We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, very full day in the Medoc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BD Tours: Wine Tours In Bordeaux

BD Tours: Wine Tours In Bordeaux
33 Route Du Stade, 33350 Bordeaux, France
+ 33 (0)9 83 33 81 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 110 Activities in Bordeaux
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine tours in the Bordeaux vineyard: Winemaker Bruno DELMAS offers you the opportunity to discover Bordeaux vineyards and wines on foot, on horseback or by car. Saint Emilion / Pomerol, Medoc, Entre Deux Mers, Graves / Pessac Leognan / Sauternes....Choose your wine tour destination(s)!
Greater Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb, very full day in the Medoc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently spent a day with Bruno with two other couples from our cruise ship in Bordeaux. Bruno arranged a challenging itinerary of five wineries in the Medoc and executed it flawlessly, providing a great experience (and great value) for the 8+ hour day.

Bruno is very personable, and helped our little group, some of whom had not met before, get to know each other. Through education and experience, he is very knowledgable about wine making, the wine business, and the Bordeaux region in particular; during our drives, he kept up a running commentary to educate us about the history of winemaking in Bordeaux and the complex classification system, answering our many questions and encouraging a dialog.

During a stop for lunch, Bruno found a restaurant that could accommodate our group and tight timing, smoothly assisted those of us unfamiliar with the language, and facilitated a very pleasant conversation over excellent local food.

At the wineries, Bruno's familiarity and expertise complemented the various winery tours; Bruno clearly knew as much or more than some of our winery guides, but he had a good rapport with all of them and add his knowledge to the conversation without disrupting the presentations.

Thanks to Bruno, our very full day was time and money very will spent; we left with an appreciation of some of the nuances of winemaking (and wines) in Bordeaux and a desire to return to the region to further develop that appreciation, hopefully with Bruno's assistance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malibu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Three days with Bruno was not enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

He knows everything about wine in Bordeaux and is not afraid to share his opinions. He is funny and well-organized. He loves wine, and loves sharing it with his clients. We were terrible clients - we showed up half a day late because we miscalculated how long it was going to take to drive from the Rhone Valley. He was there, patiently waiting in front of our apartment, and never complained. He took us to a range of vineyards and locations - everything from mom and pop places to over-the-top wine attractions. We were four people with three very different interests - I like white wine, our children were looking for inexpensive little-known wines and my husband likes the big reds with high Wine Spectator ratings. Somehow Bruno managed to come up with something for everyone. He even took lots of pictures so we would have good memories of our visit.

Bruno was the best!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“So much fun and so interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Bruno was a wealth of interesting information and a expert in his field - we had a fun fabulous day and we would highly recommend his tours ! The day was carefully thought out and personalized to suit our needs - thank you Bruno for being reliable, trustworthy and enlightening !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun, personalized, enlightening wine tour in Bordeaux!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Bruno is a fantastic and extremely knowledgeable guide if you want to explore some of the many wineries in the Bordeaux region! I had some specific requests, including a highly sought after visit to Château Margaux, which he managed to arrange for us with apparent ease, and he was just as much of an expert, if not more so, than the staff at the 4 places we visited. He is funny and charming and we (5 American girls who love wine) had a wonderful day of wine tasting and great conversation! Would highly recommend any tour with Bruno!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our day began with a beautiful ride through the countryside around Libourne. The striking vistas, along with Bruno's extensive knowledge of the area (he used to live in one of the villages we passed through) made the ride an unforgettable experience. Regrettably, I did not feel up to attempting a gallop on the horses. If you're comfortable with English-style riding, though, this will not be one of those boring plod along a trail type of tours! What lunch may have lacked in terms of cuisine was more than made up for in conversation, and then we were off to the wineries. Thanks to Bruno's industry-insider perspective, and a little bit of luck, we were able to taste exceptional wines and also engaged in interesting and educational discussions with the winery representative and proprietor. Our first tour was very personal (just us and the tour guide), and I'm pretty sure we would not have normally been afforded this type of access. The second tour, while involving a slightly larger group, was led by the owner himself and, therefore, still an experience that tops most everything we've experienced on other wine tours.

It's also very worth noting that, throughout my vacation planning process, Bruno was always responsive to my inquiries and made what could have easily been a nerve wracking adventure an absolute delight. We will definitely be in touch to book a more extensive wine tour next time we're in France. Please note that Bruno also offers non-horse tours, so I highly recommend BD Tours to anyone traveling to the Bordeaux region.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BD Tours: Wine Tours In Bordeaux also viewed

 

Been to BD Tours: Wine Tours In Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BD Tours: Wine Tours In Bordeaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.