We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neanderthals, Romans, knights and slavemasters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee d'Aquitaine

Musee d'Aquitaine
20 cours Pasteur, 33000 Bordeaux, France
05 56 01 51 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 148 things to do in Bordeaux
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Easily accessible by tram (line B). Has a replica of lescaux that we all read about in college Art History class. (lescaux farther and now restricted or closed. Fun museum which brought our whole visit together.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neanderthals, Romans, knights and slavemasters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The museum deals with a huge range of Aquitaines history. They deal with their history on slavery honestly and courageosly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    76
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Worth a visit as its free and is interesting in places. There are some very comfy chairs dotted around! It would have benefitted from some form of English translation - leaflet, headset etc. I would have even paid for it as it would have made the trip much more beneficial. But still worth an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathgate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“think of the non national touists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

this museum would be greatly improved if the exhibits explanations had some translations attached. the first part on the Neolithic byzantine ages etc seemed well done but how are you meant to understand the full meaning if there are no translations. the exhibits relating to the slave trade in bordeaux's history were very good and did have some English translations which made all the difference. As English is understood by the majority of non French nationalities then this should at least be one of the translations .Never have I found this an issue in other countries I have visited but this is my first time in France. Maybe they don't want tourists to come back. Well guess what- we wont be coming back. France needs to embrace the rest of the world and not be so inward looking

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It contains the iconic Venus de la Corne in its archaeology section. The museum has a huge Roman section. I also liked the Middle Ages section. Really, the whole museum was very special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into prehistory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm glad I visited this museum. It is rich in content and displays, but the parts I liked best were about the prehistory of the Aquitaine area. There were detailed videos showing modern day reconstructions of how prehistoric human beings created their tools--everything from very primitive flint arrowheads to much more sophisticated small sculptures of human beings. It was fascinating to see present-day re-enactments of the tools and sensitivity that must have been necessary to produce these artefacts. Along with the videos, of course, there were many examples of the ancient artefacts themselves.

The Roman and medieval sections of the museum were less interesting to me; they seemed not as rich in documentation or artefacts, and I have seen much more of those periods in other museums. However, there were some marvellous examples of late-Roman mosaic flooring, one of which had a richness of colour and complexity of pattern that was astonishing.

The outstanding exhibit from more modern times was related to the slave trade. There are very moving photos of slaves in shackles. The exhibit does not shy away from France's complicity in the enslavement of Africans.

The museum was not busy, and it was easy to become immersed in the exhibits and not feel distracted by other visitors. This place provides a great complement to visiting prehistoric sites in the south of France.

To top it off, it was entirely free, a fact that surprised us, given the amount of funding that must have gone into creating the museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee d'Aquitaine also viewed

 

Been to Musee d'Aquitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee d'Aquitaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.