We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons to your Saves list
Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 cours Saint-Louis, 33300 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel. The most outstanding thing was how helpful the staff were. They responded immediately to all my requests. When I had trouble using the hotel's computer, one of the staff stayed in the business room and helped me until I was comfortable using the computer. My room was on the first floor (136). It was clean and quiet, and adequately spacious. The breakfast included a big variety of items. I was especially happy to find fresh-squeezed orange juice. But everything I ate was good.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Directrice at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for the time you spent writing a comment on Tripadvisor website and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Your comment is very important for us to improve the quality of our services and I will share it with our team. We are looking forward to welcome you next time.
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    201
    80
    24
    18
See reviews for
37
174
40
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is clean and efficient, not charming, a bit too far from the centre, it takes a 15-20' walk to the centre. Nice and friendly staff. The inside terrace can get very noisy in the evening. Price was acceptable. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms pool or terrace side are very noisy, when people sit outside late in the evening you hear them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Directrice at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
We hope to receive you next time in Bordeaux.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room is small. By the time we laid out our 2 suitcases, there was hardly any space to move. The breakfast area is small. Around 10 people from a tour group were overtly packing their lunch (bread rolls, cold meats, sandwiches, fruit) into their bags, from the breakfast trays. This made it more congested as they were busy walking from their table to gather their breakfast and their pack lunch. It also depleted the food trays faster than normal.

It takes around 20 minutes to walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
We hope to receive you next time in Bordeaux.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as a part of Group. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff was very Nice. The staff in the hotelbar was very welcoming and Nice. The receptionist was very welcoming and Nice. The only minus with the hotel was that is carpets in all rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
We hope to receive you next time.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a 30 day group tour of Europe, and it was very disappointing. We had an early start the next day, but sleep was impossible due to the noise from the restaurant and bar area. Despite the fact that many rooms overlook this area, the hotel allowed a large, loud party to continue until 2am. When we complained the next morning, the staff just shrugged their shoulders.
The luggage service is also a joke. We paid and arranged for our suitcases to be collected and delivered downstairs in the morning, but ended up having to the job ourselves. Others were late the next day because their suitcases were not collected, while another couple had their luggage taken back up their rooms as they were getting our tour bus! Our tour director also wasted a couple of hours the previous night knocking on every door of the hotel looking for luggage that had been delivered to the wrong rooms.
I would never stay here again, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I have read the comment you wrote in Tripadvisor after your last stay in our hotel.
I have read all your remarks with the utmost attention.
I am very surprised about a party until 2 am because we don’t accept late party.
But I would like present you my sincere apologies for this experience because it does not match the service quality we want to deliver to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. We checked in and were relaxing in our room, with the door locked from the inside when to our surprise the door opened and another customer arrived having been checked into our room! From that point on, the key to our room never worked. Each time we arrived back at our room tired, we had to go back to the reception to get the key redone. Very frustrating. However the worst part was the temperature in the room. It was stuffy and hot. The air conditioning did not work. When I called the reception I was told we were between seasons. They had turned off the heating but not yet turned on the cooling system. They could not do anything about it!!! They just advised me to open the window. As we were on the ground floor, that was ok in the daytime but impossible at night. We did not sleep at all either night due to the heat in the room. Just dreadful - whatever happened to making your guests comfortable?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Manager at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I have read the comment you wrote in Tripadvisor after your last stay in our hotel.
I have read all your remarks with the utmost attention.
It is very difficult to have air conditioned during spring months because maximum degrees are between 11 and 24. The room key card can be also inactivated with a cellular phone near by.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It is easy to find in a nice, quiet area that was just a short walk from the business that we were visiting and restaurants/bars etc.
Good receptionist, very welcoming and helpful with showing us to the parking. Rooms were nicely done in dark, opulent colours and very clean. Our room was small but well thought out with plenty of lamps and space to put things and did not feel crowded at all.
Not sure about the disposable coffee cups in the room, would prefer proper cups but it was a nice addition to have coffee making facilities in the room, this is something that you don't often get in French hotels.
Parking is under the hotel but if you park outside they will direct you to it, then it is just a couple of flights of stairs up into the reception from your car. If you have a tall car (we have a landrover) park near the entrance/exit to the car park as the roof lowers as you get further in.
We slept well, the beds are comfy but there was a a rumbling noise from air con (I think) that did wake us a couple of times...it sounded a bit like being on a ferry!
Good blackout curtains in the room so you could lie in if you have the time.
Breakfast was OK, better than a lot of French hotels, good bread and croissants, but I think we have been spoiled by German hotel breakfasts :)
Really liked the quirky sculptures, particularly the hippo in the pool!
Would stop here again either on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you have a tall car (we have a landrover) park near the entrance/exit to the underground car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Directrice at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for the time you spent writing a comment on Tripadvisor website and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Your comment is very important for us to improve the quality of our services and I will share it with our team. We are looking forward to welcome you an other time.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons

Address: 81 cours Saint-Louis, 33300 Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#21 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city of Bordeaux, the 4 star Mercure Bordeaux Chartrons features a superb victorian facade, its 215 rooms making for a rather refined and pleasant abode. Easily accessible and ideally situated near the exhibition centre facilities, its wine themeddecor will immediately make you feel as though you are in the Bordelais vineyards. Enjoy fine cuisine in our "Chais St Louis" restaurant, service on the patio on fine days. The hotel offers 20 meeting rooms overlooking the garden and a private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Chartrons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.