We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in recently renovated hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Presse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Presse to your Saves list
Hotel de la Presse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 & 8 rue Porte Dijeaux, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location in recently renovated hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

Really big rooms which have recently been modernised! Great location, so central! Very helpful staff on reception that understood our poor french attempts! Only thing lacking is a kettle in the room. Didnt sample the breakfast as think it is a bit too pricy at €12.50 pp! Will def be back when we are next i this beautiful city!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
6
57
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Although there is some undergoing work in the first floor, the upper floors were are fully renovated. The room we got was as shown in the Hotel webpage, and it was clean and nice, with a flat screen TV and a new bathroom. However, it was small, and if you want to be in your room (not our case) it might be uncomfortable.

The staff was very helpful during our stay.

The hotel is located in one of the main streets of Bordeaux, in front of the "Galeries Lafayette", but there were no noises during the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel looks nothing like the photos, there is only a doorway & a complete construction site. Not even enough room to bring you bags through.
Booke & pre-paid via a travel agent, arrived at 10:pm at night only to be told they would not honour the booking unless I paid for it again. Staff, if you could call the receptionist that, was rude & would not even offer us accommodation for the night.
Slept on Bordeaux railway station until a train arrived.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinard, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

yep tthats right a bloody mess. builders living on site, materials everywhere, a/c leaked, no towel or toilet roll holders, dust and stuff everywhere....... awesome locatin though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The hotel is in a wonderful location in the old town center - we walked everywhere easily. Our biggest problem is the hotel is the thick of renovation. We arrived and were informed on the spot that the hotel is not finished. We were offered either the choice of a twin room with no table or a double room with no TV nor table. The hallway and stairways are far from being done - no carpet with tons of tools and construction materials lying around (there is a working elevator). We looked at both options and one of the rooms had very strong new paint smell - impossible to stay there.We were give a 8 Euro discount a night for the situation.
My first reaction is cancel the reservation and go somewhere else - how can they not tell us ahead of the time that the hotel and our rooms are not finished?! But we were tired and it was late so we took the room with less smell.
The rest of the stay was uneventful - it was very quite so we slept well. Staff was pretty friendly.
I will stay at this hotel if it's all finished, as the location and price were good. As it is now, I don't think I will recommend it to our friends - you might end up getting a room with no desk and empty lamp shades with no light bulbs.
Make sure you check with the hotel about the details of your room if you are booking the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Currently being renovated until september 2011. Renovations are to poor quality finish. Fixtures cheap and badly thought through. The owner here has no respect for his guests we were given a room incomplete, additons included bare live electrical wires and being awoken at 8am by an angle grinder in the room below. Breakfast is poor. And I can not see how the cheap renovations will even warrent over £100per night when finished. Rip off hotel. Was meant to be a end of holiday treat in an nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed the night at this hotel as part of a wine tasting experience. The rooms were fine but what made the place was the lovely lady on the reception desk who was so knowledgeable. Wea sked to book a table at a restaurant which we had researched - but it was full but she actually found us a much better one which was frequented by the locals rather than tourists - so we were delighted. When we came back we were greeted by another gentleman who was so polite. Breakfast was very nice too - so we we all really enjoyed our experience of Hotel de la Presse and we will return again soon...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Presse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Presse

Address: 6 & 8 rue Porte Dijeaux, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Presse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Presse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Presse Bordeaux
De La Presse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Presse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.