We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 rue Montesquieu, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lovely little hotel in a great location. From the initial phone call for the reservation right through checkout the reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. For the price, we had anticipated a fairly rudimentary room but we were very pleasantly surprised when we were given the huge "family suite". This lovely room featured a private rooftop terrace with what must be one of the best views in the city. Additional bonuses included a luxuriously large (and clean) bathroom, a good breakfast with great coffee, optional baggage storage at the front desk after checkout, a little welcome wine, and bag lunches. All in all we had a great experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel to any friends!

Room Tip: The "family suite" has a rooftop terrace with a table and chairs and an amazing view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
We’ are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and you appreciate this family room with all the facilities.
We hope to see you again next time in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    223
    91
    29
    21
See reviews for
60
212
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very central location ,can walk anywhere as a compact city for shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff are very pleasant and spoke good English. The room I had a roof terrace with great views of the city with table and chairs to enjoy the sunset with a great Bordeaux wine. The TVs in the room are small and not many English language stations.
The central area of the city is pedestrianised and very clean and safe to walk around.
Several good restaurants close to hotel. Good location for a city break. No pool or gym though!

Room Tip: Get a higher room for sunlight and possibility of a roof terrace. Lower rooms maybe dark due to prox...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
We are happy to know you enjoied your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. Malinge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice clean hotel in a great central location. The triple room was small but clean and comfortable, with a big bathroom. The breakfast was adequate, and the staff helpful (toasted my gluten-free bread for me).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We thank you for your comments. and we are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to see you again next time you’re in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good clean family run hotel with free wifi, friendly staff, and right in the middle of town. room was a bit dated but clean and well maintained. The reception was friendly and the price reasonable. One of the lights in the room didn't work, but the bathroom was large and the beds comfortable. We booked a double which was in fact two singles pushed together. That aside nice little hotel

Room Tip: back rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
We are happy to know, you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again for another stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wow, right in the city centre...rooms were average and the wifi was touch and go? The breakfast was ok but the choice was very limited. The price for the rooms was high for the service and quality but the location played a big part in this. Good hotel but would think again before coming back

Room Tip: Wifi was poor for english travellers, there was only 1 english speaking channel...CNN
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations for the breakfast. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.


B. MALINGE
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was there for 2 nights in December. The rooms were basic and clean, exactly what you need when you are out most of the time! the area was brilliant, the local people were very helpful. only problem was the breakfast was very dissapointing but not the end of the world Great trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.

We are happy to know you enjoied your stay in our hotel inspite of some little disapointement (breakfast).
We hope to welcome you for another stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Since we only stayed for one night it did not matter the room was small. Breakfast was okay to French standards but we would have liked more of a choice.
Personel was very friendly and helpful.
Price is a little high for value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
We are glad to know you enjoied your stay in our hotel inspite of some little disapointements (size of the room & breakfast).
We have larger rooms when our guests request, we propose them to change.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you had and look forward to see you again.

B. MALINGE
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 10 rue Montesquieu, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Triangle, cultural and historical center of Bordeaux, the Continental is a legendary hotel in the Gironde. A few steps from the major brands, discover this sublime boutique hotel for your stay in Bordeaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, AvailPro, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.