We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience at this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Normandie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bordeaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Normandie
Save
You added Hotel de Normandie to your Saves list
7 cours du XXX Juillet F, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good experience at this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived late and without reservation. Bordeaux was packed and we had a hard time finding a vacant room. Eventually we got to this hotel. The young man at reception (night of May 27, 2013) was very sweet and offered a room in a decent price and showed it to me. Price, he said, includes breakfast. The room was quiet, clean, decent size though definitely not large. Bathroom was great. It looks like the hotel and rooms were recently renovated. Breakfast was excellent.
Unfortunately when we checked-out receptionist did not know that the price should include breakfast. She presented the price for room only and a supplement for 2 breakfasts. I had to insist that this was not what I was offered and agreed to when we checked-in the night before. Only after I said they may call the receptionist that was there in the evening, she agreed to pass the breakfast (though they did not call him). This whole situation made us feel very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
8
36
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

the advantage of location and very nice staff (!) does not help to correct the main problem with the room. The fact the room was small, and the window facing a gloomy wall on the back... that i can deal with. But the fact i could hear the people in the adjacent room(s) speak, and know at what time of night they flush the toilet..... that's too much information. Unfortunately, this review is a thumbs down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked this at the last minute as we were badly let down by our HouseTrip rental which took us all of 10 minutes to decide to leave. Bordeaux was almost fully booked because of the river festival. This hotel is quite impressive from outside with a reasonably grand lobby & it overlooks the impressive Quinquonces square & is a minute away from the gorgeous Grand Theatre square. The tram stops for B & C are right outside so you can travel to all the tourist areas & the Gare St Jean (C tram) very easily. The location is so good though that you can also walk to most places you want to visit.
We found the staff helpful & Wifi was free but the rate was overpriced for the standard of room. It was comfortable and clean & I found the view from the room towards Grand Theatre nice but we couldn't get the aircon to work & the fairly small shower area quickly became very hot & steamy & not much air came in through the window. We did report it but wasn't fixed on our return that evening. When we mentioned it next morning the Manager dismissed us in a rather curt manner which rather soured the great impression made by his staff - especially the fantastically helpful night receptionist & the lovely reception staff who helped us with our cases. He could learn from his own staff regarding customer care skills.
More positives than negatives & would have had a 4 star rating if the room had been bigger, aircon worked & had not been so eye wateringly expensive or such an unpleasant manager. Also check your final bill carefully - like another reviewer we had been charged for a breakfast we had not had although they removed it immediately when we challenged them. Still, I would have thought their systems could tell them who had had breakfast & who hadn't - wonder if it's a default position to charge!

Room Tip: There are rooms from 99 Eu but beware as they are really tiny & claustrophobic. The lovely helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great room with a view in a central location in centre ville, Bordeaux. Conveniently close parking, everything you need/want is within easy walking distance. The room has everything you need, is efficiently planned out from a space-deign perspective, and even the bed was comfortable (not always the case in France). We had a small open-air balcony with table & chairs from which to enjoy the incredible city views over a glass of Bordeaux... Came recommended by a course we are attending and over course of our several night stay, has worked out better than expected. We especially appreciated the availability, speed and delicious room service (from the nearby Cafe Noailles) we received upon arriving after a long 18-hour travel day to get to Bordeaux, and the friendly hospitality of the English-speaking concierge staff, knowledgeable in all hotel and logistical aspects of our stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great location, clean, efficient, good level of services. Superb location, though, is definitely its top advantage, as it is central and close to the river. For wine lovers it is even more recommended, as it is across the road from the BDX wine school and the wine tourism board, and very close to wine shops and wine bars. My no.1 choice when I visit Bordeaux, which is (at least) every year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Of all the european hotels I've stayed in....this was the most amazing room I've had yet. Large by any standards...which is unusual. The long almost floor length windows looked out on the square and the trollys and afforded a beautiful....no...extraordinary view!!!
I could sit on the windowsill with a glass of wine and take in that view for hours!!
The location of this hotel was super!!! A perfect spot from which to roam all around Bordeaux....which itself is pure eye-candy!!!
The staff here was friendly and helpful. The breakfast...well...left something to be desired...but a small price to pay for all the benefits. Nothing wrong with just grabbing a coffee and muffin and heading out anyway.
This place is spectacular....and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: A room facing the square makes for a perfect vista!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are looking for a modern and spacious hotel in the centre of Bordeaux then look no further. It is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the tram that takes you to the main Bordeaux train station. Restaurants, shops, the wine school and tourist office are all 2 minutes away too.

The rooms are very quiet (important for us), tastefully decorated and the bathroom is also a great size for a hotel. The toilet was located right by a window in room 309 - thankfully there are curtains to draw.

No free wi-fi and so only 4 stars given!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Normandie

Address: 7 cours du XXX Juillet F, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Normandie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.