We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our usual stop returning from holidays...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac

Save Saved
You added Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Jean-Gabriel Domergue | Quartier Du Lac, 33300 Bordeaux, France (Le Lac 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 174 hotels in Bordeaux
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our usual stop returning from holidays...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A standard Novotel with the parking area and the reception recently redone giving it a fresher look. Staff was very kind and compared with other Novotel the people from the Restaurant were really nice. Rooms are the usual standard stuff, just enough to sleep well. It is time Novotel reviews the plastic bathrooms into something a bit more in line with the rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    152
    94
    18
    10
See reviews for
139
62
25
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

On arrival at the hotel reception , bar and dining areas look stunning very modern and bright .
The rooms however do not match this . We booked a standard room so maybe the higher grade rooms are better but it was very dated . Woodchip wallpaper on the walls . It was small the window didn't open but it did accommodate 2 adults and a child on a camp bed .
Breakfast is great . It is buffet style and this you can take inside or out overlooking the pool .
Easy access back on to the motorway if you are travelling through France and not far to the centre on Bordeaux . It has good parking which is a problem in many of the city centre hotels .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Vaud, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I spent 4 nights with my family in the Hotel and unfortunattely it was not a good experience. I have booked this hotel taking on consideration of the quality and good service level related to the Novotel hotel chain but this hotel can not be considered a Novotel hotel. The staff is not prepared to speak english. During the saturday we did not have water in the toilets and none from the reception were able to give me a reasonable answer. The swimming pool has not a good quality : small and looks dirty. The stair that give access to the rooms stinks due to the old and contamined carpet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In order to attend the vine exhibition Vinexpo i was booked in the Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac.
The location of the hotel is perfect, it has been renewed has a good standard equipation and a good restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner. May be caused by the hugh amount of visitosrs and the unusual rainy days,there were not enough umbrellas available and also the front desk people were not as nice as in other hotels i have visited. for the next Vinexpo 2015 besides a good bus connection, there will be also a good tramway connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

En route to spain we needed a stopover. With my accor points I got a good deal in this novotel. Location is not special in a hotel atprea near the exposition centre. Outside looks a bit dissapointing. Inside is just a novotel as soo many. Decent size room, shower a bit cramped. For the rest, ok for the night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asturias
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

How this hotel got a 4 star rate is a mistery! This is the worst 4 star hotel I have ever been to and one of the worst Novotel out there.
The staff barely speaks English, it took us 15 mins to check in because the only receptionist was talking on the pone. The rooms are extremely dated, small and dirty. The towels had stains everywhere (see pictures) and the carpet was unaceptable. It was only posible to get to bed from one side as the other one was almost against the Wall and it can´t be moved. If you need the toilet at night time good luck jumping on top of your partner! Not for elderly couples for sure. What upsets me the most is that we paid a lot of money for the "deluxe" room and it was just a standard room because that´s the only ones they have as well as suites! I had a look at some other standard rooms when the housekeeper was making them and they were identical! So don´t be a fool like me and if you have to go there book the standard one. The breakfast buffet was extremely poor and tiny, they didn´t even have nice French croissants! Everything seemed out of an Aldi packet. The only positive thing I have to say is that the comunal areas were renovated and nice. If you have to stay in the business park go to the Pullman for only a bit more money or to the Ibis which is much cheaper and equally poor! This hotel would be aceptable as a 3 star for half the Price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac

Address: Avenue Jean-Gabriel Domergue | Quartier Du Lac, 33300 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Le Lac 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#11 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac is located on the shores of Lake Bordeaux in the centre to the convention and exhibition precinct. An ideal location for a business trip to Bordeaux, this 3 star hotel offers 175 airconditioned rooms. The hotel also features 12 meeting rooms for your training days and seminars for up to 100 people. Enjoy the distinctively modern ambience and friendly service at our Novotel Cafe restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac Hotel Bordeaux
Bordeaux Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.