We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gambetta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gambetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gambetta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 rue de la porte Dijeaux, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 174 hotels in Bordeaux
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Great location for everything in Bordeaux. Room was clean and basic. Staff were helpful and accomodating. No a/c but you get what you pay for! Ask for a room at the back/top of the hotel - no view, but quiet as the hotel is on main pedestrian street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    56
    21
    18
    7
See reviews for
5
37
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

You walk out of the hotel and you are straight on to the pedestrianised streets of the city centre. the hotel is small and cramped but was clean. For us it was a good practical spot, without being overly expensive.
Bordeaux was great...two days was enough for us before moving on

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Had only a one-night stay here. We arrived after midnight. There was an express check-in (24-hour reception), but with barely a glance our way - not exactly the kind of welcome we want to remember.

Our double room (no. 48) on the fourth floor, to the back of the hotel, was an oasis of calm and the double bed was comfortable. However, this was the smallest double room I've ever been in. The ceiling was sloped, which had the effect of making it feel even smaller and more claustrophobic. The window was small too, so wouldn't let in much natural light. We had to negotiate a good number of stair-steps to reach the room and the multicoloured "dizzy" design carpet on the steps only hindered matters more. Lift was available from first floor to third floor. The shower had a couple of tiles which looked as if there was some rust-coloured stains on them -- not the most inviting!

Free internet was provided in the lounge on the first floor. We did not put it to the test. Neither did we try breakfast, preferring to eat locally. Our luggage was taken care of until 4pm, after we had checked out of Hotel Gambetta the following morning. Bear in mind though, that it was placed in the lounge area and was not locked away.

On the plus side, we loved the pedestrian location, right in the centre of everything, just a few steps away from Place Gambetta, where we alighted from Airport bus no. 1. Fare was just €1.40 and the driver was very helpful to each and every passenger on the coach.

Conclusion
We did not feel that €72 for our particular room represented great value for money and had we stayed for more that one night might have requested another room for a better experience. The modern apartments, which we had booked for the following 3 nights, proved overall, to be a much better choice. Bordeaux is well worh a visit, if only for the great architecture and wonderful wine!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

- Clean Room
- Very Quite
- No Elevator
- Free Internet
- Mosquitoes

Review: Stayed 3 Nights at this Hotel. We came to Bordeaux as many do to visit the Vineyards. The size of the room wasn't a problem, and it was clean and quite. There is no service elevator, must take the stairs. Surprising for September the room was incredibly HOT. The ceiling fan did nothing to stifle the Heat and was extremely loud when turned on. Very hard to sleep through the noise. The main problem we had was with Mosquitoes. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was good. I would NOT stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

This hotel was a perfect spot for the one night that we were in Bordeaux. It's centrally located in the old town and walking distance from the tourist office, good shopping, sites and restaurants. Being that it is a 2 star hotel, my expectations were low. I was pleasantly surprised with the location and more importantly the rooms. They were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had a room facing the pedestrian walkway and it was very quiet in the evening. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is a no frills hotel, but it's in a great location in the centre of town and is good value for money. The room was clean and modern, with a small bathroom, and no air conditioning. There was free WiFi in the room. Nothing fancy, but it was a good place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
not in europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

stayed for two nights, close enough to walk to the old town, and far enough to escape the noise. for what you pay, you cant expect much more than what is offered. thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gambetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gambetta

Address: 66 rue de la porte Dijeaux, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 174 hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gambetta 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Gambetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gambetta Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gambetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.