We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes to your Saves list
La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes
49 bis cours de la Somme, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 78 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This really is a delightful B&B. The location is good - do not be put off by the road it is on! The rooms are clean, spacious and have extremely comfy beds with everything you need. The owners are lovely, very helpful and speak some English. There is a pretty garden, seating area on the balcony and hot tub that you're able to use. The breakfast provided is great and keeps you going until lunch. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
138
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Bordeaux Chambres D’Hotes - La Villa
49 Bis cours de la somme
33000 Bordeaux
http://www.bordeauxchambresdhotes.com

This was not our first choice of B&B in Bordeaux. There was another that was rated more highly at the time of researching however, they were closed for the dates we needed and so we booked the Garonne room at ‘Bordeaux Chambres D’Hotes La Villa’ for our four night stay from 22 to 26 July 2012. This was a blessing!

Firstly, email communication for the booking and continuing communication was excellent.

Daniele (Dany) met us at the train station. A rather unexpected service and one for which we were very grateful considering the amount of luggage for this trip to France. We were going to a wedding. We had friends travelling France who we hadn’t seen for a couple of months who also met us at the station and Dany fitted them in the car too!

Don’t really know where to begin………

The hospitality of Dany and Francois was fantastic. They really are a charming and beautiful couple who focus heavily on providing a level of service which is sadly rare these days. There are many who could learn a great deal from them.

You enter via the ‘Blue Door’, which from the street tells nothing of what awaits you. A lovely natural garden, with outdoor spa we used twice, and up the stairs to a very large deck with tables and chairs for your use, then entry foyer where the rooms branch from.

The Garonne Room was spacious, tasteful and beautifully decorated. The bed was a dream!! Oh so comfy. Good size shower for France.

We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed an aperitif which was also offered to our friends. They provided, on loan, a book of Bordeaux and gave lots of information. We were all hungry and they told us of a great place to have lunch. As you walk into town and get to the Pl. de la Victoire the bar/restaurant is on the left, La Plene or something like that and the seafood salade was divine! Dany would be able to tell you the correct name.

The breakfasts were elegantly simple, very enjoyable and served in the dining room of their home which is beautifully decorated; just lovely to immerse yourself in French cuisine. If you went there and didn’t enjoy the food then I think the problem would be with you and certainly not them.

We were provided with robes and a bath mat for use of the spa. Jets in the spa were brilliant.

We entertained our friends on the deck with pates, cheeses, bread, wine and champagne we all purchased and Dany and Francois provided us with chopping board, cutlery, crockery and glasses and then insisted on cleaning it all afterwards! Dany also organised a cab for them to go back to their camping ground.

We walked into town and only caught one tram during the four days.

We had an early train to Brive and Francois provided us with an early breakfast and then drove us to the station. Amazing service.

I could go on but I think you get the idea!

Fabulous stay. Very highly recommended. Would definitely stay there again without question. Exceptional hosts!

Dany and Francois, thank you for a wonderful stay in your home, for your impeccable level of service, your generosity, warmth and kindness. It was lovely drinking wine with you on the deck! By the way, the wedding was lovely!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

When we drove into Bordeaux, we came in through the industrial section and wondered if we were in the right city. It looked terrible, dirty and seedy. We found the hotel by driving past it three times because two blus doors on the street didn't reveal the garden and hotel behind it at all!

We decided to give it a try and Volia!

The setting is unusual and is a full house and b & b off the street. Very private and the decor is very tasteful. We stayed in Garonne for the first night which was big and very earthy in feel. Extremely comfortable beds and pillows - our best yet!. We stayed in 'Goya' the second night and its finished in reds and oranges and quite funky - we liiked it. A smaller room but well decorated and again comfortable beds.

The hosts are great - explaining the city and the sights very well. Thank you! Breakfast was nicely done with yogurts, stewed fruit, breads and croissants. Fresh ''jus'' and coffee was great.

Location is just off the óld city'and an easy walk (20 to 25 mins) to all parts of the city.

Bordeaux is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever seen with outstanding architecture and detail! Just so much to see and every avenue leads to another gem. So many great restaurants to choose from and very comfortable to walk around into the wee hours of the night. A BIG bonus is the food market on the Garonne river on a Sunday morning. More delicious food than your eyes can imagine !!!

Room Tip: Garonne is neutral colours and a nice verandah to walk out onto - big in size Goya is amore private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

definitely agree with all the other posters about this place. dany picked us up from the train station in her car (for no additional cost) and her service to us throughout our stay was just as good. we stayed in the garonne room which was spacious and very clean. the morning breakfast was great and on the second morning, she even cooked us some eggs. they were very willing to tell us where to go to see the sites and to eat and even provided us a bus pass for the few days that we were there. the only thing you want to be aware of though is that it is a university town and it is close by to a lot of pubs, so just be aware that there will be a lot of students late at night if you are returning late. would highly recommend for future stays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stepping through the blue doorway into La Villa was like setting foot into a different world from the busy road on which the door stood. Instead of stepping directly inside a building, you find yourself facing a lovely house fronted by a large, sunny terrace set approximately 60 feet back from the street itself. You'll also find yourself greeted by Daniele, the owner, who greeted us warmly and offered us drinks, maps and guides to Bordeaux.

Our room, the Victoire, was clean, modern and spacious. It was cool thanks to the air conditioning (given that it was approximately 30 degrees outside, that was a godsend) and there was free wi-fi available in the room. It was also striking how quiet the room was and, thanks to the comfort of the beds, it made for a fantastic night's sleep.

Daniele and her husband Francois were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable, including dropping us back at the station to catch our bus to the airport. They also provided a fantastic breakfast each day in the sunshine on the terrace consisting of cheese, meat, beautiful croissants, yoghurt, jams etc.

Location wise, the B&B is in a great place. No more than 20 minutes walk to any of the major sights and perfectly convenient even if you're on foot.

Bordeaux itself was lovely and we'd be happy to go back but La Villa is almost reason in itself to return and we would definitely try to re-book in future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The moment myself and my three friends stepped through the blue doors off the busy main street we were greeted by the lovely Dany who with her husband Francois promptly helped us with our luggage and offered us some juice. After allowing us to settle in they then provided us with a guide book and maps and other information about where to go and the best places to eat etc.

The location of the B&B is absolutely fantastic, only a short stroll to the main part of the old city and all of the shopping areas. It is also close to the train station and river.

The rooms were totally lovely, very well decorated and the beds were to dye for! The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the sheets were so silky I didn't want to get out of bed in the mornings, even though the breakfasts were equally as amazing! On the first morning Dany made us Croque Monseuir which was particularly yummy.

We made the most of the sunshine on the second afternoon of our stay by lazing about on the terrace, which has sunloungers and cushions for the guests to use. They also have a hot-tub which we didn't get to use but saw other guests making use of it.

At the end of our stay Dany even offered to drop us all at the train station which was such a nice thing to do. They both really look after the guests as if they were family.

Overall I would say if you are staying in Bordeaux for any length of time you must stay here as it takes the whole city break to a completely different level, as other people have mentioned already the moment you walk through the blue doors it is like walking into a lovely idylic retreat, you do not feel at all as if you are in the center of one of France's biggest cities.

Room Tip: All rooms have en-suite and are decorated to a very high standard. There are two rooms on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

On our way out of the Dordogne we spent two nights in Bordeaux at Danielle and Francois’ Chambres d'hotes. We’re only sorry we could not stay longer. On a busy street and just a couple of minutes’ walk from the Place de la Victoire and its tram stop, it is an oasis of calm once you step through the blue doors (with the center of Bordeaux’s old town only a 20 minute walk, we never needed to take the tram). At no other B&B have we been greeted by a check-in aperitif! We chose the smallest room, which still had enough space for us. The breakfasts were varied and excellent, and our hosts were very helpful with sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. When we left Francois made sure we got to the train station in plenty of time to catch the airport bus. We hope to spend more time in Bordeaux; if we can this is where we will want to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes

Address: 49 bis cours de la Somme, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace and comfort in the heart of a popular district!At only a few minute walking from the historic districts and the storekeepers, this guest house recently renovated will charm you by its spaces allying intimacy and comfort in a spacious and green frame.After a long journey, one day of work or visit, appreciate its 5 comfortable rooms (queen beds, private shower-rooms and toilets, free WiFi, air conditioning, etc.) and spaces of conviviality completely rethought to favor the exchanges with the other guests or your host (lounge - fireplace, kitchen area, Jacuzzi, bar, terrace, etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bordeaux Chambres d`Hotes Hotel Bordeaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.