We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location but some rooms are windowless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 rue du Parlement Sainte Catherine, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful location but some rooms are windowless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fabulous location, just off the main street in Bordeaux. The only downside is my room ( 419) which was reasonably spacious, had no windows, or to be precise had two very small ones at floor to knee height. This made the room very dark and strangely claustrophobic. There were floor to ceiling curtains on two of the walls, but they were just for show, it was very odd.

I also Had great difficulties getting a receipt from the hotel. They insisted the booking agency ( one of the major online hotel agencies) had charged me, which they had not. My voucher clearly Stated I should pay at the hotel. I was charged on my visa a week later for the room but had to make multiple contacts with the booking agency and hotel before I could get a receipt. At all stages the hotel insisted I was wrong.

I would stay here again, purely for the location, but would make sure I was in a room with windows.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor rooms, as the windowless rooms seem to be concentrated here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Manager at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    334
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
76
294
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is right in the city center, literally on the main shopping street of Bordeaux, with lots of restaurants and bars near. It has small rooms, for 1 person only, but very clean and well equipped (you even have a nespresso machine in the room). The bathroom is spotless. Breakfast is good and offers a good variety.
Excellent for both business trips and holiday stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Manager at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience in the Quality Hotel Ste Catherine.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Fanny Gaucher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel twice. And that is for a very good reason. The hotel has a perfect location in the old town. Literally hundreds of nice restaurants and winebars just outside the door. And for shopping, the main shopping street is a two minutes walk from the hotel. Add nice rooms and a very friendly staff, and you have what I think is the best possible base for a nice holliday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Manager at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir fait partager votre expérience et nous vous remercions de ces très gentils commentaires.
Nous sommes heureux de savoir que vous appréciez l'établissement.

Merci de votre fidélité.

A très bientôt.
Cordialement

Fanny Gaucher
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose this hotel having read Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Our room was clean, towels and linen immaculate, desk staff helpful. Bathroom and toilet, small, but well fitted. We thought breakfast was expensive, so we chose to go to one of many local bakeries. Well situated for central attractions, restaurants etc. we would happily go again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Directeur général at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have well received your commentary and we will like to thank you for taking time to share your observations on tripadvisor.

We are attentive about quality of services we offer and take seriously recommendations made by guests.

It is the way we can constantly improve the efficiency and quality of our services.

That is why the staff and myself are pleased to thank you for your gratitude.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Quality Hotel Bordeaux center


Fanny Gaucher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in September . We choose this hotel because it was centrally located and it certainly lived up to our expectations . The rooms were well appointed and clean . The breakfast more than adequate . The front desk helpful . I would highly recommend the location to anyone and would indeed stay there again , however I would make sure I had a lot less luggage .

So what was the problem . Parking ! I can only blame myself for not having done a little more research . We all choose hotels based on our own criteria . This one ticked all the boxes for me including parking which indicated it was nearby. In truth it is nearby .
Twice in the past I have booked hotels in pedestrian only areas with no problem . You were allowed to pull up in front of the hotel deposit your luggage and proceed to the car park . The procedure was repeated on departure . I assumed this hotel would be the same . This was where I made the mistake . I should not have assumed .
We arrived by car late on a Saturday afternoon . We are on a 3 week vacation and each have 2 pieces of luggage .
The city was very busy . Our GPS indicated we were near the hotel but we did not seem to be able to reach it (pedestrian only access ) Next we headed for the car park .parked and trundled our cases over cobbled streets to the hotel .Beware if your cases are heavy or you are are not fit. We found out that you can indeed pull up to deposit and retrieve your luggage The hotel will provide you with a code which is changed daily . You must key in this code to lower the barriers blocking off the pedestrian only area . Obviously it is really important that you allow yourself enough time to negotiate the traffic to and from the car park in order to avoid being locked in or out as this code is only valid for a specific time frame before the the street is completely closed to traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Manager at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your stay.

We are happy to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel even if your arrival was a bit complicated because of the access.

We hope seeing you again.

Best regards,

Fanny Gaucher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent location near Place du Parlement and the surrounding restaurant scene. In an old building, the interior is about as charming as your office but everything is well organised and for once in France, the bed and pillow are really comfortable. Nespresso and included wifi worked well and the breakfast was above average. Very reasonably priced for the centre of town and pretty much ideal for a mid price visit to Bordeaux. Pleasant staff on the from desk as a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Directeur général at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thhanking you for your nice comment and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards

Fanny Gaucher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Choose the Hotel in that it was very close to our Long Term lease with VRBO. While a bit difficult for the Cab driver, it was not problem for us. Just watched him use the radio control devises to speak with traffic to lower the barriers. This hotel is in the middle of a pedestrian only area of Bordeaux. Surrounded by great shopping and countless restaurants. So when we arrived, our room was ready, took a "normal" sized elevator to our floor. For those of you who travel Europe. you will understand.

Very nice room, recently redecorated in a Mondern 60's twist. WE really enjoyed. Even with a room on the front of the hotel, it was quiet in that again NO traffic. Large King bed, desk, coffee maker, etc. Bath was modern, Rain shower head in the shower. So we will recommend this to our friends when visiting Bordeaux. Staff extremely helpful, in fact even after checkout, I was looking for a specific place, stopped and the receptionist recognized me as a past guest and helped with directions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Directeur général at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Quality Hotel Bordeaux Center.
We thank you for your nice comment and your suggestion regarding our Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Best Regards

Fanny Gaucher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre

Address: 27 rue du Parlement Sainte Catherine, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupant une demeure de caractere du 19eme siecle, le Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre se situe a proximite du quartier anime de Saint-Pierre. Entoure de boutiques et de restaurants, il propose des chambres modernes aux tons rouges et blancs, une connexion WiFi gratuite et l'acces gratuit a la salle de sport situee a cote.Toutes les chambres climatisees sont equipees d'une television a ecran plat et d'une machine a cafe Nespresso. Elles sont desservies par un ascenseur.Un petit-dejeuner buffet est servi tous les matins. Vous pourrez vous detendre et prendre un verre au bar-salon de l'hotel ou bien solliciter le service d'etage.Le Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, situe dans la rue Sainte Catherine, est installe a 2 minutes a pied du grand theatre, a 350 metres de la place des Quinconces et a 450 metres de la cathedrale Saint-Andre. L'arret de tramway Grand Theatre dessert tous les sites d'interet prises de Bordeaux et la gare Saint-Jean. L'etablissement ne dispose pas de parking. Vous pourrez toutefois stationner a proximite du parking public << Grands Hommes>>, moyennant un petit supplement. Durant votre sejour, vous aurez un acces gratuit a la salle de Fitness Amazonia situee a 50 metres (ouvert 7J/7J de 6H30 a 23H ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bordeaux
Quality Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.