We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing expensive meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gabriel Bistrot

Le Gabriel Bistrot
10, Place de la Bourse, 33000 Bordeaux, France
0556300080
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Gabriel Bistrot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #254 of 1,624 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Disappointing expensive meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Based on the owner of our apartment's recommendation, we went to the bistro at Gabriel. It is in a very beautiful location, Place Bourse, overlooking the river. The restaurant has a nice ambience and is well presented. The meal started off well. I had a warm foie gras with sliced apples that I thought was delicious. We were also served a complimentary bowl of soup, and that was very good. However our main course was a very bland plainly presented fish that tasted fishy. We have eaten quite a bit of fish in France and it's the only one that did. It was very disappointing! The desserts were brought over on a cart for our selection and while they were fine, neither my husband nor I were "wowed" by them, and we've had some "oh la la!" desserts in France. So the first half of the meal was very good but the last half not so much, which results in my average rating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    177
    90
    55
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“does not deserve a michelin star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I went to this restaurant with a business partner thinking that having a michelin star I could not go wrong, what a mistake.First they did not follow what was indicated in the Michelin guide, no menu at 60 euros
Staff is rude and very aggressive, food was poor, some plates were chipped, the sommelier was not very good at guiding us on the wine. menu and dishes were very misleading and poorly executed and I could not eat the soufflé. Overall a great disappointment. The only good thing was the cheese, good selection. if you are in Bordeaux, plenty of better restaurants than this one!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were in the bistro where the food was exceptional, we had the lamb and oysters, and the wine recommended was great. Service was good, but there seemed to a lot of waiters standing around talking amongst themelves.


Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bon repas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were in the bistro Gabriel, a bit more simple than the one-star restaurant of the same name.
We took a lunch-menu and we were surprised by the quality-price ratio. For 29 euros we got a very nice lunch: a poisson-carpaccio, (7 out of 10) main course: pork lacqué with betteraves, a very nice salt-sweet combination (8 out of 10) and a very nice cafe gourmand with a delicious creme brulee (9 out of 10).
The service was nice and efficient and the location 10 out of 10!!!
So all in all we were completely satisfied.
An adress to remember.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good quality !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I liked the waiters , the food and wine and my neighbours.
I disliked nothing
the graves blanc is fantastic

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gabriel Bistrot also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Le Gabriel Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gabriel Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.