We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau to your Saves list
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, cours Georges Clemenceau, 33000 Bordeaux, France (Formerly Hotel Clemenceau)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We checked in fine, the receptionist was really nice (and all the others we met on our 3 night stay). You need to ask for the "welcome drinks" but I was too shy so didn't, but the other times I asked about the packed lunch. The packed lunch was a very very basic ham sandwich, a little madeleine cake and a bottle of warm water.
The breakfast was pretty awful too. The room where the guests go to is in the attic, it's quite cosy and was spacious enough during our April stay. But the quality was very substandard. The croissants and pain au choclat's weren't very fresh tasting (very much like they'd been bought from Carrefour). There were also a few different cereals, also bread rolls, spreadable cheese, ham, pots of yoghurt. You had a choice of teas, hot choc sachets or instant coffee and fruit juice. But if you're expecting anything hot like sausages and bacon, then you're out of luck.

The room: I was expecting the room to be fairly basic (had done some research beforehand) and small (it is in the City after all). The only thing going for this room was the bed was comfortable, even though the top cover on the bed was slightly torn!
You got tea, coffee and biscuits (biscuits were really nice!)
No English speaking channels on TV, even BBC World.
The carpet was extremely stained, but hoovered. The bathroom was clean, but no toilet roll holder! Had hand soap dispenser by the basin, but no where to put your toiletries (I think there was a shelf once as the plugs were still in the wall!) and you had a shower gel dispenser in the shower. The towels were paper thin, but clean.
Now... the windows... like a lot of people have said, the windows are wafer thin! They have tried to improve the giant French doors by adding another layer of perspex, but it makes no difference to the volume that comes through them from the street below.
We were staying around the side from the main street in room 101 and had a cafe directly below us. They packed away their metallic tables and chairs at 1am for an hour and then brought them back out at 6am!!! Every night we had to tolerate this noise. :(
I did feel sorry for people staying the other side of the hotel though as they had a bus stop directly below.

I certainly wouldn't recommend a stay at this hotel and would suggest you spend a little more.
Only pro's I have for this hotel is that the reception staff is nice and the beds feel like they've been recently updated.

Room Tip: I don't recommend 101 as it is directly above a cafe with metallic tables and chairs. Also avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeurcityClemenceau, Gérant at Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for giving us your review and we are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations.
Indeed, you have booked an economy room, which was differentiated from the other rooms because our economy room has no double glazing because it is the only stage where we do not have to have permission. Know that all of our "Comfort" rooms have double glazing. Work was done on this week and our hotel no longer has rooms with carpets.
Regarding breakfast know a baker gives us every morning and our breads and pastries are always updated. Breakfast is offered and actually we do not offer hot products.
The welcome and service availability is our priority Thank you compliments on my team made​​.
Best Regards,
C.Faure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    100
    96
    49
    20
See reviews for
27
132
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very friendly chap on reception.
Great location
Clean, but felt more like a 2 star place. The French always seem to give themselves an extra star, so I wasn't suprised
Room a bit small
Would I stay there again...yes, as it was good value for the money.
I rate this as average/good. The rating offered doesn't give this option

Room Tip: Get to breakfast earlier; the breakfast room is small and there was quite a queue for a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeurcityClemenceau, Gérant at Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review, we would be delighted to welcome you next time if the opportunity presented to you to return to Bordeaux. Do not hesitate to contact us directly by telephone.
Best regards,
C.faure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is located across from the Gambetta Square, right in the heart of the very posh, upmarket shopping area, surrounded by the buzz of excellent restaurants, bars and pavement cafes. It is two minutes from the bus stop from the airport (and twenty seconds from the stop to the airport). All the windows have lovely views onto the shopping streets or square. The rooms, although small, are clean, nicely decorated and have TV, tea and coffee facilities. The breakfast room was slightly claustrophobic, situated in the attic with velux windows, but the food and coffee were good. For the price you can't do better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeurcityClemenceau, Gérant at Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for your opinion, actually our breakfast room has sloping ceilings but full of charm.
We would be delighted to welcome you next time if the opportunity presented to you to return to Bordeaux.
Best regards,
Tatiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great place to stay with good transport links from the airport. Room was a good size & spotlessly clean - not sure whay people complained about the size after all you're just there realy to sleep.
One gripe was the shower, Being a slightly larger lady there was not much room to move, knocked the water off a couple of times whilst showering .
Other than the shower, great place with good breakfast. Friendly staff who were only to happy to assist with any queries & suggested good restaurants to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeurcityClemenceau, Gérant at Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your review.
For a future stay, know that we have rooms with bath which may be more comfortable for you.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly by phone.
Best regards.
C.faure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Clemenceau is located in the heart of Bordeaux with tram and bus stops right in front of it. Everything is within walking distance. The rooms are small and clean. They are equipped with a television a nice bathroom. They are well insulated from the outside noise. Wi Fi is offered as well as in room coffee. The breakfast is included in the price. Nothing fancy but the croissants, pan au raisin, etc. were good!. We paid 85 € for the room and will be back. However, there are a few things you must watch for.. #1 make sure that the heat is turned on in your room. #2 If you need an extra blanket you will get by asking for it. Also, make sure that the bill corresponds with your room. We were going to get billed for 6 € for water that we never had. The lady at the desk caught that and had it taken off of the bill. I would basically check out the room upon arrival just to make sure that all is working right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeurcityClemenceau, Gérant at Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your opinion.
As you pointed out, there is always someone on a reception desk, to answer all your requests.
We apologize for the misunderstanding at the start by providing your invoice, which was rectified immediately after your checking.
Best regards.
C.faure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courrensan, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You couldn't ask for a more central hotel and a brilliant pub/restuarant across the road too, ( The Central). People moaning about the size of the room, really do need to travel more! In the middle of a city for bed, breakfast, free soft drinks at reception and a fair pack lunch for £60 a night is a bargain! We caught a bus from the airport (No 1) and it was only 1.50 euro each. My only moan was we had one sheet and one blanket per bed and for January this was a bit chilly. But as soon as I mentioned this to reception another 2 blankets appeared. Oh yeah, I would take a hairdryer with you as the one provided had a very short flex so you could really use it unless you stood in the toilet! I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a twin room that was a good size. Third floor, 306.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeurcityClemenceau, Gérant at Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello,
My team and I thank you for this comment and we'd love to welcome you again in our hotel and our city.
Best regards,
C.Faure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in the hotel at the end of September - beginning of October for 8 nights. The only good thing is location of the hotel. The other things were non-acceptable at all.

The rooms: the smallest room I have ever seen. I was staying in the room with my Mom and it was a whole issue to cross the room for us simultaneously. The carpet was dirty with the black traces of something on it. There is no wardrobe, just a corner somehow adjusted for clothes. There were no place for 2 piece of luggage.

The bathroom was also very small with the poor quality plastic everywhere and with linoleum on the floor. The shower was so small that I had to step out the shower tray to wash my hair. No bathroom glasses for the toothbrush and the tooth paste.

The lift was SO small that it was impossible to get into for three persons with their luggage. One person - one piece of luggage and no spare space in the lift left.

Noisy. Our rooms were located on the second floor with the windows looking on the street. In the mornings we had feelings that the passing busses was stopping in our rooms. In addition, the construction works opposite the street started at 6-7 o'clock in the mornings and it was impossible to continue sleeping.

Breakfast. No choice at all, even coffee was unsavoury.

Unfortunately we had no chance to cancel the booking for the reason that it was nonrefundable.

Conclusion - no 3 stars at all. Please avoid booking this hotel if possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeurcityClemenceau, Gérant at Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Madam,



Your comments have caught my attention and I thank you. Moreover, I regret that your stay was not up to your expectations.

I am sincerely sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay in October.

You've probably noticed in response to comments above but for 2 months, good thing have changed in our institution.

First we had the permission of "Batiments de France" and we have put the double glazing on two floors, which ATTENU completely outside noise.
From here the coming months we are going to change the carpet on the floor all alone concerned.
Regarding breakfast, we decided some changes and it will be filled in January!

I would be happy to welcome you again to show you the quality of my property, I will make sure to reserve a special welcome in our renovated rooms.

In the hope of having met your expectations, please accept, Madam, the assurances of my devoted sentiments.

Mrs. C. FAURE
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau

Address: 4, cours Georges Clemenceau, 33000 Bordeaux, France (Formerly Hotel Clemenceau)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coeur de City Bordeaux Clémenceau is ideally situated in the historic centre of Bordeaux, precisely in the "Golden Triangle".The rooms of the hotel are modern and nicely furnished. You will have a choice between a single, double, twin, triple or quadruple rooms.To guarantee your comfort, Coeur de city Hotel Bordeaux Clémenceau includes in the price of your room a complimentary welcome drink, breakfast, lunch box and the Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clémenceau Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.