We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream vacation by the sea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kemaris

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Kemaris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kemaris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Avenue du Marechal Joffre, 64200 Biarritz, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 69 hotels in Biarritz
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Dream vacation by the sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Kemaris in Biarritz for 9 days in August! I booked the hotel after finding it on the internet, the photos of the hotel looked great and it was just as great live! The hotel is funky and modern yet cosy, the rooms were fresh and trendy and the family accomodation was perfect, a parents room with en suite bathroom and kids room adjoining also with an en suite bathroom. The breakfast was really good, lots of fresh fruit etc and staff very helpful. The hotel isn`t on the beachfront but beaches and restaurants are a 10 minute walk away. The good thing about not being right in the centre is it is quiet at night. The hotel also has it`s own parking which was very convienient! Always nice to arrive at a hotel and find it is just as good as the photos online! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We really appreciate your comments and hope you will really come back one day in Biarritz. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is very quiet, whereas it is near the city centre (10 minutes walking to the shopping area and to the main beach of Biarritz). We always try to offer the best quality products for breakfast (fresh scrambled eggs, ham, cheese, bacon, fruit, bread, croissant…) to make certain you leave us with good memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    91
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
89
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed here for three nights in December 2010. Found the hotel easily using satnav and were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist who showed us where shops and restaurants were and also where to go on a driving trip around some 'local' villages (this was an enjoyable trip tho most shops were closed over lunch!).

The room was very clean and towels changed daily. No tea making in room but seemed to be able to make a cuppa in the breakfast area. Wifi worked well - code available at reception.

We stayed in December and seemed to be able to park easily on the streets which appear to be permit parking!

Although not in the centre of town it was a 5 minute walk to the sea and shops and we got around on foot very easily.

Would definiately return here, maybe in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your nice comments, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay in December in Biarritz. The hotel is quite easy to find, although it is not located right in the city centre. However, it is only 10 minutes walking to the city centre and its location permits to avoid much noise, which is, I believe, quite enjoyable. It is true that you can easily find a parking space during winter, but during summer everything is quite busier. However, we have a parking at the rear of the hotel and you can book a space when making the reservation (10euros/day). We hope to see you in the summer then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Very modern minimalistic style hotel internally with friendly staff and quiet location. On site parking was €10 and adequate continental buffet breakfast another €10. I would have had problems finding it if I didn't have a Sat Nav to help me. No evening meal available, but reception recommended a restaurant/pub just down the road. It was "different" but had character. Some might like it...... WiFi worked well....eventualy. Handy for visiting Biarritz and a good place to stay, although the room was basic, but very clean. I would stay here again .....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are on a low to medium budget, we paid €95 for one night (breakfast not included in the price, but we chose to go and find our own). Hotel parking is €10 per night, but when we arrived there was loads of free parking on the streets around and in front of the hotel, so why bother paying! The location was just what we were after, a short but pleasant and attractive walk into town (I think it took us 10 mins). There is also a cool open air bar 2 min walk from the hotel with spectacular views over the ocean (I think it was called '100 marches', or similar). All the hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful. There is nothing tatty about this hotel. The rooms were very clean, sleek and modern with high spec bathroom (ours was a very spacious wet room). The beds were also very comfortable and I slept like a log. For the price, location and free street parking I doubt if you will find better value in Biarritz.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We thank you very much for your kind and positive comments about our hotel and staff. We always do our best to please our guests and are very glad when they leave Biarritz with good memories. Our hotel, located in a quiet neighborhood, where parking is free in the streets, also offers a parking(10euros/day, subject to availability) if you cannot find a parking space outside, especially during summer. The open air bar “Les 100 marches” is a really good place to have a drink and some “tapas” in front of the ocean to admire the sunset at night after a pleasant day spent in the beach. We hope to see you back in Biarritz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

nice hotel, very clean.

when we visited it was July and averaging 36c every day. rooms got very warm, they could do with a fan.

hotel is within walking distance of the beach and city centre. we didn't come across another hotel in this price range which we would have rather been staying at.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for taking time to leave a comment about your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. Please note that our hotel has been recently renovated and that all the rooms are now equipped with air conditioning. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I stayed in the Kemaris when I visited Biarritz for the Munster v Biarritz match, Heineken Cup Semi Final. I was warmly greeted on arrival and the check-in was immediate. The room was lovely, spacious, bright and with a huge bathroom. The people working there were very helpful, giving me maps with directions, booking taxis and enquiring after my health when I was ill. The location is perfect, you can stroll into town in less than 10 minutes but you are also far enough away not to be disturbed by the bars and nightclubs. Some older people might not like the slight uphill walk from town. I also felt perfectly safe as a girl walking around alone. The bed was very comfortable and the shower is rainforest style, very nice! Breakfast is extra but I opted for the express one for €5, croissant, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for leaving your comments about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy the hotel and its rooms, which have been designed very simply but comfortably. The location makes it possible to visit the whole town of Biarritz by foot, which is not a detail when parking a car in town is quite difficult. The neighborhood is really quiet and safe, that’s true, even during summer, and not very far from the city centre (10 minutes walk). We always do our best to please our guests and hope that you will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

great hotel 10 mins walk to town on a quiet steet.we had a prestige room with large terrace/balcony help full staff. just been done up so very clean and new .there is also a bus stop next to the hotel to town and airport but as there were 4 of us we got the taxi to the airport for 12 euros you must go to des halles indoor market great fresh food and drink cheap coffee and snacks only small but well worth a visit try the oysters and wine for 4.5 euros in the fish market part !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Kemaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kemaris

Address: 34 Avenue du Marechal Joffre, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kemaris 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris Biarritz ***, located 200 meters from the beach of La Cote des Basques, allows you to visit the city walking. The hotel welcomes you in a warm and calm ambiance. You will appreciate the charm of this totally renovated structure. Enjoy all the comfort of our 48 rooms perfectly equipped (flat screen television, CNN channel and free wifi), divided into two buildings. Each room offers a decoration that combines design and natural wood, and some of them are fitted with a wide terrace. The hotel has a private car park (reservation required) which will release you from any parking obligation. Easy to access, the hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris is located only 10 minutes driving from the airport and the station. The hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris offers 5 categories of rooms to meet your expectations and to respect your budget. Our hotel has been totally renovated (furniture, isolation, floors, walls, plumbing and electricity) during the past two years, all the rooms are furnished with quality equipments and individual air conditioning. One of the best hotel at biarritz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kemaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kemaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.