We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Basque Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiloa Gourments

Chiloa Gourments
7, Rue des Tonneliers, 64100 Bayonne, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 201 Restaurants in Bayonne
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Basque Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a small restaurant and on the night we were there an amazing lady did front of house, all the cooking and waiting until a waitress arrived at about 8:30pm. Our fault we got there at about 7:45 which is very early for this part of France. The menu was scibbled in chalk outside but our phrase book didn't help much. The cook could speak very little English so she bought out a review done by a travel writer about 10 years ago so we ordered that.
She bought us a little taster first and we drank sangria. We had 3 courses - omelet first, the traditional Axao which was minced veal with potatoes peppers etc and a basque tart for desert. The wine was brought out in liitle jugs and our hostess finished off the meal by offering a liquer which she kept bringing out.
The meal was brilliant, so full of flavour, the hostess was just lovely and so helpful and it cost 13 euros for the food. The place was full on a Tues night and no wonder. This was a great basque experience. Simple, not fancy, not to be missed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Basque Food from the Nicest Lady Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was the highlight of our trip to Bayonne, what a joy, seriously, as the last English review says. We found it through lonely planet and were a bit wary seeing the place as it doesn't look like much and has a limited menu. However, we were blown away by the huge portions of great basque food. We had the basque omelet to start, and then both had servings of Axoa (the highlight of the menu, a basque veal stew) and basque cheese and a gateau basque to finish. She charges for wine by how much you drink and the bottles are only 14 euro. She is also hilarious and nice and after such a long time away from my family I felt at home even though I'm obviously foreign. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Chiloa Gourmenta is an absolute treasure. We were recomended to try this little place out and were not disappointed. It's not easy to find, hidden away in a tiny narrow street in Old Bayonne but it is def worth the effort.
The menu outside is scrawled in undecypherable French/Basque, you probably won't recognise any of the dishes and it would be easy to walk on or cross the street to flashier places but that would be a very big mistake!
It's very small, about 24 coversand they don't speak English but that just enhances the appeal. There is a version of the menu in English and that will give a basic idea of what you're about to receive but just go with the flow and order the Basque specialities, Aoxa, Garbure, Poulet Basque and the beautifully light Basque cake dish [can't remember it's name, sorry.]
We had a fantastic night there with great food, carafes of inexpensive red wine and a liqueur called Irxtxo, another Basque speciality, the last one was on the house! Cheers Madam!
With a decent tip I think we spent about 20Euros/a head.
In 3 weeks of travelling around Europe this was the best meal. Can't say fairer than that.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“100% Authentic French restaurant with superb Basque cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a genuine small family-run restaurant with a menu combining Basque and French dishes. Don't be put off by the external appearance or the fact that half the words on the menu aren't in your French dictionary. This place is the real deal! The set menu is competitively priced, the wines are pleasant, and the service is patient and friendly. The Garbure (vegetable soup with ham) is gorgeous, the Axoa (minced veal) is delicious, the desserts are delightful and the portions are generous. This is a place one goes back to, and it does not disappoint. By the way, it is actually called 'Chiloa Gourmenta'. Its specialities are listed as Garbure, Axoa, Merlu Koskera and Poulet Basquaise, though there are plenty of other choices. Be brave! Eat Basque!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiloa Gourments also viewed

Bayonne, Basque Country
Bayonne, Basque Country
 
Bayonne, Basque Country
 

Been to Chiloa Gourments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiloa Gourments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.