We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Chantry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Chantry to your Saves list
Hotel Le Chantry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 rue Georges Bonnac, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good location, walking distance to city center and beautiful Bordeaux waterfront. Free parking, free Wi-Fi with decent speed. The beds are comfortable and the room is clean.
The shower is very small and there is no air conditioning. Overall, good no frills place in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    152
    35
    9
    2
See reviews for
33
107
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I'd give this place a `good.' Better than `average' but not `very good.' It's a modern building, has no charm, and is right across from a real hideous 1980's shopping center that the French specialize in making as unattractive as possible. That said, my room was functional and comfortable (could have had more light). The bathroom worked fine. Everything was spotless clean. The front desk people were friendly, The buffet breakfast was a good deal at only 10 euros. You can park your car for free. About 10 minutes walking brings you to the lovely old town of Bordeaux, which is full of great places to eat and much more charming hotels, but if you have a car you'll have trouble getting access and parking. I'd say it's a place for a quick stay, nothing more. There's a nice looking Mercure around the corner, but was considerably more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Would have given this a 3.5 if that option was available. This hotel is situated away from the bustle of the city centre, yet is a comfortable walking distance to most of the main attractions. People at reception are pleasant enough. Rooms are of a decent size; the bathroom is well-equipped. Did not go for the breakfast and so cannot comment on its quality. The place is fine for a short stay if a budget option is being sought.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After reviewing hotels and finding this one quite cheap, I was a little apprehensive, however the hotel rooms are spacious very clean and modern, there is free parking - which is a great bonus and its fairly centally located. There was no noise either - rooms seemed well soundproofed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is just a short walk to all the bars and restaurants you could wish for and having a free car park made this a bargain one night stay. Spacious and clean triple room. On the downside., there was some noise from what I think came from one of the apartments behind the hotel and the communal areas and corridors are a little dark and dingy. Staff were pleasant enough and we really liked Bordeaux. Planning to come back again and would use the same hotel but may look for something better if not driving.
A well deserved 4 out of 5 when you take into account this was cheaper than many budget hotels.
,

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms overlooking the car park at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Bland and corporate but well priced and clean and tidy. Short walk to the town centre. Had breakfast cheaper in town first morning but on second found it easier to take in the hotel and leave directly afterwards. Great to have a car park on site. Didn't see much of the staff but the receptionist was smiley and polite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

If I traveled to Bordeaux again I would choose a different hotel to stay in. For the few days we were there, it was fine. But the staff was consistently unfriendly, the room was dark, and I found it to be a bit far from everything. I am always a fan of staying a bit outside the center of everything - I think it's nice to be a little outside the hustle bustle. However, this was just a bit too far for me.

Honestly, I think if we walked into the hotel and the staff greeted us warmly and gave us recommendations I would have had a different outlook on the hotel as a whole. But they were cold and seemed to just really not care. They were also pretty unhelpful when it came to asking for help making reservations or providing recommendations - they were almost annoyed by it. It was strange.

The city of Bordeaux is incredible, but I did not think this hotel lived up to the charm and beauty of the city it was in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Chantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chantry

Address: 155 rue Georges Bonnac, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Chantry 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Chantry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chantry Hotel
Le Chantry Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Chantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.