We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking ! No Problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bordeaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Majestic
Save
You added Hotel Majestic to your Saves list
2 rue de Conde, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Parking ! No Problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel was chosen primarily because having been to Bordeaux previously I understood the hassle of travelling with a significant amount of luggage and trucking it to a hotel in a pedestrian only area over cobbled streets . Unfortunately many of Bordeaux's hotels are located in this area.
Our GPS did not seem to understand the one way streets in Bordeaux but after manoeuvring our way around that situation we reached the hotel . Great parking right in front of the hotel and I could see the entrance to the parking garage adjacent . Fantastic . Nice lobby and breakfast area . I had found this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked directly with the hotel ,obviously I had missed something important . I was told that I should have booked the parking in advance as there was limited space and although it was possible to drive up to load and unload the bags we would have to park a couple of blocks away in the public underground parking . The hotel has an arrangement with the parking garage and if you take your parking ticket to the tourist office they will issue you with another ticket at considerably less cost . Strangely enough this worked to our advantage as the following day we observed a car backing up out of that adjacent garage with inches to spare on each side . Really a bit of a nightmare .
The hotel room was quite large , clean and quiet , breakfast was good , reception very helpful. Located minutes from the centre and many excellent restaurants . I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    151
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
162
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a recent visit to Bordeaux.

The hotel is in a beautiful 18th century building, which I loved, as it does have a lot of charm. Our room was actually fairly spacious however, it was very tired looking. Drab brown colour, not a lot of light. The bathroom was clean and decent, but the shower was tiny.

Because the building is old, it doesn't seem to be insulated very well as the street noise was incredibly loud, which made it difficult to sleep well.

Overall it was a decent stay, the location is really good and the staff were great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I had the chance to stay for a week-end. Very well located between the opera and place des Quinquonces, near the river in a quiet side street.
All the center restaurants, venues etc… within walking distance.
Nice decor, perfectly clean, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great location, but this hotel really needs a refurbishment. The hallways are very spacious, but once you enter your room, you discover the rooms are very small. The bathroom looked updated, but I really think it was designed by an intern. Or a monkey. Almost half of the showers are not covered by any wall or shower curtain, so your bathroom gets flooded every time you shower. Nothing majestic about that!
Also, I do not understand why hotels (like this)still work with real keys...
The beds are ok, as is the breakfast. The staff was very helpful.
But I would only book this hotel again if there was a real good deal. I loved the city by the way!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is located in the centre of Bordeaux at the side of the Quinconces Esplanade. You can reach walking all main places of downtown Bordeaux and be connected to the surroundings with all trams departing from the Quinconces Esplanade. The hotel has nice practical set up rooms that make your stay comfortable and allow quiet sleep based on a good isolation of the windows. A nice breakfast is offered every morning based on a buffet. The staff is ready to help you and a comfortable reception room allows you to wait or meet in a nice atmosphere. the only remark is that check out is strictly at 1100, this rule reminds me to the obligation to pay 4 nights in hotels in Bordeaux when you visit the Vinexpo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a very pleasant hotel right in the middle of everything, but because it is in a side street it is very quiet. 2 steps to the trams and buses including the local airport bus which is cheaper and much more frequent than the bus on the airport website.

The main shopping street starts just around the corner and the main eat street area is about 2 blocks away. The team to the train station takes about 15 minutes including walking, waiting and tram time.

Friendly front desk staff almost like family run. 24 hr reception.

My room 312 was great. It's just off the stairs but I didn't get any noise and it's isolated from other rooms with no neighbours. So absolutely no noise. It looked out over a small courtyard. Double glazed window could be opened for fresh air and air con worked if needed.

My only complaints are bathroom didn't have a shower curtain so water got on the floor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Majestic in mid-September. The hotel is conveniently situated for sightseeing and also shopping. It's also only a minutes walk from the tram (which is great if you need to get to and from the Bordeaux Gare).

The rooms are a wee bit dark but I suspect that's just because of the musical decor. The bathroom was light and spacious, but unfortunately the hotel had an issue with the hot water one morning which meant no showers. The staff were very apologetic when this happened.

Great mid-priced hotel in a brilliant location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 2 rue de Conde, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bordeaux
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#13 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.