We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barnetche

Hotel Barnetche
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Barnetche to your Saves list
Hotel Barnetche
5 Avenue Charles-Floquet, 64200 Biarritz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent value and friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were delighted to find that the Barnetche had a room available for our fleeting 24 hour visit to Biarritz this weekend. Not only is the Barnetche excellent value they also have parking in their own garage. A real bonus. The owners are extremely pleasant. Monsieur carried our heavy suitcase up to our room with the ease of a professional weight lifter and Madame was welcoming and charming.

The entrance and lobby has beautiful antique furniture which belies the basic simplicity of the bedrooms which are small, functional but spotlessly clean (as one would expect!). But we didn't come to Biarritz to stay in the room and at 100 euros we were entirely satisfied with the value of our accommodation. My only tip for future potential visitors who are larger in size than they would like to be is that they may just struggle to turn round in the shower!

Room Tip: Ask the friendly owners if you have any particular requirements. We only saw our room and that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Friendly owner, close walk to the City center. Parking behind the house and simple breakfast included. Can recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The charming reception gave us a first good impression of this hotel. But don´t be cheated, the charm and comfort did not reach the rooms at all.
The room was really small and so was the bed. There was no closet, just a little open space to hang the clothes. No TV, an intermittent internet connection, a small desk with one chair blocking the bathroom door. The bathroom was very small as well, specially the shower (so small that I could not shave my legs) The water flow is very poor, so it takes ten minutes to get the shampoo off the hair.
The decoration was ugly, everything was made to just to last: ugly floor, ugly furniture, ugly bed cover.
One think that really bothered me is that with all the nice options to have breakfast at Biarritz, we were obliged to have breakfast at the hotel for I think it was 7 euros each. The breakfast consisted of bad orange juice, a coffee, a croissant, and bread with marmalade.
The hotel location was quiet and quite centric (the only good thing), the room was well insulated from the exterior, but not from inside, so we were awaken everyday around eight by other customers. The room was clean.
The room was in a third floor with no elevator, not big deal for us, except when we had to carry our luggage up and down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was a little concerned having booked this hotel and then reading the negative review on trip advisor. However I do believe a full renovation (May 2011) and perhaps some attention to detail has transformed Hotel Barnetche for the better! We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend in a triple room. The common areas, room and shower-room were very clean. New towels were brought in everyday. We found the room comfortable enough despite it being quite small for 3 adults. Breakfast was basic (glass of orange juice, croissant and plenty bread with butter/jam, coffee or tea - though my preference was for the delicious hot chocolate!) and this was fine for getting going in the morning. The owner was extremely kind and helpful. She also spoke good English. We were incredibly well received and were given excellent recommendations on where to go for dinner. The location of the hotel is perfect - just a short walk away from the centre and the beach. We even took a bus to St Jean de Luz on one day which was very easy. There was a mixture of ages statying at the hotel which indicates that it is probably suitable for most needs though I would say that there did not appear to be facilities for people in wheel chairs. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a reliable, great value no frills place to stay in Biarritz.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barnetche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barnetche

Address: 5 Avenue Charles-Floquet, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barnetche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barnetche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.