We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cite Mondiale and what to look for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville to your Saves list
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Parvis des Chartrons, 33080 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Hull, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Cite Mondiale and what to look for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Don't let the name fool you the hotel is not in the city, in fact it is 10 minutes walk away (not far) and is in a very good place for access to the river front. It is a little difficult to find at first as it is behind the houses however if you turn in as if to enter the parking Cite Mondiale and turn right as you cross the tram lines the entrance is immediately next to the parking which is in fact under the site. The hotel entry is plain and does not look quite the same as the brochure pictures which show the offices in the centre however the hotel itself is clean and comfortable with decent sized rooms all the necessary facilities and very friendly and helpful staff, the full price is a touch too much but if you can get a price deal it is excellent, parking is best arranged in the hotel so do not enter the parking until you have booked in and got a ticket. Have breakfast at the hotel (book on-line in advance to save a little money) it is worth it and with superb views over the river from the balcony restaurant, sitting in the sun on the terrace, it is a great way to start the day. If you do not want to walk into the city centre get the tram for 1.4 euro and certainly book some tours at the tourist office in the square. For evening meals the hotel restaurant is expensive and only stays open till 10pm so we avoided it however a short walk either way on the front provides plenty of choice, turning left out of the hotel is best and there is a range from 5 to 25 euros as you walk along. If on a budget go to Molly Malone's Irish bar for good food, drinks and a good evening or further along the road, same in the city at the far end of the main shopping streets. Almost opposite are swings etc for small children and a skate park. Overall the hotel is a good place to use as a base and we would certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    185
    87
    32
    9
See reviews for
35
183
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nothing fancy but perfectly fine for a short stay. 10 minute walk from city centre , nicely placed for the chartrons district. Rooms serviced daily. Friendly staff.1min from the riverfront. Area perfectly safe at night.recommend the square at chartrons for nice restaraunts and more traditional bars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I took advantage of a Summer 40% Price Reduction. The room was comfortable and especially bed, pillows and bedding. The room was a reasonable size. I didn't take the hotel breakfast, but plenty of places nearby to start the day! Reception Staff seemed helpful. Whilst primarily a business hotel, it is a very comfortable tourist base, with an easy walk to the tourist centre, or just a minute away from CAPC tram station! For a seven day season ticket costing about 11 euros, the trams are a must to explore the whole city and reach the train station / airport.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pardoux la Riviere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good points: size rooms, clean, comfortable beds, llocation excellent. Reception staff both friendly & efficient and a real bonus.

Bad points: Visited the restaurant on the evening of 22 August ordered an aperitif and thought possibly a meal, we gave up as the one and only member of staff wasn't really interested in serving us and was actually unfriendly. We went on to enjoy an apertif and meal at a local Italian restaurant. I must admit there is a lovely view from Restaurant, a pity they don't do more more with it. Wi-fi in our room 401 v poor, I gave up trying......

All in all it's what you expect from a chain hotel, not sure I'd give it 4 Stars!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS O, Directeur général at Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the comments about your stay in our hotel
We are sorry that our catering services have disappointed you but I believe this is a misunderstanding of the language.
Indeed, you have arrived at 19h and our restaurant starts serving at 19:30, we have proposed an aperitif while our staff was finishing dinner
It may be too long for you, we apologize
Best regards

Olivier THOMAS
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The room was nice and clean.
Bathroom big and clean.
Reception friendly and helpful.
Nice breakfast.
The view from the breakfast terrace is amazing! Do not miss it!
Very well located!
Nearby parking a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We received great help from reception staff during our stay in Bordeaux. Cost of parking & breakfast add ons did reduce the value. But the usual Mercure standard of quality was evident ; it is a business hotel really. Location is excellent, actually is walking distance to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville

Address: 18 Parvis des Chartrons, 33080 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, on the banks of the Garonne river, right in the heart of a historic district of Bordeaux. Restaurant, terrace, room service, function room, 5 meeting rooms and a park. The hotel has a maritime themed decor. Annual closure from midday on 23 December 2006 until the morning of 2 January 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.