We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect host in a historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Hotel Labottiere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bordeaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Hotel Labottiere
Save
You added Petit Hotel Labottiere to your Saves list
14, rue Francis Martin, 33000 Bordeaux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€30 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
bicester
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A perfect host in a historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in Bordeaux: it is largely made so by the perfect host, Daniel, whose enthusiasm for the hotel and for his city is very infectious!
It is not a 'boutique hotel' and does not pretend to be but it provides an opportunity to stay in a unique environment (a unique 'hotel particulier' which has been carefully restored and furnished with antiques from the appropriate period).
The 2 bedrooms are comfortable and have all the amenities that you need including flat screen television and mini bar/fridge and kettle. The toilet is separate to the bathroom which, I think, is a great idea.
The furniture is very much in keeping with the style of the place: very definitely not chain hotel style comfort and a bit qurky but very much part of the experience.
Everyone mentions the breakfast because it really is exceptional: such a huge choice of food that it may seem overwhelming but just take what tempts from the array of cold meats, omelette, pastries (including the local speciality: canneles), yogurt, fruit.......you probably won't want to eat again until the evening!
The tour of the house was really interesting and it would be a great pity to stay here and not do the tour; Daniel has clearly spent a lot of time researching the history of the house and brings it to life with personal anecdotes.
On arrival, you may be taken aback by the unprepossessing entrance but the warmth of welcome will soon overcome this initial impression and you will enjoy your stay in this charming place.

Room Tip: There are only 2 and they are both very similar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I travel around the world all of the time and have never been so delighted by a luxurious lodging experience as we have just had the pleasure to complete at Le Petit Hotel Labottiere! The home is magical, the service is impeccable, and the breakfast is fit for a royal reception. We cannot wait to return. Daniel, the owner, gave us thoughtful recommendations for Bordeaux and actually (very kindly) ran an errand for us so that we could enjoy our time in his city. Finally, we had the honor to tour the historically significant home with Daniel, who recounted family memories and historical anecdotes of the irate owner's life in the house. What a gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisVoyageur_55, Propriétaire at Petit Hotel Labottiere, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Brigitte A,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and share your experience with TripAdvisor community.
I wanted to tell you that we had a great pleasure to welcome you and your husband and share with you this magic place.
I will share your compliments to the young women in charge of the service and preparation of breakfast.
We look forward to the pleasure to welcome you in Bordeaux.

Daniel Korber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is not a chic little hotel as shown in their advert but a dilapidated B&B. The whole place could do with a good clean and refurbish. The two bedrooms are not situated in the main house(as shown in the picture) but an annex which you enter from a grubby door on a small side street.You are not allowed in this part of the building unless invited on a tour.
Both bedrooms are in serious needs of redecoration and a good clean.. At present both bedrooms contain a mishmash of period furniture and paintings that need to be deep cleaned and restored to be appreciated.Both bathrooms also require extensive modernisation and the pull across plastic shower curtains needs to be replaced.
Breakfast was served in a room that also needed a good clean,repaint and a clear out, as it contained a zimmer frame ,garden furniture and an ancient record player complete with dust covered records. Not very hygienic!
This is not worth the money being charged.
In summary avoid this place, I wish we had!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisVoyageur_55, Propriétaire at Petit Hotel Labottiere, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Murdie 192

Welcome as a new member in the community of TripAdvisor reviewers and thanks for your first post. Being myself a regular contributor, I will certainly not apply "Terrible" to a place qualified as "Excellent" by a strong majority of experienced reviewers and will keep that for a seedy motel in the Third World.
To be credible, a judgment must be reasonable and moderate.
As you explained me on your last day, you wanted to go to another hotel but they had no rooms available at your dates. As a last choice you decided to come at Le Petit Hôtel Labottiere and certainly this was part of your "huge disappointment".
Located in the heart of Bordeaux, close to the Public Garden in a quiet street, Le Petit Hôtel Labottière is an entirely Listed Building (highest level of protection for a Monument in France). That includes what you call the "annex" and the Gallery where you had your rooms and breakfast as the two gardens.
I am proud to say that with my parents we spent thirty years of loving care to the house and to furnish it with antiques from the period. Of course, part of the charm is due to their "patina" given by years. If you expected design furniture or swimming pool and spa, I understand your disappointment.
Despite his age (built before 1789) we have water on all floors, electricity, air conditioning, wifi and flat TV screen. Each room is equipped with bathtube and separated shower.
I can't let you say that the rooms need to be redecorated as the garden side room has been entirely done in february this year.
I can also understand that you don't like the decoration and feel really sorry for you but this is part of the charm of the place.
Most "terrible" is for the owner to keep smiling front to the lack of curiosity and sensitivity of those who refuse a private tour of the monument and its collections, included in the package stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Perfect location to visit Bordeaux. Walked everywhere. Incredible breakfast. Beautiful presentation. Excellent welcome and advice on what to visit. Lots of documentation and helpful restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Though this review is a little late, I felt we really needed to share the amazing time we had at this hotel in Bordeaux. Daniel was an amazing host with a wealth of knowledge be it of history or food or culture or virtually anything about Bordeaux. We absolutely loved his food recommendations and enjoyed the most amazing meals at local restaurants thanks to Daniel. The hotel is well situated and we were able to walk everywhere. We only stayed a day in Bordeaux but because of Daniel we got to see and do a lot. And the breakfast...now that was out of this world! A must try along with Daniel's tour of the historic house. We'd love to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Petit Hotel. We felt very welcome and Daniel is a very good host and very helpful when I needed access to the internet. I would say this is more like a B&B than a hotel, but a very nice B&B.

We were rather disapointed as we did quite a lot of research on accommodation in Bordeaux and we got the impression that we would be staying in this lovely renovated manor house, but the two rooms are in a renovated building that used to be attached to the house, so not in the main house at all and I think it was a little overpriced. We did take the tour of the manor house which was very beautiful.

The breakfasts were very good. THe omlette was lovely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Daniel was a wonderful host. With his perfect English and extensive knowledge of sights and places to eat in town, he was a great resource. The room was more like a mini-suite, tastefully furnished, quiet and cosy. The breakfast was in a beautiful salon next to the courtyard. We have never experience a breakfast that opulent and we made sure we had time to enjoy it to it full extent every morning. The number of pates, cheeses, hams, breads, cakes, etc was amazing. We still talk about it months later and it is often the stick to which other hotel breakfasts are measured ever since. Make sure you do a tour of the palace before you leave. Daniel gives you not only a background of his family home but also the history of Bordeaux. We did not have a car. It was no problem walking or using public transport to every major site in town. I doubt there is a better place in Bordeaux.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Hotel Labottiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel Labottiere

Address: 14, rue Francis Martin, 33000 Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bordeaux: a unique and precious witness the art of living in the XVIIIth century. At the end of the 18th century, a gentleman imbued with discerning taste, had a private mansion built in the heart of Bordeaux, next to the Public Gardens, that has today after extensive refurbishment been returned to its original splendour, and opened to the public. Liliane and Michel Korber have devoted over twenty years of loving care to refurnishing this monument and bringing it back to life. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Hotel Labottiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.