We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sightseeing in Bordeaux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bordeaux Centre

Save Saved
You added Mercure Bordeaux Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue Robert Lateulade, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 174 hotels in Bordeaux
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sightseeing in Bordeaux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Spent 1 night at this hotel in the centre of Bordeaux at the end of a wonderful week touring France. Could not have been better, near enough to the center to walk but tucked away in a quiet street. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    170
    106
    35
    21
See reviews for
54
135
40
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glucksburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I willnot use Your hotels in future since You have no smokers rooms and not even offer reasonable espace for those who wan to smoke.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've been staying for a couple of nights at the Mercure Hotel. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, they were very helpful and spoke good English. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom is also spacious and very clean.
Very rich and tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs,and I found the best around.
More than value for money and good location in the city. I would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for the new rooms!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Unfortunately our experience in this hotel was not pleasant at all. Our room smelt like an old festering ash tray.... When we went to speak with the reception, their reply was simply that "they were full and could not do anything about it." I fully understand that it is not the receptionist fault that the room smelt disgusting, however i do believe that their customer service could be worked upon. A " sorry" or a " let me see if i can do anything to help you" would have been a good way to start! After speaking with them 3 times they did eventually give us a discount( although not very much.) However there was no real attempt to make the room smell nicer. For the price they charge, it was all very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

[English below]
Comme avec la plupart des hôtels Accor, la chambre était bien équipée et avait tout ce qu'il fallait. Il y avait une certaine confusion sur le régime de parking car apparemment il faut pré-réserver le zone de l'hôtel dans l'immeuble pour profiter du mieux tariff. Ce n'est pas clair sur le site de l'hôtel et il n'était pas signalé quand on est arrivé et on a trouvé que le parking de l'hôtel était complet. Quand j'ai demandé à ce sujet, la réponse était sur la défensive, pas pour but d'aider à résoudre un problème. Quand j'ai demandé une réservation de parking pour la nuit suivante ce n'était pas un problème et le membre du personnel n'a même pas regardé pour voir si l'espace était disponible. Cela m'a donné l'impression que le personnel ne s'occupe pas vraiment du parking, qui n'a jamais semblé complet. Cela a été souligné par le fait que chaque fois que j'ai demandé quelque chose du personnel, on m'a demandé à quel groupe j'appartenais. Il me semble que l'hôtel dispose de nombreux groupes (et bravo à Accor d'avoir réussi avec ses ventes), mais peut-être le resultat est une certaine complaisance du personnel quand ils rencontrent un client individuel plutôt qu'un chef de groupe. Nous prenions le petit déjeuner chez Paul dans le centre Meriadeck qui était une meilleure qualité et une meilleure valeur.

As with most Accor hotels, the room was well equipped and had everything we needed. There was some confusion about the parking scheme because apparently you must pre-book the hotel area in the building to enjoy the better tariff. It is not clear on the website of the hotel and it was not pointed out when we arrived and found the hotel parking lot was full. When I asked about this, the response was defensive, not to help solve a problem. When I asked for a parking reservation for the next night it was not a problem and the staff member did not even look to see if space was available. It gave me the impression that staff do not really care about the parking, which never seemed full. This was emphasised by the fact that every time I asked the staff something, they asked which group I belonged to. It seems to me that the hotel has many groups (and bravo Accor to have the sales success), but perhaps this has resulted in a certain complacency amongst the staff when they meet an individual customer rather than being able to deal through a group leader. We had breakfast at the Paul in the Meriadeck shopping centre over the road as it was better food and better value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The room was comfortable and clean, would stay here again. Breakfast was good, but not very exciting if you don't like a cooked breakfast.
The air conditioning was not very good, even when turned on as cold as possible and on full, the room was still too hot.
Staff at the front desk were not very helpful when asking about the location of the nearest post office, and also of how to get to the airport. They indicated a bus went from outside the hotel to the left but gave nothing further than this (it was from another road entirely), nor about how often this shuttle ran.

Room Tip: One with good airconditioning as the rooms are quite hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Four night break in Bordeaux spent at the Hotel Mercure Centre. Hotel rooms clean and reasonably appointed apart from very poor lighting in the room itself and only one cupboard, and that on the floor. No plug near a mirror although lighting in bathroom ( shower only) was very good. Fairly handy for the centre of the city, but too far out if you have any trouble walking. Breakfast was a rather hefty 16 euros which to my mind is a bit steep for a yoghurt and a coffee. There didn't appear to be a pricing structure to hand so we took our breakfast in local cafes which was fine. One of the Paul chain bakeries can be found in the shopping centre opposite. Staff there very good.
The town itself was charming with many varied and excellent places to eat, and many lovely buildings to look at. Be warned though, if there is a religious or public holiday, the museums will be shut. Bordeaux seems to be a well kept secret. I would go again in a flash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts. They seem to be busy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Centre

Address: 5 rue Robert Lateulade, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bordeaux Centre hotel is located in the central business district of Bordeaux, a short walk from the city monuments and historic areas classed as UNESCO World Heritage sites. This renovated hotel has 194 spacious rooms with air conditioning and Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Centre Meriadeck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bordeaux Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.