We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona to your Saves list
Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 cours de l'Intendance | entrées 4 rue Martignac et 11 rue Mautrec, 33000 Bordeaux, France (Formerly Tulip Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #43 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is just around the corner from the Opera House in the center of the old city. It is close to the sites, parks, tourist office, shopping, and restaurants. The room was small and very simple, but adequate and clean. We enjoyed a very quiet location and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated the AC and internet (although it was only free for one device). There are an abundance of cafe's nearby, so we chose to have "petit dejeuner" elsewhere. Being in the center of the old city, I wished the room decor room had had a bit more flair, but all in all, I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeauxhotel, Directeur général at Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment. You are right, our hotel is located in the very heart of the town, area listed on the UNESCO world heritage and you have the possibility to discover everything by walk .
If you come back, please contact us directly and we will propose you a larger room (Superior or Suite, according availabilities). As you have seen the hotel is settled in two 18 century buildings and all our room are different .
You will also have the opportunity to discover our new breakfast room offering a large selection of products .
Don't hesitate to follow our news (stays and packages, works, refurbishment, town events......) on our official web site.

All our team wishes you a very nice summer

Yours Sincerely

Catherine Parinaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    121
    62
    22
    13
See reviews for
24
123
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June, and had a great experience! The location of this hotel is right in Bordeaux city centre, a short walk from the Grand Theatre, Place des Quinconces, and right in the middle of the shopping street in Bordeaux! The tram stops right outside the hotel, and the train station and bus stop to the airport is just a short walk away. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful during our stay. The room was spacious, and air-conditioned (a must during the hot summer!) Breakfast was a pretty standard selection of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, and juices, but the french pastries were really delicious! We certainly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, and the location is great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeauxhotel, Directeur général at Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comment, we are very happy that you have appreciated your stay with us and have the opportunity to discover our beautiful city.

If you come back don't hesitate to visit our official web site to find some new ideas or contact us directly , it will be a pleasure to organize your stay .

We wish you a very nice summer

Yours Sincerely

Catherine Parinaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is wonderfully located for those wishing to spend some time in central Bordeaux. Having read previous reviews, we decided to book a superior room (room 101). The room itself was reasonably spacious, although the outlook onto a small enclosed courtyard gave for a somewhat gloomy look to the room. The plus side was that the room was very quiet. Free Internet access in the room was a plus. Bed was extra large and extremely comfortable giving a good night's sleep. Bathroom grouting was grubby in areas and needs attention - toiletries were not of a high standard and towels on the small side
Welcome from staff was very good as was the helpful advice given to us throughout our two night stay. We didn't have breakfast although a charge of €6.50 per person for a cup of coffee and a very minuscule croissant one morning did seem slightly excessive.
Overall a good experience and an hotel I would recommend.

Room Tip: Select a superior room - perhaps not 101 for outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeauxhotel, Directeur général at Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your comment on the attached bath. In fact there was no more joint in the bathtub corner. We made the seal tile repair immediately. So thank you again .
We regret that you did not appreciate our toiletries: we choose paraben free products, with essential oils and organic. Each bathroom is equipped with two towels, two bath towels, two squares / gloves and a bath mat in pure cotton.
Concerning the breakfast we offer our customers two services: the coffee-croissant (pot of 100% Arabica coffee, or teas selections ou hot chocolate, 1 croissant and cookie or danish served in china) and the breakfast buffet with a wide selection of fresh products.
All the services of our facility are on our official website. If you need further information please contact us we are at your disposal.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again,
Yours Sincerely

Catherine Parinaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having checked in and being told there would be a place to store my bike after having taken my bags to my room I was then told I was not allowed to store my bike at the hotel in the room where they had previously told me I could. Having cycled from the UK on this bike and havinbg looked after it the whole way making sure I would always store it in care I pleaded for them to find a safe place for me to lock it. They refused and told me the only place was in the street. Being convinced it would get stolen I offered a large sum of money for them to allow me to park it somewhere else possibly in another BEst Western. With no alternative I locked it up in the street and low and behold it was stolen the next morning leaving me having to return to England by train and without my treasured bike. On top of this I was also initially indirecetly accused of stealing the TV remote. Very disapointed, especially as I was paying €140 for a night.

Room Tip: No good if you have a bike
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your message. We remember you perfectly well.

Unless our error you arrived during the wine festival, a very busy period. You're in at the reception to make your reservation we just had a cancellation.

You asked us if we had a place to park the bike after getting your room. We have made clear the fact that unfortunately we did not have the possibility to park the bike.

You can understand that our facility consists of two historic buildings of the 18th century ; the bicycles cannot be parked in the corridors or rooms.

Our Front Office Manager will also clarify with you that it was risky to leave your bike in the street because with the wine festival the streets were particularly lively.
She asked you if you were sure you want to reserve the room that we could not give you satisfaction regarding your bike.

This is not a question of money, this proposal is even shocking.

Our goal is to give satisfaction to our customers, to assist them in organizing their stay and to inform them better to their needs.
However we are not responsible for decisions taken.

We are sincerely sorry for this incident and we understand perfectly that you did not absolutely enjoy your stay and our hotel.
Maybe you will have the opportunity to return to our beautiful city and discover it in better conditions.

Yours Sincerely

Catherine Parinaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a rail trip to Bordeaux from London staying for three nights in this centrally situated hotel. The tram from Bordeaux St Jean station took us to Quinconces stop which is 10 minutes maximum walk from the hotel. Do not bother to take a second tram from Quinconces to the Grand Theatre stop! The entrance to the hotel is just off the main street, so quiet. Reception is on the first floor so we managed, with luggage, to use the stairs but the lift is available if needed - it is fairly slow but does that matter?! The welcome is exceptional - very friendly, giving all the necessary information about room key, power saving, air conditioning, breakfast arrangements etc We were given a local map and a list of a variety of recommended restaurants. The room we had on the first floor overlooked the quiet street. Yes, it was small and basic but it was clean and had sufficient hangers in the wardrobe for our three night stay. Towels were replaced after two days when we left them in the bath. We took our own toiletries, other than soap, which was topped up on the second day. Do not expect a whole range of freebie toiletries. Admittedly the decor was not as fresh as it could have been (other than the breakfast room) but the place was clean, the staff friendly and attentive and the breakfast, buffet style, was better than a lot of hotels we have stayed in. Any quibblers should bear in mind that this hotel is in the centre of a city, close to all amenities, with smiling staff at hand to answer any query.

Room Tip: Avoid by the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your very precise and kind comment.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to discover our very nice town.

Our breakfast room in the building "Bayonne" has been totally refurbished with a new ambiance, new marble buffet, new foods.....This year we have also finished the refurbishment of our three 18th century façades.
Some other works will be done in a very near futur .

If you have the opportunity to come back don't hesitate to contact us, all our team is at your disposal to organize your time amoung us. You can also visit our official web site.

Looking forward to hear from you soon

Yours Faithfully

Catherine Parinaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is amazing! This is a full 3 star hotel with everything you need.
Internet access is wiresless AND wired (rare!), air conditionning in each room and the location if PERFECT! In the very center of Bordeaux, walking distance to everything.

About noise, there is simply none. The hotel is located (both locations) in very quiet streets and you won't be prevented from sleeping well, even with windows opened.

Service is amazing and very professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeauxhotel, Directeur général at Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your very nice comment.

We are sincerely pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.We hope that you have had enought time to visite our beautiful city .

If you have the opportunity to come back to Bordeaux, do not hesitate to contact me. I will be happy to assist you in organizing your stay and make it very exclusive. Of course you have also our official website were we propose several activities at the best available prices.

Have a nice journey

Yours Faithfully

Catherine Parinaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had 1st floor room. Quiet and enormous. Walking distance to some lovely bistros. Great launch point to tour wine country. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floors. Bordeaux streets are narrow and congested. Be patient. Car park is nearby hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeauxhotel, Directeur général at Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment ,
We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and got enough time to discover vineyards .
Perhaps you will have another opportunity to come back very soon,
If you need some information don't hesitate to visit our official website, you can also contact me : it will be a pleasure to organize your stay and find some exclusive activities. I stay at your disposal.

Looking forward

Yours Sincerely

Catherine Parinaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona

Address: 15 cours de l'Intendance | entrées 4 rue Martignac et 11 rue Mautrec, 33000 Bordeaux, France (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Bordeaux "Bayonne Etche-Ona" is located in the golden triangle of the town at 100 m far away from the Opera, in the very heart of the Unesco World Heritage. The hotel is composed of two buildings from the 18e century, and propose 61 rooms and Suites, 3 conference room, bar and lounge.All the leisures activities, exhibition, .... take place nearby the Hotel, at walking distance.Public underground parking open 24h/day and tramway line B stop Grand Theatre are at 50 meters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona Hotel Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.