We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food less than average, service unfriendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Au Sarment - CLOSED

Au Sarment
50 rue de la Lande | Saint Gervais, 33240 Bordeaux, France
05 57 43 44 73
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“food less than average, service unfriendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

we were in the mood for some good food and a nice wine. we followed the trip advisor recommendation for the au sarment as it was near our village we stayed for our vacation. also the website looked nice so we went and were bitterly dissapointed. first of all the lady who owned the place was not even trying to be friendly (everyone has a bad day but not such a bad day...). secondly the food was not what we expected. the crap cake was overspiced, the noix de saint jaquces were ok. the lobster was just nothing. in maine you get a better one for 8 euros on a campground which is more delicious. well and then the pave de thon with foie gras - nice try but... the risotto was overcooked, the thon not fresh and the foie gras average. the dessert is not worth the words. overall it was not worth the money and an evening to spend. too bad. maybe you are more lucky but...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I and our son ate here for a Sunday lunch. We had the surprise fish menu and it was simply delightful. One course in particular with some vegetables that had a flavour of oysters to them was out of this world. The menu was well priced and perfectly executed.
Our son dropped something on the way back to our car on departing which we had not realised until we were almost 2 hours from the restaurant. The lady who ran the restaurant was so understanding and pleasant about it. She searched the roads nearby found the item that was so important to our son and sent it by post to us.
Great food and true service above and beyond the call of duty. We would highly recommend dining here and we certainly will do so again - without dropping anything on our departure next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Had lunch here with girlfriend and her parents. Very nice restaurant and lovely food. Great peaceful relaxing atmosphere. Served by Anne, the chef's wife who was very friendly and spoke excellent english. Upon leaving the chef Franck and his son came out to say goodbye. I highly recommend a visit to this wondeful restaurant. It is fairly posh so no t-shirt and jeans!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Just gets better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I had to write a further review. This time I went with my wife, daughter and her partner and we all went a la carte. It is expensive but then some special treats are worth both waiting and paying for. Whilst you wait amuse-bouche are brought to the table. They are both artistically presented and becautifully prepared. As for the main meal I had the langoustine ravioli in a slight hint of coconut milk and herbs. It was beyond wonderful. My fillet steak was cooked to perfection and I could have eaten the mango dessert a second time before leaving. With cocktails, a bottle of the local village wine (21 euros) and coffee it worked out at about 68 euros a head for three courses.

I am having to ration my trips to this restaurant least familiarity breeds contempt - no chance!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“This restaurant is the nearest thing to heaven near to Bordeaux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Where to start? The food in this place is nothing short of fantastic. This is French cooking with a hint of the Caribbean. The flavours are Divine and the welcome and service just excellent. My wife and I have been there twice now. Once we just pigged out on the a la carte and on the second occasion saved a lot of money by eating the fixed lunch menu. Both meals were faultless. It will not be long before a Michelin rosette is awarded to this restaurant much loved by true foodies! Try the local red wine from Saint Gervais which is on their wine list. Good value and really well worth a try. One point - the restaurant really isn't in Bordeaux but situate near to Bourg. After lunch try a visit to nearby Chateau Bertinerie 33620 CUBNEZAIS. There is a tour and you can buy direct. The Haut Bertinerie white (available at Au Sarment) is magnificent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Sarment also viewed

Saint-Andre-De-Cubzac, Gironde
 
Prignac-Et-Marcamps, Gironde
Le Taillan-Medoc, Bordeaux
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Sarment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.