We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maintaining standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Bordeaux Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Bordeaux Lac to your Saves list
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Jean-Gabriel Domergue, 33300 Bordeaux, France (Formerly Sofitel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“maintaining standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

A quiet time of year including a Sunday night meant that the hotel was nearly empty but still up to previous standards: the service was unobtrusive and efficient, with staff arriving to serve you even if the bar was empty. The buffet breakfast was excellent and comprehensive, with wide choices. Dinner was equally of a high standard - a menu of French dishes rather than vague international cuisine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpapoz, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Deat Quodnumquamscis,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Pullman Bordeaux

It is indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us even if the activity was very low.

The restaurant and bar team absolutly appreciates your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you in a near future and wish you and your family to spend another good time in our region.

Yours sincerely

Rémy PAPOZ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    225
    57
    22
    8
See reviews for
90
211
29
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December 2013. The hotel staff were extremely helpful when we asked for directions into town and recommendations for wine shops and things to do. The hotel is not centrally located but there are several restaurants within walking distance and a casino around the corner, which also had a good restaurant. It is easy enough to get into town via bus and tram. The rooms were large and pretty clean, I'm super picky. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great, with good hot options such as eggs and bacon and yogurt, bread, fruit, cheese, etc. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpapoz, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Magan4902,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Pullman Bordeaux

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.

We are looking forward to welcome you in a near future and wish you and your family a very Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely

Rémy PAPOZ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had read a number of reviews about this hotel and were more than a little concerned about the distance out of the main part of town and all the hoo ha about the tram line not getting you all the way to the actual hotel. To our relief, it was all a little over-exaggerated. True, the tram doesn't go all the way but that was no hinderence. We arrived by train from Paris and simply bought a tram ticket from the station at Bordeaux (10 in fact, as we were staying 3 days), boarded the tram and got off at the end of the line. We then just caught the bus, which was usually there to meet the tram and if not, was only minutes away. The bus stop was at the front of the Pullman and only took 5-10 mins.
Two nights we got back to the hotel quite late and we didn't have any worries and felt quite safe at all times.
The Pullman was a lovely hotel. Staff were brilliant; no request too difficult. Breakfast was excellent. We spent 5 weeks in Europe and being Aussies, we are spoilt for choice at home with our breafasts, and this was by far, the best brekkie in the 4 countries we visited.
Our room was large, the shower fantastic and the free wi-fi, a bonus. Our only downer was the on-site restaurant where we ate one night....glaring bright lights and absolutely no atmosphere. Just eat in town. Plenty of choice.
I wouldn't bother with the casino at the back either, unless you're a real gambler. You need your passport and it too, lacked a great deal of atmosphere.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay at The Pullman again and when the tram line is complete, it will be even more appealing. Hopefully the hotel will stay as enjoyable as it was for our visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpapoz, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Tania H,

Thank you for your very nice review. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy our hotel and services .

The Pullman Bordeaux strives to provide excellent service and quality at great value, and I am please to hear we were able to exceed your expectations .

I noticed we had to work on ambiance at restaurant and lobby. I hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the near future

Best Regards and I wish you an happy new year .

Rémy PAPOZ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staff are very helpful, rooms are well-equipped, restaurants are good, bar service is prompt and effective, rooms for meetings are comfortable and the hotel is well-located on the lake and right next to the conference centre. Wifi works well and is free.The only problem I had was that the duvets were too hot and no alternatives were provided so I did not sleep very well - a colleague made the same comment. Room temperature controls seemed to make little difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed here many times going back to the days when it was a Sofitel.
Having a place in the Charente visits to Bordeaux always include a trip to IKEA and the large Auchan shopping centre it is convenient for us, also convenient for the Casino if you are that way inclined.
Its main downs side -distance from town centre- will be removed next year when the extension to the fantastic Bordeaux tram system is complete with a stop literally next to the hotel entrance.
.Other gripes are the usual chain hotel rip offs -Minibar prices and breakfast costs. Time Accor showed a bit of leadership here as the PR value must outweigh the money they make from overcharging for these resulting in their non use.
We have never been disappointed in the restaurant which never has an excess of choices but does all of them beautifully.
The staff are very nice and speak immaculate English and there is a large and secure car park on the hotel property.
All in all a nice place to stay in Bordeaux if you want a little more comfort than most of down town.

In closing just a little plug for the City itself; Transformed from its days twenty odd years ago as dirty and un appealing its downtown 'zone pietons' , tram links and literally miles of riverfront walking, shopping, eating or people watching make it a great destination for a few days away from London. Short flight, great shopping and a great diversity of eating options.

For the next few months road access is tricky due to the tram extension works but these should be fished by the late spring

Room Tip: Junior suites are very nice and often have reduced prices over weekend unless events at the nearby c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on group trip to Bordeaux. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious. The bathroom had a shower which worked well but no bath which didn't bother us but might bother others. The check in staff spoke immaculate English. We had some trouble working the TV and were a bit disappointed not to have a view of the lake. The main problem with this hotel is that it is quite a distance from the centre of Bordeaux. At present you have to take a bus and a tram to get to the centre although the tram extension will make this much easier. THere are very few amenities in the area and the hotel restaurant is expensive. Breakfast was fine if unremarkable. Probably our only complaint was that it was quite difficult to get served at the bar which largely seemed unmanned.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the lake you will probably have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Bordeaux Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Bordeaux Lac

Address: Av Jean-Gabriel Domergue, 33300 Bordeaux, France (Formerly Sofitel)
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Bordeaux Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers get a good night's sleep at the Pullman Bordeaux Lac, but that's not all they get at this hotel. Lake views, proximity (of course) to world-renowned vineyards, a casino within easy reach... Here on business? The Pullman Bordeaux Lac also features more than 2,000 square metres of flexible meeting space. Our hotel offers conviviality, comfort and connectivity ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Bordeaux Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Aquitania
Sofitel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Bordeaux Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.