We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notre-Dame

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Notre-Dame to your Saves list
Hotel Notre-Dame
36 rue Notre-Dame, Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel really took us by surprise. Some of the photos showed the rooms to be quite old and dated, but our room was very modern, with everything we needed. We would definitely stay again. Although the hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk away from the centre of Bordeaux, we found this to be a bonus. It was very quiet, the street is so pretty and there is a beautiful cathedral at the end of the street. There is also a tram stop nearby which we found so easy to use. I would recommend this to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
13
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed many times in this modest hotel, one block back from the Gironde, and a short walk from the city centre.
It is in the St. Louis district,with a real Bohemian feel, and a wide choice of good bars and restaurants within a stones throw.
Rooms are small but well equipped- television, hair dryers etc. , and the continental breakfast is more than adequate.Service is friendly, and the rates are very cheap for the area- Not much more than £50 per night. All rooms are en-suite, mainly with a shower, but for a reasonable extra rate you can have a bath-tub. It is also spotlessly clean.
I think it has about 20 rooms, with the main clientele being business users.
with a

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friend and I shared a twin room for the night while staying in Bordeaux. The hotel is conveniently located just a block or so from two different tram stations. The room was small, but average for a mid-size hotel of the price. We were very comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Make a note of this room number and make sure you avoid it unless you are a) colourblind, b)no more than four feet high c)you don't mind a view of a grotty service gully out of a high window and d) not claustrophobic, for the decor is pink, mustard, orange and maroon, if there are two people in the room, one has to sit on the bed to make space, the bathroom is minute and poorly planned - there is no soap dish and if you drop the soap you have to get out of the shower to pick it up! The staff are unsmiling and unforthcoming, but this pretty hotel is in a pleasant street and very convenient location with easy access to the efficient trams. We know the hotel does have better rooms and we regret not upgrading for the five nights we stayed there. The only meal served is breakfast, which at 7 Euro is expensive and ordinary - better to go down the street - a far more convivial atmosphere. Bordeaux is a fabulous city and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montefiascone, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We found this hotel through Lonely Planet - and it was definitely a find. We had a room which was small, but with a big bathroom - our room was located on a side street - thus, very quiet. Kinda tough hauling the luggage upstairs - but otherwise, good price and a nice location. Only watch out for the public parking - try to find something on the street or at least check the prices beforehand. We paid Euro 19 for less than a day stay......Bordeaux is gorgeous

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Good value, pleasant, small hotel. Situated in quiet area but near to a variety of restaurants and bars. However, no lift and stairs are steep, so may not be suitable for less mobile.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

having stayed there on two more occasions this year after having written my first review I feel I need to add a few things;
1) If you are arriving after 6pm you need to call in advance to get the door code to get in as there is no receptionist after 6pm on weekdays. Not sure if you will have an English-speaker on the phone.
2) Bring your own soaps and shampoos. they only offer the very low very end-old fashioned low-lather tiny soaps in wrappers and shampoos / shower gels in sachets. Bring your own toilet rolls too if you dont like the idea of tugging at a container that reveals tiny strips of kleenex.
3) dont expect warm food (other than croissant) or a smile at breakfast in the morning. The woman serving has only ever given me a glimpse of a smile when i paid and checked out. I think she is the owner or his wife. she is very efficient but hardly what one can call warm. best to eat at a nearby cafe where kindness comes with the meal and you can get a real coffee (expresso).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Notre-Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notre-Dame

Address: 36 rue Notre-Dame, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Notre-Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notre-Dame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.