcony windows, to appreciate the summer light or winter storms.

Well located in the centre of the seafront, and with it's own carpark, the Reception Desk team are friendly and helpful, with some good recommendations.

Works well for large groups.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view - and 3rd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here at the end of October for 3 nights and had a superior room with side-view of the ocean and I must say it was very nice indeed. The room was a good size and very tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was well-equipped with a great shower, although it's easy to flood the floor with the silly little shower screen they provide. We had tea and coffe facilities in the room, which is always welcome, but why do they give you paper cups? There are very few drinks that taste good in paper cups. Surely a couple of china mugs isn't beyond Accor. I loved the old-fashioned lift, and the reception area on each floor is beautifully decorated.
Didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we found an excellent cafe, literally 100 yards away, which did a petit-dejeuner for 6 euros, and was superb. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within easy strolling distance and, surprisingly, an excellent American diner that does superb burgers and shakes. The barman in the hotel, on the day we arrived, was brilliant, and supplied us with fresh milk for the room; the longlife milk in those little cartons is horrid, and they never supply enough. However, after 2 days he was replaced by a very unfriendly lady who could do with some smiling lessons. Reception staff were excellent and answered any questions cheerfully.
The location is faultless. A very short stroll to the beach, which is as beaches should be, and where we watched some very fit youngsters surfing. It tired me out just watching them! There are some great walks in Biarritz, especially coastal, and a great aquarium. We absolutely loved the place and will definitely return. Also a real bonus was the weather; on the Wednesday it got to 19C, while at home it was about 10C. We travelled by train, Eurostar from the UK, and TGV from Paris, and it is a wonderfully relaxing way to travel. Thoroughly recommend first-class on the TGV (and Eurostar).

Room Tip: The side-view rooms are larger than the front sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here Oct 7 2012- great location , nice clean room with a beautiful sea view. Our room was on the 5th floor at the front. Breakfast pricy but good with great coffee . Helpful desk staff. The beach in front was absolutely beautiful and the location was an easy walk to shopping , restaurants , and sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When booking we asked for a sea view, on a high floor and not near the lift. That is exactly what we got. The reception staff were very efficient and always more than helpful. The room was on the small side but it was very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and again very clean. The secure parking was good (extra cost). Breakfast was buffet style (hot and cold), not the best in the world but you would be hard to please if you couldn't find something you liked. The actual buffet area is quite small and at busy times overcrowded. If you are a light sleeper and don't like waking before 7 a.m. then you will find the early morning traffic noise a bit of a problem but no more than you would in any city centre hotel. Whilst the room was well maintained, the french windows were in great need of repair, with the paint peeling and the wood cracking, which was disappointing.

Room Tip: It would be a shame to stay here and not have a seaview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Address: 10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#13 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring completely renovated rooms, the hotel is located right in the centre of town and just 100m from the main beach of Biarritz. Mercure Biarritz Plaza Centre welcomes you in an art deco architecture unique to the hotel building and recognised by the French National Trust as exemplary of the seaside resort style of the 1930s. Family rooms also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza Hotel Biarritz
Accor Biarritz Centre Plaza
Hotel Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.