We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 rue Georges Bonnac, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farmington, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very much enjoyed our 3 night stay at hotel Burdigala. The property and rooms are beautiful and the included breakfasts are impressive and delicious. The location is ideal...being just a few minutes walk away from the center of town, but with enough separation from the shopping, cafes and bars to maintain a quiet atmosphere. We found the staff to be very helpful and warm and would happily look forward to another stay at the hotel should we visit Bordeaux again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFournet, Responsable commercial at Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us such a positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you liked our bedrooms, our breakfast buffet and of course our service.
Your enthusiasm for our staff is a wonderful source of motivation for the entire team. They all will be happy to hear that they have succeeded by making your stay comfortable as they always try to make each guest experience special.
It is right that the hotel has a very convenient location in the centre of Bordeaux: 5 minutes walk from Place Gambetta and 10 minutes from the Grand Theatre or the Place de la Bourse and the wonderful banks of the Garonne River.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for recommending the hotel, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Burdigala.
Best regards,
Christine FOURNET, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    97
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
38
183
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rancho palos verdes, ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel primarily because it was where we could join up with a tour of the Dordogne area we were taking. This hotel is quite modern but the room we had seemed "cold" (decor, not thermal). I like a picture or two on the walls and a warmer environment. We received an "upgrade" which was a two level room. The bottom level had the full bath, sitting area, closet, a large TV and had adequate space. The upstairs "loft" had a half bath which was nice but it could have done with a towel rack. The decor was muted tones but little decoration. The bed was comfortable but having to go up and down the stairs multiple times was hard on this old travelwolf. It's location was nice, just outside the old town which was an easy walk. In 5 hours we walked around the major sights and down to the river. A hotel in the old town itself would have been a better location possibly. It has no swimming pool or fitness equipment which would have been nice. It had the feel of a business person's hotel.

We thought the breakfast buffet at 24 Euros was a bit pricey and more than we wanted as we dealt with a 9 hour jet lag. We spoke to people who did eat there who were quite pleased with it though.

The desk staff gave us a nice walking map and recommended some upper scale restaurants. Unfortunately they were only open for lunch and then dinner at 7pm. Too late for our tastes. There was nearby mall with a number of all day food choices so we mostly ate there.

I'd be happy to stay there again though if there was a reason to do so.

Room Tip: If stairs are a bother, be sure and tell them you want a one level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFournet, Responsable commercial at Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us such a positive feedback.
Our team will be happy to hear that they have succeeded by making your stay comfortable as they always try to make each guest experience special, and your enthusiasm is a wonderful source of motivation to always try to better serve our clients.
We also would like to thank you for your nice comment on our bar, our services and the location of our property ; It is right that we are located 5 minutes walk from Place Gambetta and 10 minutes walk from Grand Theatre, which is very convenient.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for recommending the hotel, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel Burdigala and that your next visit in Bordeaux will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Christine FOURNET, Sales Manager, Hôtel BURDIGALA 5* BORDEAUX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
693 reviews 693 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is about a 20 minute cab ride from the train station and is not located near the pedestrian walk, the train station or most of the sights of the city; however, it is not a bad walk to either. I would choose to stay here again because of the quality of the room, the courtesy of the staff, the coffee in the room, the free wi-fi and the food in the bar. We were getting tired of typical French food such as smoked salmon, fish with sauce, duck, etc. the hotel has a nice restaurant, but these are the foods offered. The bar was a nice change with a Thai dish with chicken and shrimp and chicken ravioli that were more like pot stickers. The gentleman working in the bar was the only person we saw working in there. He was greeter, order taker, server and check presenter. Great guy as was the entire staff at the hotel. We got two great recommendations from them for dinner options, and their English was very good for the most part. We loved having a coffee pot in the room, and when ours wasn't working properly, it was replaced promptly by one of the charming housekeepers. Great shower with lots of hot water with a good flow and a very nice vanity area for the woman with a seat and a magnifying mirror. My only complaint was that the hair dryer was very heavy, and it had one of those buttons you have to hold down to keep it on. My arm and fingers got very tired from holding both. Overall we loved this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFournet, Responsable commercial at Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us such a positive feedback.
Our team will be happy to hear that they have succeeded by making your stay comfortable as they always try to make each guest experience special. We also would like to thank you for your nice comments about our property, our bedrooms and the service we offer to our guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for recommending the hotel, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the Burdigala.
Best regards,
Christine FOURNET, Sales Manager, Hôtel BURDIGALA 5* BORDEAUX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very comfortable, quiet, with attentive service. Lovely large walk in shower which was a first for us in Europe. Very good restaurant with knowledgable bar staff for selecting wines. Easy walking to museums etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFournet, Responsable commercial at Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Burdigala for your recent visit in Bordeaux and for taking the time to write such a nice comment about our property on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us at the Hotel Burdigala. Your enthusiasm for our staff is a wonderful source of motivation to always try to better serve our client.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Christine FOURNET, Sales Manager, Hôtel BURDIGALA 5* BORDEAUX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just left Bordeaux after 5 days at Burdigala Hotel. After seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor we said we'd try it and booked through Booking.com. In advance of our arrival I sent a few emails requesting a recommendation and booking or two, they were so helpful and quick to respond regardless of time day or night, that left a good first impression with me. On arrival the impression escalated daily.
Check-in was super quick. We stayed in a duplex room which was spacious, bedroom and toilet upstairs - sitting room, bathroom and separate toilet downstairs. The black-out curtains were superb and we had the best nights sleeps at this hotel! I have to say, the Nespresso machine in each room is a touch of hotel hospitality genius and sets it apart from the rest. Even my partner who is more of a tea man usually jumped out of bed each morning after a great sleep to make little cups of this delicious brew. We were not left wanting for anything at this hotel except a few more nights maybe!!!!
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the centre of town. Taxis are expensive and difficult to get we found out quickly so I recommend you walk - it is a very enjoyable and safe city to walk around - on arrival ask the helpful concierge for a map and the easy to follow route into town and from then on you'll be in with the swing of things. We did a wine tour to Saint Emilion which I highly recommend. Unfortunately the weather was bad during our stay so we did not travel to the beaches but seemingly La Dune du Pillar is well worth visiting on the coast.
Finally, the staff at the hotel.... We did not dine at the restaurant but we did have some drinks at the bar. The bar was very quiet while we were there even though the hotel was busy but the service and friendliness from the bar man who served us was lovely - he even produced des caneles (delicious local confectionery) presented with a lit candle for my partners birthday ... a small thing but this kind of attentiveness and effort is rare these days. The staff must be trained so well from the most polite room cleaners to the most helpful concierges all the staff we encountered were excellent but there was one young man (unfortunately we did not have the presence of mind to take a note of his name) who worked at reception that was exceptional. Seemingly he has only been working at the hotel for one week but this young man will go far in hotel management and anything he does. Between making recommendations, bookings and even personally showing us to our room on our first day, he always remembered us and had a polite word or acknowledgement for us no matter how busy reception was at the time. Merci Monsieur!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFournet, Responsable commercial at Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us such a positive feedback.
Our team will be happy to hear that they have succeeded by making your stay comfortable as they always try to make each guest experience special, and your enthusiasm is a wonderful source of motivation to always try to better serve our clients.
We also would like to thank you for your nice comment on our bar, our services and the location of our property ; It is right that we are located 5 minutes walk from Place Gambetta and 10 minutes walk from Grand Theatre, which is very convenient.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for recommending the hotel, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel Burdigala and that your next visit in Bordeaux will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Christine FOURNET, Sales Manager
Hôtel BURDIGALA 5* BORDEAUX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in Burdigala hotel in Bordeaux.
Everything was Ok. The bathroom, the room, the service, the restaurant, the breakfast, etc. etc.
I can say that it was a good experience. I would recommend this hotel.




  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFournet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your nice comment about your stay that you enjoyed very much. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,


Isabelle Dujarrier
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had three nights at the Hotel Burdigala in early May. It is a very pleasant hotel. The dining room (only used for breakfast) and the bar lack atmosphere but serve their purpose. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. The underground parking is very useful. The hotel is not as central as others so it is about a good 10 minute walk to the town centre and the main area for restaurants and cafes. However, that has its advantages as the streets around the hotel are not noisy at night. The staff are very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFournet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review posted after your recent stay in our hotel.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your friends and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in our hotel, as well as the services we do offer to our guests.

As we strive to provide a superior service for every customer, we will inform our staff that you enjoyed the quality of their service while you stayed with us, as it is a wonderful source of motivation for the entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again at the Hotel Burdigala

Isabelle DUJARRIER
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection

Address: 115 rue Georges Bonnac, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Burdigala! Entirely renovated during the summer of 2011, the Hotel Burdigala 5* offers a sober and refined decor in an "urban chic" style, resolutely contemporary while remaining faithful to the tradition of a warm atmosphere... In our 56 Classic rooms and 12 Superior rooms, noble materials and subtly-shaded colours create and inspire calm and peacefulness. For a family holiday, take the height in one of the 7 duplex rooms. Streamlined design and invigorating colors make this space especially comfortable and enjoyable. A double or twin loft bed and a sofa bed in the living room on the ground floor are available. The 8 junior suites and suites exude discreet luxury: styles and materials blend harmoniously, and there is plenty of room, including in the well laid-out wardrobes and luminous bathrooms. If you are a fond of gastronomic food, the restaurant, La Table de Burdigala, will seduce you by a gourmet menu of fresh selected products (open all year, 7 days a week) In the cozy and contemporary spirit of the Bacchus bar, you have the choice between a selection of grand cru wines served by the glass, whiskeys, Armagnac's or cocktails made by our Chef Barman; you can also enjoy delicious seasonal dishes on the go in its modern atmosphere or on the outdoor terrace. One lecture room and five other modular meeting rooms feature 496 m² of facilities to organize seminars, cocktails or meetings for up to 120 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burdigala Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.