We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty wine trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux

Save Saved
You added Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 174 hotels in Bordeaux
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tasty wine trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Bordeaux was quite different than Paris! thank god!!! the hotel is beautiful and centrally located to every thing . Very friendly city and top shelf hotel . we had a driver take us to ten chateaus and he was top shelf .His name is Didier Adam.Great driver! great guy!!! and very friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a so enthusiastic review about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

I am very happy to see that your stay at the hotel has brought you entire satisfaction. I will be delighted to share your kind comments with my entire team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back !

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    156
    58
    32
    11
See reviews for
68
318
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were celebrating my 60th birthday a month early because our travel agent recommended we visit in October due to better weather. Upon our arrival, we were treated like royalty! Check-in was efficient and we were warmly welcomed by a manager. She showed us to our room and we were given an upgrade. It was lovely! It was spacious, decorated in antique French motif, and the all marble bathroom was luxurious. The room was just what we had hoped for in beautiful Bordeaux! I was given a little birthday gift, and we received a congratulatory note on our anniversary, which we were also celebrating. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful - the bellhops, concierge, front desk, wait staff in the restaurant (which has an excellent breakfast buffet!), and housekeeping. Service was outstanding! This is definitely the best hotel in all of Bordeaux - don't miss it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa for such a special occasion. We hope that you will never forget your last visit in Bordeaux.

I shared your kind words with all our teams and they were very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay memorable.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I live just outside Bordeaux so know this hotel very well, and have often passed bye or taken a coffee on the Terrace.

A friend asked me to drive for him on a Classic Car International Rally over 5 days, and one night stop was in Bordeaux with all the drivers and navigators using this Hotel so I accepted the offer gratefully.

I was not dissapointed with our stay, lovey surroundings, attentive staff and a location not to be matched, all in what I believe to be the most Chic City of France.

I note that on Tripadviser there seems to be many Americans staying here I am sure that it is most suitable and provides a glimpse of Grand Hotels in France.

Oh well for the time being its back to Cafeon the Terrace for me but with the views and location a treat.

Oh I am told the American restaurant oppsite is good but I can not verify this

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa for your visit in March and for taking the time to write a so wonderful review!

It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding the services of our hotel.

Please be assured that I will share your kind words with our team members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa, we remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance you might need.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Brilliant location, great decor and small but luxurious rooms. Wifi is free however going for a swim, sauna or jacuzzi will cost you an extra 30 euros (50 for 2). This was a great disappointment after arriving back from dinner looking forward to relaxing in the spa for 15 minutes before it closed.

As long as you know in advance its probably not a big deal, I personally wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

It was a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our location in the very heart of Bordeaux and the decoration of the hotel designed by Jacques Garcia.

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed by the fee to access to the Spa.
Indeed, to access to the Spa there is a fee of 30€/person or 50€/couple for the entire stay. However, there are other possibilities to have a free access to the Spa:
-If you have a treatment in the Spa (massage, facial treatment...).
-If you book an executive room or a suite.

The fitness center as for it is complimentary for all the guests of the hotel.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is the absolute center of Bordeaux - the city appears to revolve around this spot. I could not imagine staying anyplace else in Bordeaux. It is central to everything in the city - in the middle of the main shopping area, across the street from the Opera House, close to the major restaurants. Rooms are a bit small but the hotel is very nice and the rooms are very quiet. I could not imagine staying anyplace else in Bordeaux

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a so enthusiastic review about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

I am very happy to see that your stay has brought you entire satisfaction. I will be delighted to share your kind comments with my entire team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back !

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux for two nights in October 2012 as part of the Tauck "The Art of Living" tour. The hotel is very centrally located and within easy walking distance to all the inportant attractions. We had a room decorated in red wallpaper, with fairly dim lighting, but it did come with a balcony which gave us splendid views of the city. The room did not seem to be large, but we were able to hold a wine and cheese party there for 8 people. It was certainly one of the more interesting hotel rooms we ever encountered.

Our group of eight had dinner at the Michelin 1-star hotel restaurant (Le Pressoir d'Argent) one night. The restaurant was noted for operating a lobster press (only one of the five in the world), and on of us did order a whole lobster. It was quite a show to see the lobster press in operation (to get the juices to make the sauce).The food was excellent and the service was the best we have seen in a long long time. Other than the lobster, the North Sea king crab was really good. There were also superb choices for wine, including some resonably priced 2009 Bordeaux red.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this beautiful comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us!

Your kind comments have been shared with our hotel staff. Your supportive interest is greatly appreciated and help us to keep improving our services.

I hope you will continue using our hotel and I look forward to welcoming you when traveling to "Bordeaux" next time.

Your sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A quick walk from the tram stop and at the intersection of the active shopping and dining streets, Le Grand was superbly located for us. It was a delight after checking in to be at the center and a 3 minute walk to the Tourism Bureau to arrange our excursions for the day. Afterwards, a quick pit stop back to our well-furnished room and we were ready to hit this gorgeous and bustling city. The hotel facade looks grand, and the outdoors cafe in front is perfect for chilling out.

Wifi is provided for free, helping us stay in touch. The staff were courteous, engaging and very helpful. They prepared espresso for our very early airport trip. In all, it made for a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable trip. We would come back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa! How wonderful to read that you were satisfied with the hotel and our services.

The entire team is, as well, looking forward to your next visit to Bordeaux!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.