We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Avant-Scene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel l'Avant-Scene to your Saves list
Hotel l'Avant-Scene
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Rue Borie, 33300 Bordeaux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

What a pity
The hotel room was damp and we were cold.

Hotel was furnished with cheap material and some things were falling apart or walls were damp.

Pleasant service by the one person who worked in the hotel and did everything

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    59
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
12
88
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Unpreposessing from front -feels as though you are entering a store front- but rooms are pleasant and staff is very friendly. About 5 minute walk down to the river and 15-20 minutes into the pedestrianized city centre (public transport available also).
Easy walk to restaurants for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Friendly hotel in interesting quarter of the city, handy for tram network and near the river.
Rooms facing the street can be a little noisy in the evening due to no double glazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We were nicely surprised when we came to this hotel. An old house with still authentic staircase and 9 beautiful rooms which are individually decorated. Very unique! The room is nicely renovated with tasteful furniture.
The hotel is located in a quite quarter Chartron, walking distance to many cafes. The service was superb, the guy at the reception was very friendly and accompany us to the parking garage, also helped in carrying our luggage to our room. Unfortunately this old house has no lift, but it was our own fault that we had so many luggage for our 3 weeks trip, although we stayed only 2 nights in Bordeaux.
It's also very close to the tram station Chartron, so we could easily go to the city centre at any time.
The breakfast was okay (typical French) but with all the friendliness of the staff even the French breakfast (honestly not really our taste) became nicer....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Everything is 'good' about this 'apart-hotel.' Main things for us were a) it was clean - very clean b) excellent English spoken by staff. Really good meet and greet, despite arriving early we were given a map which was explained thoroughly including trams network. When room was available our case had made it up to it already, c) location away from centre of Bordeaux was great. Quiet road, character in surroundings and safe. Tram stop at bottom of road - 5 mins to centre, trams every 5 mins or so. Or walk it - 10 mins through back streets or 15-20 leisurely along the river. Breakfast was 'interesting.' Plenty of it, never had apple crumble for breakfast before but everything was fresh, well cooked and tasty. Rooms for us were a bit odd - too much white made ours very clinical BUT that's our taste and for a 2 night break it didn't affect us at all. Downsides - the stairs up to the room! Lighting was a bit inadequate in our room as they kept randomly switching off and that's really about it! Definitely do not drive however!!

Room Tip: pre check location of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

L'Avant-Scene is a hidden gem of a hotel. Tucked away in the historic heart of Bordeaux's wine trading Chartrons district, it's an easy walk into town or down to the river. Architecturally it oozes charm from the stylish frontage to the well worn stone steps inside. One can't help wondering who walked here before and the stories they could tell. The elegant modern interior sits well with the 18th century building. We stayed in Room 8 at the front of the hotel which was spacious, comfortable and clean (the one with green curtains in photos). The staff were super friendly and helpful from providing lifts to and from the airport to bringing a wonderful breakfast to our room; we couldn't have asked for more. Friday night was obviously party night at the restaurant opposite so it was a bit noisy and this woke us several times however I honestly wouldn't let that put you off. Keep the windows closed and you'd be fine. Or take a room at the back.

If you're looking for a small, charming boutique hotel right in the heart of beautiful old Bordeaux then look no further. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This small hotel is a little oasis in Bordeaux. We found the service to be very helpful (Jordan who was manning the front desk actually came with us to help us locate the parking area which was awkward to find due to road construction detours). Our room (#9) was spacious and quiet with a comfortable bed and all necessary amenities. Breakfast is available at the hotel for a small charge and it is delicious (fruit, homemade cake, yoghurt, tea, croissant, bread etc.) The hotel is located a 15-minute walk (along the boardwalk) to main shopping/dining areas but there is a tram service that is frequent and efficient that takes you practically to your street. The hotel decor is modern with terrific artwork everywhere. Like staying in a small art gallery. Bordeaux was a pleasant surprise to us--with its glorious architecture, lively restaurants and rejuvenated waterfront. This hotel is a real find in the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Avant-Scene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Avant-Scene

Address: 36 Rue Borie, 33300 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Avant-Scene 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the district Chartrons,famous for its antique dealers and merchants of wine,"l'Avant Scene" welcomes you to its building of the eighteenth century,with patio, and its 9 unique rooms.Of different styles, choose one that will seduce youfor a successful stay .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Splendia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel l'Avant-Scene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Avant-Scene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.