We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 boulevard Leblois, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

It is cheap, but unles you are ready for a BIG compromises - avoid. We stayed for one night and we would not recommend this to anyone. Very clean but very old furniture. Bed with holes so extremely uncomfortable to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelesplanade67, Responsable réception at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Google Translation
cher client, nous regrettons que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre séjour de juillet dernier ; nous renovons nos chambres continuellement, les matelas ont été changés, et il est préférable lorsque vous avez un problème dans une chambre de le signaler à la réception qui fera toujours le maximum pour le résoudre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    32
    31
    29
See reviews for
26
38
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Favria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I have no problem with cheap. I am ok with Formule 1 hotels at 20€ per night. They are cheap but with dignity.

This hotel is cheap because it may have been good at some point, but it has been neglected for SO long that now it can't command any higher price.

The carpets should all be changed everywhere. The illumination seems lacking and, where present, is inconsistent, sometimes too strong, sometimes too dark. The staircase, for instance, is not provided with any. The hall has some weird green light, and so on.

The rooms are simple. Furniture is kept to a minimum. They are clean but, also here, the floor needs being replaced, the walls need new paint, lighting isn't too exciting.

Most annoyingly, the hotel is facing a busy square, and the noise insulation is poor, so I hear the traffic. I can also hear the neighbours up to two room away in any direction, which is not great.

So, no reason really to choose the hotel and a lot to avoid it. I got here because at this time of the year everything else was either sold out or unaffordable. But I do travel to Strasbourg often and, in normal seasons, I would never consider coming back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelesplanade67, Responsable réception at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
we are sorry that you did'nt enjoy your stay. We cannot renovate 50 rooms in one single year,
we did it for 6 rooms in 2013, 10 rooms in 2014 and we'll continue in 2015;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good location. Rooms decoration is poor. One of the blankets was burned and had a hole. Service is okay.__________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelesplanade67, Responsable réception at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
thanks for your comment ; you should tell us immediatly that one blanket was burned. I saw this on monday and I changed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The rooms are good but my room had a problem with the window and it was not easy to somente to go there and solve the problem. The heating was also not really good. The bathroom was ok but it didn't have a Hair dryer.
The breakfast was good, but it didn't have fresh fruits.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here while I looked for an apartment. I had to stay a week longer than I had originally booked. They accommodated me, let me keep my room, and kept charging me at the discounted rate I had for my original booking!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Fantastic reception service, friendly staff and very useful Wi-Fi available in the room. Good central location right next to a tram line straight into town, which takes 5/10 minutes. Line runs directly to train station too. The only issue we had was there were hairs in the shower. However, overall, I would defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Staying very often in this hotel, it's clean, calm, comfortable bed, always hot water and clean bathroom, the staff is very helpful, internet is free but sometimes is not working so great, the hotel is quite a nice place to stay especially since last modernisation - sort of 80' looklikes was change to modern one, with calm not depressed colours, good value for money, and there is a lift there !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 1 boulevard Leblois, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Esplanade Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.