We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant in Bordeaux after one year living there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Borsalino

Il Borsalino
7, Rue de la Tour de Gassies, 33000 Bordeaux, France
+33 5 56 52 30 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,058 of 1,615 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Price range: $16 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Bordeaux after one year living there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Book Il Borsalino - a must if you like Italian food. It is quite unassuming and easy to miss but always busy so book ahead.

Order the antipasti to start with (incredible flavours - almost worth going just for that) and then something for your main course which has some room for manouevre (i.e. if you order spaghetti with pesto...that's what you'll get)...they will probably get it right in this restaurant whatever you order so don't be afraid to order something you might not usually go for.

My favourite thing they do there is their creamy, truffle mushroom sauce which you can have with pasta or one of their meat dishes - delicious and full of flavour. I normally like to 'get my money's worth' in a restaurant, so may often go for something big and meaty, but their signature truffle tagliatelle is absolutely delicious - I went back time and time again, and struggled not to order it every time. Well worth the 22 - 25 euros for the 3 course dinner....oh and the tiramasu is really nice too...I don't even like tiramasu! After having lived in Bordeaux for a year and loved the city, Il Borsalino is absolutely one of the places I miss the most.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    7
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“real Italian food in Bordeaux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a small, unpretentious restaurant with outstanding food. Restaurants in Bordeaux seem to be very busy, so we recommend booking. Don't miss the food here! We liked it so much we went back the next evening and it was even better! The flavours of the food are superb and it is very authentic Sicilian cuisine. We received very attentive service, with English translation where we needed it. 3 course menus at €22 and €27, which included all, or most of, the items on the a la carte menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I am reticent to share this address, as I dont want them to get too popular. This is a great little Italian bistro. Reasonably priced and always, so far, excellent food. Try the Burratta if they have it (fresh mozzarella). If you are nice to your waiter he will offer you an amaretto or limoncello at the end of the meal. BIG HINT: when something in France is "offert" its a gift, just say "oui" and enjoy it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Italian food in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were recommended by our Hotel Concierge to eat at this italian restaurant in Bordeaux, France. Sometimes even the best recommendation can be flawed. Not this time! This was one of the best meals we have had in Europe. They were so nice and polite and served the best food at very reasonable prices. Very casual atmosphere and they accept credit cards. We loved every aspect about this restaurant and would come back the next time in Bordeaux!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, italian atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Authentic italian food. Nice simple atmosphere. Very friendly service.... What else?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Borsalino also viewed

Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Il Borsalino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Borsalino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.