We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown well worth the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appart'City Bordeaux Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Appart'City Bordeaux Centre to your Saves list
Appart'City Bordeaux Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Boulevard Du General Larminat, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to downtown well worth the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Budget type hotel 55 Euro per night. All rooms are clean and up to date with Kitchen.
Free Internet but its the old plug style, Wifi in Lobby. Easy 30 minute walk to downtown tram service across from front door. Parking is safe covered and only 7Euro per night. Breakfast is 9 Euro per day. Buffet style. We bought food at the supermarket and made our own breakfast.
No tub only shower. Bed is pull out couch style but comfortable.

Room Tip: Corner units are a little bigger these all end with #6 206, 306, 406, 506, 606, 706 They face the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    88
    77
    38
    27
See reviews for
43
89
27
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I spent there five days at the beginning of September 2013. Indeed, comfortable, close, almost walking distance from the city center and from trams and buses stops, and near a (somehow expensive) supermarket, and three restaurants. This maybe a perfect place for travelers on a short budget, considering the large rooms, nice kitchen, and the bathroom.

Having said that one should be also ready to tolerate (1) the window shutters in the main room that cannot be completely closed and thus the neighbors may enjoy your privacy as well; (2) those shutters are extremely dusted; (3) the folding sofa in the studio is very uncomfortable for a night sleep, and the main bed is too narrow for two adults; and (4) the unreliable staff.

Here is my experience in this regard. Even before arriving to Bordeaux my partner called the hotel and requested separate invoices for both of us to our employers. We were promised that we will receive them. Upon arrival, and as we paid for the room, we were told we will get the invoices only when doing the check out. When asked to see the invoices in advance to be sure that they are satisfactory to our workplace, we were told that these invoices could be printed out only after we handle the room keys. Also to my request for a confirmation of stay in this hotel for my employee I was told the place has no stationary and there is no way to print such a document. At the morning we did the check out, rushing to catch the train to leave France we were stunned to find out that the invoice of my partner was uncompleted in the way she needed and requested it. This was the result of an ignorance of the staff. But of course we were able to indicate it in advance if only were given a chance to do so during the five days of our stay. As there was no way to correct the invoice and reprint it because of poor secretarial services in the place, we left the hotel without the needed document but were advised to call the person in charge to have the paper sent to us. My partner had then to phone day in day out from outside of France for this invoice. In fact, at the time that I am writing this review she is still negotiating with the hotel staff in long phone calls on this invoice.

Bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013, check in was fine and the room was lovely! Nice little kitchen section (absolutely perfect for travelers on a budget) and a spacious and modern bathroom. A good 20 minute walk to town (altho there is a tram right outside the hotel that takes you into town) but we chose to walk it and it was perfectly do-able. Breakfast lovely with great choice, free wifi downstairs (not in the rooms which would have been even better, but as its free we cant complain). Beds very camp bed like (certainly not the comfiest) but not a problem for a 3 night stay. Relatively friendly staff and nice clean, safe hotel. Highly recommended, especially for travelers like us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very comfortably, very nice stuff. Close to bus and tram stops, easy access to train station and to any part of the city. Studio is very nice, nice kitchen (even dish washer!). Supermarket nearby. And what is more important all this for really nice price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Located about 20 minute walk from centre of city but tram stop is very close by, cheap and convenient. Receptionist was very helpful, and we were allowed to check in early for an extra 15 euro. She took 15 minutes out to help me find somewhere outside of the city later also. Rooms are very clean and fresh, bathroom a lot bigger than expected, and a small kitchenette allows you to put items in the fridge or cook small meals. Highly recommended for less than 34 euro a night which is what we paid, the Ibis and Novotels are nearby and cost 3 times as much, so if you want value, comfort and cleanliness, go for the Appart'city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel @ Bordeaux is not very near the city. We stayed here for one night. The rooms are clean and spacious. Receptionist are friendly and helpful. We went to a restaurant very close by for dinner and the food was good. It is good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Check-in: Fine, we tried (as we always do) to communicate in French but the receptionist persisted in speaking English and was quite brusque which gave a bad first impression for customer service.

Room: The bathroom was great, clean and with a spacious, powerful shower. However, the bedroom was disappointing. Our twin room consisted of a sofa camp-bed with a pull out camp-bed underneath on the floor. The beds were narrow and the blankets were thin. The heating was broken so we spoke to reception. The guy we spoke with was very apologetic and brought us extra blankets and a heater as they were unable to fix the central heating. The room was self-catered and the kitchenette was perfectly adequate although we ended up eating out. It had microwave, hobs, fridge and all the basics in terms of crockery etc. My only complaint would be that we were asked to clean the kitchenette ourselves and empty the bins on checking out. No way! It's described as a hotel, we paid around £50 a night and we were on holiday! So we left it for the hotel staff to clean (not that we'd even made a mess).

Location: The hotel is in a great location, 15-20min walk from the Centre Ville (depending on how quickly you walk) or 2min walk from the nearest tram stop which takes you right to the centre. Also very convenient for the Musee des Beaux Arts (which was closed!) Breakfast in the hotel was very expensive so we went to a little bakery 2 mins down the road for fresh croissants instead.

Overall, a perfectly adequate hotel although for the money I would have preferred a proper bed and was annoyed that we were expected to empty our own bins! Mixed reviews for the staff, one receptionist was rude and unhelpful whilst another was very helpful when we had problems with the heating. I stayed with my mum for 3 nights, probably wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer. Would recommend for anyone in the city for 1-3 nights looking for a cheap(ish) place to stay, particularly for a group of young people. Would not recommend for a romantic break or extended holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appart'City Bordeaux Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Bordeaux Centre

Address: 36 Boulevard Du General Larminat, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Bordeaux Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Appart'City Bordeaux Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appart`City Bordeaux Centre Hotel Bordeaux
Appart City Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appart'City Bordeaux Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.