We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour with a great guide !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ophorus Bordeaux Wine Day Tours

Ophorus Bordeaux Wine Day Tours
2 bis rue Jeanne Lejeune, 33000 Bordeaux, France
0033 633 051 009
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$51*
and up
Ranked #10 of 111 Activities in Bordeaux
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your Bordeaux wine tour specialist. Since 2008, our company has been the first to offer very small group scheduled and private wine tours to the Médoc, Saint Emilion, Graves and Sauternes wine regions. All tours are conducted by accredited and fully licensed English speaking driver/wine guides. All tours are for a maximum of 8 passengers and take place on board recent, comfortable and fully equipped Mercedes minivans. We also provide documents and...small bottles of water!
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice tour with a great guide !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Bordeaux is a place well known for wine and our tour was pre-booked way before we reached Bordeaux. It was drizzling on the day of the tour but the guide, Obris, reached on time and was friendly. He showed around and taught us plenty of things while on the way to the venue which was about 50 minutes. Upon reaching the Chateaux, there was another guide which showed us around. It was a shame that the vineyard is not on the same area as the Chateaux and we could only managed to go to two Chateaux for wine-tasting. Overall experience was good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    65
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I recently went on a full day wine tour to the Medoc region. We found the trip to be very interesting. At the two chateaus and one modern winery we visited someone explained how they make their wine and we felt we learned a lot about wine and the making of wine. We were lucky enough to be there at harvesting time. We were able to watch while the trucks laden with grapes came into the winery and saw the machines and people at work during the intitial process of de-stemming, sorting and crushing. We would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone interested in tasting good wine and learning about the production process. If you want to go to many wineries and just taste wine this is not the tour for you.
Only down side was the lunch time. We were dropped off at a venue across the road from two restautrants and everyone on the tour wandered around trying to find the best place to eat and by chance all ended up at the same place, a cafe/wine bar. Most shops were closed and the restaurants that were open were fairly pricey. I think Ophorous should arrange lunch at one of these restaurants for the group to avoid the confusion. We would have been happy with a salad roll but could not find a shop selling them.
After we got back in the van our guide told us she had bought a sandwich but she had not given us the information about where to buy something simple like that.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“From Bordeaux to St. Emilion......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This tour was excellent...our guide, Alain, was most knowlegeable. He was prompt, courteous, and extremely personable. It was a totally delightful afternoon and when we returned to our ship and heard about the ship's tour.....we were doubly pleased with our choice to book this tour.

LKM

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Wine Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed a long weekend in Bordeaux with some friends recently. Ophorus organised an excellent day wine tour for the four of us to Pomerol and St Emilion. The pick up and drop off arrangements at the hotel were spot on and the knowledgeable driver/guide was excellent. We asked Ophorus to select three Chateaux for us to visit and for tastings and the choices were inspired, beautifully illustrating the range and quality of the wines of the region. Superb!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went on the full day medoc region tour. We were pretty discounted overall with the whole experience. We went to 2 chateaus, and 1 wine shop. The chateaus were beautiful, but each place explained how by make the wine, which took up to an hour each time, and chewed up a lot of time we could otherwise have spent isotong other wineries. It was interesting the first time, but very boring by the 3rd time. We were promised 10 glasses of wine - what a joke! We were stone cold sober at the end of the day. Sure, we tried 10 wines, but only a sip of each one. If you've done winery tours elsewhere such as the Napa Valley in the US, the Barossa or Hunter in Australia, you'll be disappointed.
The wine shop was pretty similar to BWS or Dan Murphys. If we wanted to go to a bottle shop, we would have - we wouldn't have done a winery tour.
Boris the driver was great - the only good part of the tour.
We wouldn't recommend this tour to anyo e. over priced, boring and disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ophorus, Manager at Ophorus Bordeaux Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Bonjour,
I have received your comments and wish to thank you as these will allow me to clearly indicate what one should expect during one of our wine tours. First of all concerning the winery visits:

Here, in Bordeaux, there is only one possibility concerning the visits. All the chateau's include a guided tour of their installations before the wine tasting session. It is part of the experience and each wine grower is proud of the techniques used to create his own wine. During our Saint Emilion tour (which you followed) we only go to 2 chateau's and select one very modern chateau, usually company owned, and another smaller family owned one in the Pomerol appellation so as to show the difference between the two in terms of vision, work, technical and financial means.
Concerning the quantities of wine tasted during our tours, its all about quality and not quantity. Our wine tours have not been designed for clients to end up drunk at the end of the day. The tastings "are" tastings not drinking sessions. In fact, you were lucky to taste 10 wines as that is above the average number of wines usually tasted. Some chateaus will in fact only make you taste 1 wine - their first wine. All the chateaus we go to in Saint Emilion are classified growths and that induces a high price per bottle. That is also why the quantity of wine poured per glass is limited.
Concerning the shop optional (this is indicated in the tour itinerary, shop is optional you can also opt for free time in the beautiful village of Saint Emilion) is there so that our clients can taste other wines/appellations than just the chateau wines.
All in all I am deeply sorry that our full day tour did not live up to your expectations however I do wish to point out that we offer the lowest prices for wine tours departing from Bordeaux, the tours are far from being boring when one wishes to understand what wine making is all about and I can understand your disappointment if you came back to Bordeaux sober but then again having clients get drunk through one of our tours is not our conception of what a wine tour should be!
Kind regards,
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophorus Bordeaux Wine Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ophorus Bordeaux Wine Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ophorus Bordeaux Wine Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.