We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive wine tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bordovino Wine Tasting Day Tours

Bordovino Wine Tasting Day Tours
3 Rue Enghien, 33000 Bordeaux, France
+33 (0)557300427
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$180*
and up
Private Tour: Wine Harvest and Tasting Trip from...
Ranked #3 of 110 Activities in Bordeaux
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the Bordeaux Wine learn, share, enjoy and of course...treat yourself. Half-day/full day wine tours, small groups (8 people) includes transportation, visit of two chateaux, tasting sessions, French/English speaking friendly and knowledge guide, local food products, chateaux route drive...and a lot of little extras as to allow you to enjoy an unforgettable day out.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interactive wine tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wine tour is a must-do in Bordeaux. My husband & I joined the half-day tour to Sanit Emilion lead by Francois. Francois was attentive and enthusiastic about wine. He spoke very fluent English, and had good knowledge in movies, sports, and American culture.

Francois created a wine mixing session for us - we tasted a Merlot and a Cabernet Sauvignon separately, both not aged yet. We compared our preferences, then mixed the two win in different ratios, and then tasted "our wines". The exercise was fun, and gave us appreciation for winemaker's job.

We arrived at the second tasting place at nearly 5pm. Francois brought a tray of snacks (cheese, meat, almonds, apricots, bread) for us to taste with the wine. That was so attentive of him! We gobbled down everything.

Francois also gave us a few great recommendations from wine bars to restaurants which we enjoyed. I recommend joining the tour towards the beginning of your stay so that you'll have time to visit the guide's recommendations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    46
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Medoc Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Our Guide Juliette was welcoming and knowledgable, and with excellent English for our all English speaking group of 7. Our first stop was a photo opportunity at Chateau Margaux, and we then travelled to Chateau Chasse-Spleen. The guide there explained clearly the processes followed in wine making and after a smelling test/game devised by Juliette two wines (unfinished and finished) were tasted. We then proceeded to Chateau Lagrange for another tour, then a tasting of two reds and a white along with some nibbles. Juliette chatted amiably along the way and answered all questions willingly. The vehicle was comfortable and the trip allowed us to see some of the vineyard areas, though in midwinter it is not the best time to experience the beauty of this region. Our only criticism was that we would have liked the opportunity to taste some wines more characteristic of the first or second growth and/or seen some of the more famous chateaux.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was not expecting to see a grand crus chateau! We had some really outstanding wines and she was very knowledgeable about the bordeaux wine scene. Chateau Lagrange in Médoc was a real privilege to see. Loved Bordeaux the town and loved the Bordovino tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A taste of St-Emilion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took advantage of the opportunity to visit the beautiful medieval village of St-Emilion offered by Bordovino's half day small group tour from Bordeaux. Our young guide and driver, François, was incredibly knowledgable about the history of the village and the Bordeaux wine industry. Leaving from the Bordeaux Tourist Office, the 5 hour tour included visits to two chateaus and wine tastings. A great way to spend an afternoon and François was an excellent host. Educational and enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great wine tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you are visiting Bordeaux, you should really visit the vineyards. We did the Graves morning tour and really enjoyed it. We had a small English-speaking group and the tour guide/driver was very friendly and gave us a lot of background and answered questions before we even got to vineyards. Although my mate and I prefer red wines from Bordeaux and St. Emilion, we're not experts and this was a good opportunity. We visited two vineyards and had a chance to taste (and buy) wines in both places. The hosts were friendly and it was an enjoyable educational experience. At the second chateau, after a bit of wine, the tour guide served appetizers - cheese, crackers, etc. which I appreciated after the wine. Our group was small and friendly and I recommend Bordovino wine tasting tours.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bordovino Wine Tasting Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bordovino Wine Tasting Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bordovino Wine Tasting Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.