We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Chaleemar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Villa Chaleemar to your Saves list
La Villa Chaleemar
67 Rue Mandron, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 74 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at Villa Chaleemar for two nights on a brief stop through Bordeaux on my way to Marseille. There was a mix-up with my reservation (I arrived days earlier than scheduled), but Leena was more than gracious and booked me in a room right away (thank goodness one was available.) And what a room! Beautifully decorated, modern, quiet and very comfortable. When I commented on the interior design, Leena mentioned that she'd personally styled every room in her B&B, which helps explains why it feels so personal, cozy and high-end (Leena has great taste.) The location is also great. The train station is 15 minutes away by tram and the center of town is about 5 minutes away by foot. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa-chaleemar, Propriétaire at La Villa Chaleemar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Jerroid,

I would like to say " thank you so much" for your nice advise. I'm happy to read that you spend a short but a nice time at home .
I hope you feel well and i hope to see again soon.
Best regards
Leena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
44
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. I have nothing but wonderful things to say. Leena, the owner, was not only lovely but such a help with any questions or things we needed. The rooms were designed with a keen eye. Nothing feels forced. The rooms are bright, airy & the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are equally well designed with excellent showers/baths, granite tiles and well designed fixtures. I say baths, because I stayed in two rooms. I can't say which I enjoyed more because they each had their own personalities. One was smaller with a full bath the other was larger with an excellent shower.

The breakfast in the morning is such a treat. I ate very well and looked forward to getting up for the excellent selection of food. I had such an enjoyable time I am coming back in 3 months with my family.

The location, in my opinion is JUST right. Enough so you're not stuck in the center of the city, and you get to see a little more than you would otherwise. It's a nice short walk to the tram and a far more enjoyable walk to the city center if you walk through the park.

I decided to stay an extra night in Bordeaux so I had to book a hotel room in the city since La Villa Chaleemar was full. It cost nearly double and had NO soul or character to it. It was a stale, unwelcoming, typical commercial hotel room. The contrast was VERY obvious both in comfort, style and my wallet.

I'd HIGHLY recommend La Villa Chaleemar to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at La Villa Chaleemar. Leena was the most wonderful host - a lovely person and incredibly helpful and hospitable. The place is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location was just perfect for us, tourists in Bordeaux, only a 5 to 10 minute walk into the centre of Bordeaux through the Jardin Public. The tram was also a 5 minute walk away. The surrounding area had great cafes/restaurants and interesting local boutique shops. Leena served a delicious breakfast each day which we really enjoyed. It was also nice to be able to chat to her over breakfast about our plans for the day and have her input on additional things that we might like to do. Staying at La Villa Chaleemar really made our holiday in Bordeaux. We would love to come back and stay with Leena again and highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa-chaleemar, Propriétaire at La Villa Chaleemar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Emily,

Je suis heureuse de lire que vôtre séjour à Bordeaux et à La Villa vous a enchanté. J'ai moi-même était ravie de vous accueillir et d'avoir participer au bien - être de vôtre découverte Bordelaise .
J'espère que vôtre retour sur Hong-Kong s'est bien passé .
J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau à une période plus chaleureuse au niveau du temps .
Best regards
Leena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I along with our friends stayed at La Villa Chaleemar in September 2012 for two nights. It was perfect for us! We got in late and Leena recommended a nearby restaurant which was delicious! The accommodations were wonderful- beautiful rooms, nice big bathrooms, and DELICIOUS breakfast in the morning! Leena is very hospitable and friendly. My only problem was that we had a hard time emailing back and forth- sometimes I wouldn't receive her emails even though she had replied. It wasn't her fault- likely a server issue but it was a little unnerving when I was not completely sure about all the travel details.
I would certainly stay here again! I hope I get the chance to return!

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the room that was directly off of the patio- it was quiet and really priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa-chaleemar, Propriétaire at La Villa Chaleemar, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour vôtre adorable message . J'espère avoir également le plaisir de vous revoir à La Villa .
Bien sincèrement.

Leena Negre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This bed and breakfast is a great find about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Bordeaux. The walk is a pleasant walk through The Jardin Public and we felt safe walking back at night time. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and had a large bathroom with a bath. 

Lena is a great host and was happy to answer our questions and provide recommendations and directions for places to eat and drink. Breakfast was fresh and tasty, with a communal table to chat to other guests. Overall a very nice stay for exploring the Bordeaux vineyards. 

Tip for Bordeaux: Le Maison de Vin is a very nice wine bar opposite the tourist office (closed on sundays) where you can sample the Bordeaux wines from as little as 2 euro a glass. Snacks (cheese/bread/meats etc) are also available for reasonable prices. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were only booked for one night and arrived after dark. Leena gave us a wonderful restaurant recommendation about a 10 minute walk from the B&B for dinner. Leena was very friendly and helpful. We had to leave about noon the next day but had time to walk around the area somewhat. It's so quaint and charming there; a really beautiful area to explore if you have time. Breakfast was delicious croissants, jams, yogurt and fresh fruit with large cups of coffee. We stayed in the Dune room and it was comfortable but small for two large suitcases and two people. If I stay again it will definitely be in one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villa Chaleemar for two nights in September. We had confirmation for the Dune room both nights, but Leena had us booked one night in the Dune and one night in the Oyat room, which was fine with us because for 10 euro more you get a bigger room and a bath tub. Leena gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner the first night within walking distance of the B&B.
The rooms were small, but cozy and tastefully decorated. The beds were surprisingly very comfortable and the breakfast was great ... breads and croissaints with homemade jams and delcious, big cups of coffee. My wife has a gluten intollerance and Leena was kind enough to make her an egg with ham.
There was definitely a faint smell of sewage at times, but no where near as bad as some other raters describe. If Leena's daughter is on duty, don't expect any help. I don't think she cares much for the family business as the two times we inquired about something she quickly shook her head and gave us Leena's phone # (which she never answered) before quickly sliding the common room door in our face. We asked if there was pizza nearby, she said no, but my wife and I found a pizza parlor 2 blocks down the street.
Overall a nice experience and we would return ... very disappointed that we didn't get to visit the rooftop balcony that other raters mention. We didn't even know about it (Leena's daughter checked us in, perhaps she forgot to mention it).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Chaleemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Chaleemar

Address: 67 Rue Mandron, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Chaleemar, a charming villa situated in the heart of Bordeaux, close to the Jardin Public. Built in the beginning of the C20th the house, with its art deco influence, provides airy and bright rooms. It offers a charming mixture of old and contemporary. The hostess of the house, Leena, has created an intimate and warm environment minutes walk from the town center. This wonderful B&B offers 3 bedrooms, a sitting room with fireplace and, in fine weather, a peaceful, shady patio. The ambiance of the house is one of warmth and elegance. Perfectly situated, with very easy access to the "rocade" (motorway). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Chaleemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Chaleemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.