We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stimulating Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Loup

Restaurant du Loup
66, Rue du Loup, 33000 Bordeaux, France (Rue Sainte-Catherine)
+33 5 56 48 20 21
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Restaurant du Loup is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 1,662 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rue Sainte-Catherine
Description: Quartier Pey Berland
Menton, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stimulating Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I can't praise this restaurant enough.It oozed with personality,& fabulous flavours such as violette (with the cheese) & licorice (dessert).A complimentry delicious cold soup was served 1st, made with melon boiled in milk,with mint & ginger added.The ambience is very relaxed, electic & run by the owner, her delighful small dog descretly joins the patrons. As one would desire in France, there's no rush,theres no fuss.To wait a little, is to anticipate & enjoy the chat of your companions.When you are served you are made to feel special.The cellar offers a range of selective Bordeaux wines at reasonable prices.
If you are an up tight American or Englishman who wants instant,on demand service,who dislikes dogs & wants a parody of French food then this honest genuine establisment is not for
you. You must reserve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    60
    10
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blonay
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, creative and savoury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

During our 4-day stay in Bordeaux we accidentally found ourselves in front of the Restaurant Le Loup. So glad, we decided to have lunch as the restaurant offers atmosphere in upstream, tasty Brasserie deco (with nice Pianobar background music) and great food for exceptionally reasonable lunch formulaes between €14 and €17.50. A visit is a 'must' when in Bordeaux.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Having enjoyed some great meals in Bordeaux that were way down on trip advisors list we had high hopes for le loup which is rated in the top 20. We were however disappointed. We had reserved and arrived at 8.30 .we were shown to our table and then completely ignored for at least 10 mins.there is only 1 waitress and there we're 6 tables occupied so I admit that she was busy but she stood and talked to the other diners without even giving us a menu to look at. Eventually I got up and lifted one myself . She took our order after about 20mins and it was 9.30 one hour after arriving when we got our starter. We did however get a small amuse bouchée of cold melon soup before that. We both chose the 27 euro menu.Starters were poor I had a few slices of cold roast du k with put lentils all very bland and tasteless. My husband had ham and melon on toast again boring and tasteless. My husbands rabbit main was tasty I ordered scallops but was brought rabbit also by mistake then I had to wait until my dish was cooked and by that time my husband had finished his which was annoying. The waitress didn't even apologise for the mistake. Scallops were nice and came with minuscule helping of potato dauphinoise and creamed spinach. Next was a cheese plate which was as liver of Brie with interesting jams ,very nice. Then dessert for me was an ok chocolate mousse and fresh fruit salad for my husband with a nice black currant sorbet. Wine was good. All in all the meal was ok but no better than the others we tried which were much cheaper and had better service. We were finished around 11. One big negative is that the owners dog wanders around your feet looking for titbits. This should not be allowed in a restaurant. While we were there several people came looking for tables but were turned away as they had not reserved but yet 3 tables lay empty all evening. Please note that this restaurant like many in Bordeaux closes Sunday and Mondays.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five courses for price of three!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice restaurant. A little quiet for Saturday night maybe because slightly off the beaten track of old town. But food excellent and service equally good. Ordering off the €27 menu you get a nice bonus appetiser and a complementary cheese course which was a very pleasent surprise. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great little restaurant in the heart of the old city, with menus priced lower than we saw elsewhere. In business since 1932 and we could see why. The monkfish (lotte) was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Loup also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant du Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Loup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.