We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Voyageurs

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bordeaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Save
You added Hotel Des Voyageurs to your Saves list
3 Bis Avenue Thiers, 33100 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Easy to get to , not far to walk to city centre. We got the tram one way but walked back no problem. Was easy to get to the Gare St Jean by tram next morning.
Martine was very welcoming and the rooms were very clean.
Great value for money and we would recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
50
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having stayed here a year ago, we returned to start our trip this March, and the hotel was just as wonderful as last time. Frankly, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Bordeaux. The hotel is across the bridge from the center of town, and a tram stop is right across the street. The rooms were just as clean as last year, and the proprietors just as friendly. I was amazed that the hotel wasn't filled, but maybe it's just the time of year and mid-week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was continental style with fruit if requested. It's easily accessible from airport by bus and then tram. Location on the 'wrong side' of the river was no problem as it's a 10 min walk across the bridge or a tram ride to the city centre. Excellent value.

Room Tip: There's no lift so choose your floor with care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Despite the walls being thin enough to hear every peep out of the fussy child in the room next door this hotel was still perfect. The hotel is a few metres from the Stalingrad tram line A stop, making it a simple 1 hour journey from the airport. Plus, it's location on the other side of the river allows for a stunning walk across the Pont de Pierre bridge, which is always a wonderful thing. Martine greeted us warmly, despite our poor French (she doesn't speak English, so be prepared to have to translate), and made sure we were settled in comfortably. We stayed in room 24, which is the twin room on the back of the building and a lovely old street.The room was clean and comfortable, and the Wifi was quick and never failed us. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast in the hotel as we like to find cafes for that, but it looked and smelled delicious. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone staying in Bordeaux.

We also recommend Creperie Sainte Anne, which is down the road and around the corner.

Room Tip: Like many hotels in Europe the walls are a bit thin so we could hear noises in the corridor. Unfortu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the most "American" hotel I've ever stayed in in Europe. The rooms were bright, spacious, and very clean. The shower was wonderful with great water pressure. The wifi was great and fast. The owners are very friendly and responsive. They provided us city maps and information about the tram system. Short walk across the bridge to the old town of Bordeaux.
Breakfast was delicious with homemade jam and fresh bread, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, orange juice, and three mini pastries (a croissant, pain au chocolat, and pain aux raisins).
Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strangford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I would like to praise the breakfast: plenty of good coffee and hot milk, proper cotton napkins, and home-made plum jam from an orchard in the Dordogne. You can ask for extra tartines (French bread and butter) instead of the viennoiserie (lack-lustre pastries and croissant) and take advantage of the jam.
The proprietors are, as reviews say, very friendly - and sheets were changed (unnecessarily, in my opinion) every day.

My only quibble is the softness of the bed, which is not good for an older person's back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a lovely hotel - very clean, well decorated and comfortable. The proprietor is friendly and helpful, and it's in a good location with a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the old town. If I'm in Bordeaux again I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Des Voyageurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Voyageurs

Address: 3 Bis Avenue Thiers, 33100 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Voyageurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.