We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Quatre Coins du Vin

Aux Quatre Coins du Vin
8 Rue de la Devise, Bordeaux, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,662 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fabulous wine bar to experience some good wines. The hosts are incredibly informative and very friendly. Went back 3 times. Food also excellent although it's only charcuterie plates etc but they were fantastic! A must visit if in Bordeaux and like good wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    92
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting wines and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Having a distinct interest in wine, this place seemed ideal for a quiet evening's tasting - and as expected, it was! Staff were very friendly, proficient in English and knowledgeable about the wines they had on offer, which was about 40 by the glass, and an extensive list of bottles. Whenever a bottle was emptied from the Enomatic machines (wine dispensers, becoming very popular with bars everywhere) they picked an entirely new one, meaning that the wines they offered changed every day, if not more often. Very nice place, shall return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to taste some Bordeaux wine without going yo the vineyards.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a wonderful little place! As explained in other reviews, you receive a card that you can top up and use it to taste or have full/ half glasses of a range of wines. Staff were very knowledgeable and helpful and self service was a very non-threatening way to choose a range of wines. Food was lovely too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing friendly wine bar - highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I found the reviews of this wine bar on tripadvisor and decided to visit. The staff were very welcoming and friendly - unfortunately my french is not very good, but the staff were happy to talk to me in english about the wines. You charge a card up, and then are able to taste loads of different wines in varying amounts by self-serving from a 'wine machine' - the staff are very knowledgeable and helped me to select the wines I wanted to taste. They were delicious! I aslo ate - I ordered a mixed assiette (containing cheese, meat and veg), it was really tasty. I was on my own when I visited the bar, and was made to feel very welcome. The customers and staff were so friendly and I felt very at ease. I left purchasing a bottle of wine (after recommendation) to take home to my husband. I would really recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vinicular Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a great place, where you can order wine by the glass, half-glass or 'degustation', and where the very knowledgeable young manager will advise and talk you through the 32 wines available by the glass at any given time. We came here for a pre-dinner drink and mixed platter, and would gladly have spent the whole evening here, had it not been for a prior dinner reservation. Fabulous concept, super place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Quatre Coins du Vin also viewed

Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Aux Quatre Coins du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Quatre Coins du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.