We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few wrinkles in the grand dame!( Now part of the Regent group)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux to your Saves list
Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a few wrinkles in the grand dame!( Now part of the Regent group)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I booked one night here as part of a longer holiday- it was our "break" from the kids!

Location cannot be faulted, it is in the prettiest square with the best shopping routes leading from it,lots of cafes with people watching potential.
Be aware of the one way system that operates in the city if you drive in, it can be confusing-not to mention the traffic calming 'pop up' bollards to keep the pedestrian areas traffic light.

Anyway, location aside- public areas are very opulent, heavy on the velvet fabric, enormous pot plants, chandeliers and drapes which I think is the look they are going for throughout the hotel, its very "french aristocratic" ? even the wallpaper in the corridoors is fake red curtains draped down the walls- bit much for some!
I like a slightly sleeker look but it does kind of fit the old building and parisien feel of the area. The staff are all very helpful and speak excellent English.
Our room was overlooking the front of the hotel right onto the Opera House, what a fab view.Sound proofing is excellent, we couldn't hear any noise at all from the square below or any rooms next to us.
The room is again done up in the slightly OTT style, and we had to giggle when we moved a 'twirly -whirly' lamp that was placed directly in front of the big flat screen tv!

The shower is a tad awkward, it is over a deep bath ( some people could find it pretty hard to get in and out of that bath, its a pretty big step in and down) and is quite hard to get to stay on the wall hook and stand underneath it- the floor does seem to get flooded with every shower.
Not enough shelving for your toiletries-my toiletry bag had to be kept on the floor which isn't really ideal.

This August was one of the hottest on record, it was a heatwave when we were there- some days it was up to 44 celsius so of course the air con was essential. We felt it wasn't really working in our room so an engineer came and checked it out while we were having dinner and it was much cooler on our return- we were pleased with such efficient work.
We both felt that the public areas could have done with better air conditioning, the lobby area was very stuffy and hot (to be fair most places would struggle with 44 c) and I did feel sorry for the staff all in jacket and tie!
We slept very well in a very big comfortable double bed and enjoyed the air conditioning in our room very much!

We ate our evening meal in the brasserie(sat outside where it was cooler and good for watching the world go by) which is lovely, again, the staff are all very good and the service what you would expect from this catergory of hotel.

We had booked in with a "romance" package which included a bottle of champagne, roses and a tray of macaroons, late check out and use of the spa included. (You have to pay to use the spa unless you are booked into a suite or have a special deal which I think is a bit cheeky, all hotel guests in all rooms should be able to use a hotel spa)
This is were the wrinkles are: not all the staff know about all the specials or room deals- which is up to management to inform.
We had to twice prove that our package included the spa (the member of staff was perfectly pleasant but hadn't heard of this deal) and we never did see the bunch of roses!
My husband mentioned the late check out to the reception who was also not aware of this, on investigating it was fine, no problem- but these little inconsitencies drop it down a category for me.
The spa itself is very nice, it is on the rooftop so great views over the city- its a bit of a warren of corridoors-lovely pool, lovely terrace with a hot tub-slightly odd layout.

Breakfast was as you would expect-plenty of juices, coffee or tea, buffet style pastries, fruit, cereal, hot dishes etc, and you can also have omelettes cooked to order as well as waffles.

So-overall impression- very nice, but not the faultless smooth elegance one would expect for the price or reputation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    193
    77
    36
    21
See reviews for
75
407
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Good dinning. Standard service. Clean, small rooms (even though ours was an "upgrade").
Within walking distance to great shopping and dinning experiences. Tourism office, point of departure for most tours, in a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable.

We hope welcoming you again soon at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is certainly an establishment with some grandeur, and you will undoubtedly enjoy taking a stroll around the magnificent halls and lobbies of this charming building in the very heart of the city.

But don't bother to book a room, they are really not worth it.

Early august, we booked two rooms over the phone at the prepaid rate, one twin "classic" for our teenagers and one double "deluxe" for my wife and I.
Not only were the two rooms almost identical (despite a price difference of more than 30%), but we were very disappointed to see that the deluxe room had virtually no window, only a tiny louver leading to... the very close building across the street ! When we realized the second morning that there was hence virtually no daylight in the room, no matter how wide we tried to draw the curtains, I asked for another room.
We were moved to a somehow larger room, with real windows (though no view other than the inner courtyard), that was a little more in line with the idea you can have of a deluxe room.
Nevertheless, however classy the hotel may be, do not expect anything close to 5 star standards. The rooms are very small, the bathrooms even smaller. Don't expect to take your shower safely unless you are very agile and flexible : the step you need to take to climb the bathtub is both athletic and risky, especially when your feet are wet after the shower. It's hard to believe how such a weird design could be implemented in a recent refurbishment... Other surprising detail, there is not enough room in the bathroom to put your toiletries, not even a trash bin (which is therefore placed in the closet below the sink).
The rooms themselves are OK, but fairly small, opulently decorated but with a neo-classical style brought to its extreme and that may well not fit everybody's taste. Personally, I would have preferred a little more sobriety in the decorum... This is obviously a matter of taste, and maybe this Versailles-like profusion of fake draperies and colourful paintings is calibrated to please the visitors from far away who can find here a kind of a theme park-like reinvention of the "noblesse française" ?

All in all, this is a fairly disappointing experience, especially in terms of value for money : at prepaid non cancellable rates close to 200 (classic) or 300 (deluxe) euros per night, you'd expect a product that is definitely not delivered.

So enjoy Bordeaux, that is really an absolutely gorgeous city not to be missed, but don't hesitate to skip the Grand Hotel, you will have nothing to regret.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that have virtually no daylight (this is he case for many of them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sadded by your disappointment which is obviously not the image I wish that you retain of your recent experience at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

I would gladly welcome the opportunity to reverse this if you would allow me.

Hoping to hear from you, I remain at your entire disposal.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Bordeaux. As previously mentioned in the reviews the hotel has expanded a number fo times so it took time to get to the room and a little quirky in the room locations and design however we had no issues with delivery of anyting re room service and baggage. It wasn't ideal however it was still fine and you have to expect this in old cities. Rooms are beautifully decorated however a little heavy in the decor and the lighting wasn't enough considering the rooms were not very large. The bathroom was tight and it was difficult to get in and out of the shower/bathtub. We were happy that we had a window to open and let in fresh air. Wi-fi is excellent considering many other French hotels we had alot of trouble.
Concierge are extremely helpful and assisted with out booking of a private tour to the vineyards with an excellent driver Adam who took us for the day.
Restaurant and breakfast was excellent in the hotel, you must try the duck foige gras and liver.
There is valet parking available and the most beautiful indoor pool, spa and Hamam I have ever seen, like a traditional roman bath exceptionally decorated. We still had to pay to utilise the spa area even though we were hotel guests which I thought a little steep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your experience at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

We are really delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel and his ambiance. Moreover, your satisfaction regarding the staff service is most important for us, and we will be happy to share your comments to all the team.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back for your next trip to Bordeaux!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Positives: great location right in the center of town, beautiful buildung, friendly reception staff and concierge.

Negatives: tiny room (alhtough it was supposed to be a "superior" room), even tinier bathroom (getting in and out of the bathtub takes quite some exercise), snooty room service staff (I cite the following conversation: "Room service!" - "Thanks, I don't need anything." - "Well sir, it's not about what you need; we have to to our night service right now!" I did eventually convince the lady to come back later), usage of spa not included in the price of the room.

All in all, a B- performance at an A+ price tag.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

It was a pleasure to read that your enjoyed our location in the very heart of Bordeaux and the front office staff.

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed by the size of your room and the bathroom.

Your experience with our room service staff is more than surprising and we would like to assure you that your comments have been shared with our Room Service Manager in order to ensure that we always give the very best of ourselves for the comfort of our valuable guests.

Your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standards for which we strive every day and for which we have been recognized.

Our aim is to offer a consistent product and service to each and every one of our guests. We sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of making amends for this less than satisfactory first stay.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Bordeaux.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Everything about this hotel is complicated and inefficient - including even its name, as the management cannot decide whether it is the Grand Hotel or the Regent. Housed in a series of old, separate buildings knocked together behind an elegant facade, the rooms are generally small and oppressive. Even though we were promised a chambre superieure, the small garret room we were assigned had barely any internal light, a problem exacerbated by the heavy and busy internal decor which was completely inappropriate for a room of its size (smallness). At our insistence, we then moved to a chambre de luxe, which seemed to correspond to what a normal room would ressemble in any four-star, let alone five-star, hotel in France. This room was in a back section of the hotel - with dual sets of floor numbers which did not match up - a situation that was so complicated that even the porter could not find the room and we discovered a Japanese or Korean woman walking around aimlessly, unable to locate either her room or the hotel exit. Baggage service was sluggish, the delivery of daily newspapers (for which you pay) erratic, and the absence of waste bin in both bathrooms completely inexpplicable. There are some plus points to hotel - notably a good breakfast and a fast laundry service - but generally the level of pretension is simply not matched by delivery, and frankly this hotel does not deserve to claim to be one of the 'Best Hotels of the World'.

Room Tip: Expect a bad room and be prepared to argue with the front desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed by your stay in our hotel.
I just would like to bring you some details about your comments:
The rooms are all differents depending on their location in the hotel and their category. The room that you had is in an other part of the building and a lot of our guests like those rooms for the privacy and the quiet location.
In all our rooms we have waste bins under the basin in the bathroom and under the desk, you maybe did not see them.

Your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standards for which we strive every day and for which we have been recognized.

Our aim is to offer a consistent product and service to each and every one of our guests. We sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of making amends for this less than satisfactory first stay.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent location in heart of the old city. We were upgraded to a suite and also had a regular room for the kids. This hotel is exceptional. Location is great. The rooms , especially the suite were beautifully decorated in classic fashion. We overlooked the spectacular Opera house. Our 8 ' windows opened up onto the square. The breakfast buffet was wonderful overlooking the city and Opera house from the 2nd floor windows. We loved the Spa with its rooftop terrace and totally relaxing setting. Roman was a great help with advice for the Spa and fitness room. All the staff were incredible to talk with. Although Bordeaux is not as popular as other parts of France,
we will definitely go back for the hotel and its surrounding setting.

Room Tip: Request a suite with a view of the Opera house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review !

I was truly thrilled to read your impressions and how much you enjoyed your stay among us.

As we all are dedicated to create a unique experience and cater to the utmost wishes of our guests, it is for us the greatest reward we could have in return.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel de Bordeaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.