We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and lively service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Eveil des Sens

L'Eveil des Sens
Rue des dentelles, 67000 Strasbourg, France
03 88 32 81 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,060 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Price range: $45 - $182
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manhasset, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely food and lively service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I ate here on our 2nd night in Strasbourg and had a terrific meal. The owner was very friendly and spoke beautiful english. We ate outdoors and the tables were set with a great eye for good design. Beautiful bar ware and linens with a exceptional variety of flowers. The amuse bouche was very tasty. As was the rest of the meal. My only comment is that of maybe 6 or 7 starters there was only one I would consider ordering. That didn't stop us from going back the next night, I had it again and loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    121
    31
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First visited in 2005. Wonderful little place. Went back 8 years later for 30th wedding anniversary. Food still excellent. Service impeccable. Limited choice, but always a sign of a good restaurant in France. Came away feeling like it was worth the trip to Strasbourg on its ow. 127 euros for 2, so not cheap, but we did have cremant, wine and coffee. Will be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkhamsted
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews we decided to book L'Eveil des Sens in advance from the UK for our first evening meal in Strasbourg as it was close to our hotel, giving the hotel name as the contact point. About an hour before our meal the restaurant phoned our hotel and asked whether we would like to sit outside or inside - we decided outside as it was a warm evening.

On arrival at the restaurant we were offered a complimentary entree while we chose from the menu. The wine list was the best we saw in Strasbourg and came in a book about an inch thick. It provided an excellent choice of wines, particularly from the Alsace area including 19 different Rieslings from a variety of vineyards and vintages. The food was excellent, not just in the way it was cooked but also inits presentation. Service was a little slow, but this was due simply to the fact that many restaurants were not open on the day we ate there, so the staff were kept pretty busy.

On the basis of our first visit re returned there for our last night in Strasbourg and were not disappointed. Advance reservations are essential.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very good restaurant, we'll recommend it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went twice to this restaurant. Proper service, the first night we ate at the top floor. was very romantic, proper couverts, tablecloth and cups. The food was amazing, and the selection of wines was exquisite. We were very well attended by older man with grey hair, young woman with short black hair and young guy with black hair.
The second night, we decided to eat downstairs. It's more atmosphere for friends, family and groups. The food was very good too and the wine was amazing. That night we were attended by a blond woman, unfortunately chaotic and she was giving more attention to the local people (my husband speaks french but not native). It was nice too but due to the chaos that this blond waitress was giving to the rest of the waiters, the atmosphere was not that relax.
Extra point for the restaurant: Opening days, It's one of the few restaurants that open on Sunday and Monday.
Our compliments to the Chef and his assistant, the food was formidable!!!
About the personnel: the best are as we mentioned before the waiter with grey hair, the young lady with black short hair and the young gay with black hair, the other were good too. If we'll own this restaurant we'll considered to have less personnel and get rid off the blond woman, she gives just chaos to the rest who are doing a good job.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very nice place with excellent food. The ambiance is wonderful and you feel like you're in your own living room. The only problem is that the staff does't speak English, so you get to eat what you have't ordered. But everything is delicious and whatever came to the table is great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Eveil des Sens also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to L'Eveil des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Eveil des Sens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.