We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Art Deco Hotel in very centre of Biarritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Save Saved
You added Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 69 hotels in Biarritz
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Art Deco Hotel in very centre of Biarritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fantastic art deco hotel in the very centre of Biarritz. Very friendly, helpful service. Breakfasts good. Room large and comfortable, with very comfortable beds, small balcony and large bathroom with bath. We were lucky enough to be there on a Saturday night when an excellent local jazz club were playing. Terrific night thrown in on top of a lovely hotel experience. I chose this hotel as a "surprise" hotel from Hot Wire as all the value hotels in Trip Advisor were booked. It was indeed a very pleasant and worthwhile surprise. Also we were able to get a No. 14 bus from the airport for 1 Euro virtually to the doorstep. And the location of the hotel is superb. Couldn´t have asked for a better location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    134
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
132
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

A really good stay in a great hotel - if location is the key then this hotel has it - smack, bang in the middle of Biarritz overlooking the sea and beach and really good sized rooms with really comfortable bed. Breakfast was also good with enough of a choice to suit all tastes and good timings - till 10am weekdays and 11am saturday and sunday.

Room Tip: We had room 509 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England - UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were a little apprehensive about staying in this hotel – a 3 star Mercure – but it turned out to be a very nice experience. We had a small room but with a lovely view of the seafront and it was well appointed. You couldn’t get much more central for the beach, shops and bus services and we would certainly go back again if in Biarritz. You do need to go out to eat as there is a very limited option for food but there is no shortage of restaurants close by. They do a mean range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails in the bar – a real treat!

Room Tip: If you request a sea view be prepared to sacrifice space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is quite well-located, just across the street from steps leading down to the main beach, and the rooms are adequate, if rather small and functional. Contrary to what one reviewer has said, there is a lift to take you up to your room.
During our two night stay, we were served by mainly very pleasant staff, but unfortunately there had to be one of those young French girls who had 'attitude' - an irritation which was repeated in one or two of the bars and cafes we visited, too. Biarittz is obviously suffering from over-exposure to tourism for some of those who work in the industry.
This particular member of staff was more concerned with cleaning up the reception desk (where we had committed the crime of placing our beach towels to return them to the hotel) and taking phone calls, while telling us off for making the counter sandy, rather than giving us our room key. So sad that the work of so many others to make the hotel nice for guests was so badly let down by this one surly member of staff.
The hotel charges 3 euros per day per towel if you want to borrow a beach towel, so if you are staying for a while, it's probably cheaper to buy your own.
Free parking is available on the street just 15 minutes walk out of town, or there are some cheap meters nearer at hand, if you want to avoid the hotel charges for parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalmally, Argyll,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great location, room and decor. For Biarritz, it represents great value for money. The only thing I would mention is that upon check-in the receptionist made an assumption that we were both in our 60s (think that there may have been some sort of discount available for older guests). The thing is, we're both in our early 50s, so we spent a good part of this trip staring in mirrors, asking each other if we did look 10 years older than our age! Recommend that all hotels steer clear of questions about age!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is a great value, with a reasonable rate and good location. The desk and bar attendents were friendly and helpful. The one front desk person did not speak much English, but certianly made up for it with her effort to provide efficient an welcoming service.They even went out of their way to accomodate our small group one evening with a special request from the bar.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Address: 10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#12 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring completely renovated rooms, the hotel is located right in the centre of town and just 100m from the main beach of Biarritz. Mercure Biarritz Plaza Centre welcomes you in an art deco architecture unique to the hotel building and recognised by the French National Trust as exemplary of the seaside resort style of the 1930s. Family rooms also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza Hotel Biarritz
Accor Biarritz Centre Plaza
Hotel Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.