We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a morning person?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KARL

KARL
6 Place du Parlement, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #586 of 1,662 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a morning person?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

who needs hot breakfast early in the morning?
KARL has it for you. I think they might be the only one who opens before around 8 AM or so.
Food is very good, and I really love the ambience of the restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    96
    40
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“I strongly dislike this place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've eaten here several times.
It's a place to 'be seen'. Lots of 19 year old girls.
It has an open-space main room downstairs, with huge windows overlooking the trendy "Place du Parlement".
It's packed on Sunday mornings, as it's open early and does brunch.
But, frankly: the food sucks, and so does the service.
Avoir.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here for brunch on a Sunday without a reservation. They kindly seated us quickly but we left after 35 minutes waiting for a waiter to take our order! We had repeatedly requested to order with no avail. The French couple that arrived after us had already received their food! I will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Brunch: a rarity in Bordeaux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Karl is very busy yet service is efficient, and with a smile. We had the eggs "en cocotte", the excellent yogurt, croissants, local honey and home made preserves. All good. Weather permitting, try the terrace, nice view in the Place du Parlement

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wish we had discovered this sooner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a wonderful place! My wife had a lovely quiche and I an enormous vegetarian salad. Both excellent, and excellent prices too. Wish I had known about the various assiettes which we later saw others eating and which other reviewers clearly liked very much. Altogether highly recommended for quality and price, and lack of pretention.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KARL also viewed

 

Been to KARL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KARL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.