We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tire-bouchon

Le Tire-bouchon
5 rue des tailleurs de pierre, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Mairie Sud)
+33 3 88 22 16 32
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Tire-bouchon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 1,060 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mairie Sud
Description: A deux pas de la cathedrale de Strasbourg, et de son marche de Noel, le restaurant le Tire-Bouchon maitre restaurateur depuis 2011 est une winstub ou l'on retrouve l'authenticite d'autrefois. Dans un cadre chaleureux et soigne , qui fait la part belle aux poutres apparentes, aux tables delicieusement nappees et aux lumieres tamisees, venez vous rechauffer autour de succulentes specialites alsaciennes accompagnees de nos vins soigneusement selectionnes. Pensez a reserver l'un de nos salons privatifs pour vos evenements familiaux jusqu'a 30 personnes. Cuisine Chaude tous les soirs jusqu'a MINUIT !!
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

nice place to be.
very friendly. excellent food.
as for the bill, not bad at all.
i recommend every visitor or tourist to go there.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    340
    124
    67
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A local recommendation that missed the mark with us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visited this restaurant on a recommendation from a local, for lunch. We were both keen on a set menu however the one with an appealing set of main courses only had meat starters; my wife doesn't eat meat; and the restaurant was not into making an accommodation by offering a substitute. We therefore went for the baekeoffe de poissons, basically a fish stew, as a single dish. This took ages to arrive prompting the question between ourselves of whether they had caught the fish yet in the end. When it did arrive, it proved primarily to be potatoes with a few bits of fish. The waiter also decided to provide us (and charge us) with a salad although neither of us thought we had ordered one.

When he realised the tip he got at the end was less than he should have received if the service had been good, our waiter failed even to thank us or communicate further, which seemed unnecessarily rude.

Perhaps locals get better treatment.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't eat here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Awful food and service to match. We waited absolutely ages for our starter. I had requested crudités without dressing. It came swimming in dressing and I was told it was impossible to provide one without dressing as everything was prepared in advance. It was horrendous.
We waited about an hour for our main course-my husband's jambonneau was thoroughly overcooked and dried out and burnt black on the top. The waiter could be heard swearing under his breath throughout the meal and was inattentive. I would avoid this place at all costs as it was a horrible dining experience from beginning to end..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A French culinary rhapsody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Spent a long time trying to locate this place;having read about on the net. It was everything that was said & more. Chose a fixed lunch menu. My entree of Foie gras was delectable & the bone marrow that my wife ordered was equally nice. My main course was the chef's selection of meat, which was nice, but too big a portion. My wife's local fish with wine sauce was nicer. The desserts of chocolate mousse with fresh cream, as well as Creme Burlee was lip smacking. The restaurant earned it's richly deserved praise. Highly recommended. Bon Appetite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vecses, Hungary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly place with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I've been to La Tire-bouchon few days ago with my colleagues. It is a very friendly place with excellent food and wines. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they speak English also (not like in most of the restaurants).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tire-bouchon also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Le Tire-bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tire-bouchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.