We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of too small room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 rue du Temple, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 174 hotels in Bordeaux
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beware of too small room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked through Eurostar and asked for this hotel as we read some good reviews and wanted a Hotel of quality. So we were not trying to scrimp and save. We were given a very small room at the front which had a double bed that did not seem big enough and there was only just enough room to squeeze around it and not enough room to put our two cases. Also there was no bath. Perhaps I had not specially requested it but had assumed that for the price I was paying I would get one. I asked if we might change to another room with a bath. The receptionist at first said that would be impossible but she did find a room eventually that had a bath and luckily it had twin beds and enough room to move. We were happy in that room but it had no outlook, no picture and was unmodernised. The lighting was awful but this may be the fault of the long life bulbs I do not know, but it was brigh white and made me scared to look in the mirror!
The staff were friendly and the breakfast nice but the good looking chairs in the breakfast room were uncomfortable. Really it was a nice hotel and it is not fair to complain but I got the impression there were probably some really nice rooms both larger than our first one and more modern than our second but having booked through Eurostar we were not going to see them.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    97
    44
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
93
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staying 3 nights over New Year, friends had booked the hotel. Clean, small rooms and a great location, but at €180 per night, one would expect a shower that was more than a dribble, a decent size double bed and heating that functioned.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

nice hotel, very clean and tidy, comfy bed and great location. not the best hotel i've ever stayed in but certainly not the worst.staff were friendly and helpful at all times. the breakfast buffet deserves a special mention, it's delicious. quite reasonably priced too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologny, Suisse
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On my way to the wine region, I stayed two nighs in this hotel. At first glance i looks very nice. But the single room I stayed in was simply too small. I peeked into a 'normal" room which looked a lot better, but my room was in fact unacceptable.

Nice breakfast buffet, but no bar or restaurant. Fortunately it's located in the centre of Bordeaux, so plenty of restaurants around.

Friendly staff and clean, but just very very basic....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights along with 8 other couples, for a recent reunion celebration. Having read about the various room options, I had requested a quiet room that had been renovated. Our room on the third floor did not disappoint, with queen bed, desk, and modern bathroom with tub/shower combo. Another plus was that a full breakfast was included. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, as well as bilingual. There is a nice sitting room off the lobby where we could visit with our friends. Others have discussed the difficulty of access and parking at this hotel, which is located in the pedestrian zone of historic Bordeaux. Arriving by car, we had been told how to access the street and unload our luggage. We returned our rental car upon arrival, as we expected to use the tram to get to our various destinations. It did take a while to get oriented to the area where the hotel was located, since there are many small, narrow streets in the pedestrian zone. But the location of the hotel is excellent for exploring the newly cleaned and malled downtown area by foot. My only concern was that there is no rubber bath mat in the bathtub, and with the glass half-wall enclosure and no grab bar, it is extremely slippery in the tub, and even dangerous trying to get out. Management might consider adding safety strips or bathmats to the tubs.

Room Tip: Request a quiet remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall, west midlands,
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were in a 3rd floor twin-bedded room and had no "neighbours" as such, by luck of the design of the floor. As the hotel is in a quiet side street, there was no noise to disturb us.The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was spacious and comfortable. Everything worked as it should e.g. aircon and hairdryer. There was a separate toilet and bathroom and bedside reading lights, plus tea/coffee making facilities.The beds were very comfortable too and the sheets were changed every three days. It is an Eco-hotel, so you have to ask for resupply of toiletries form the container at reception. There was imaginative use of space for storage and a good room safe that was easy to operate. The breakfast was very good. The staff were helpful and pleasant(including the hard-working cleaner).A wonderful stay in a great hotel. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

First, be advised that there is more than one Best Western in Bourdeaux. This one is located about 15 minutes by taxi from the train station and is located in the center of the more charming and older section of the town of Bourdeaux. The other Best Western we saw is walking distance from the train station but I would recommend the location of this one instead.

We got a good rate on this hotel and we found it to be a good value. For English speaking folks, the hotel staff is very helpful and speak fluent English. Our room was very small but we had a balcony and that was great. The room had clearly been renovated fairly recently and the bathroom was nice but small. The shower did not drain well and the air conditioner did not cool well. That said, these things were very minor and far outweighed by the positives.

The hotel has free access to a computer and printer in the lobby and offers a pretty good breakfast as compared to other hotels in Europe. We never figured out the tram in Bourdeaux but it runs in close proximity to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 12 rue du Temple, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.