We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a location that good,there had to be a catch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell to your Saves list
Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell
16 place de la Cathedrale, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Mairie Sud)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Holbrook, New York
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“for a location that good,there had to be a catch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night and thankfully not more than that. This place served our purpose for quickly getting in and out of the city while being in close proximity to all the sights, but for longer stays I would suggest looking elsewhere.

For us the hotel overall left much to be desired. The staff did not know English all that well and our room had a tremendous beam cutting straight through our bed as well as our bathroom at an angle. It was cute upon first look but it got old very fast to the point I left thinking it was downright dangerous. You literally had to duck to and exit the bathroom without smashing your head open. We opted not to eat in the restaurant due to the horrible service reviews and I think it was a good decision. When I peeked in on one of the dining rooms, it seemed that several people were looking around in a way that suggested they were held against their will.

It was a little strange to stay in a place like this. It's primarily a busy restaurant that makes you feel that the hotel was an afterthought. For example you have to walk past the main kitchen doors with waiters constantly going in and out just to get to the elevator that brings you up to the rooms and the "front desk" is basically a corner of the bar. If you want the old world Strasbourg experience, this will do. If you typically like a little more comfort and service from your hotel, look further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    12
    17
    12
See reviews for
7
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a charming restuarant that isn't as good as it has been in recent years. However if you are visiting Strasbourg for a short stay, try and book a table on the first floor beside over looking the flood lit Cathedral - it's a great location. The food and service aren't as good as they used to be, but it's still very good with plenty of choice. The wine list is excellent. Wouldn't be rushing back, but it's worth a visit if you have never been before.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Location is excellent,nx to the cathedral.We went for a drink and booked a table for the next night. Gautier was very helpful and booked us a table on the first floor next to the window looking out at the cathedral.Perfect spot.
Food was very good too. I am vegetarian and had the Risotto. The others has fish and we all thought how good the food was.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We visited Maison Kammerzell for diner with no reservation seeking a window table on the top floor but none where available. So we booked a window table on the second floor for the following night. When we arrived the next night we were led upstairs and directed to a table well away from a window, near the entry and the worst table position possible. It's a beautiful building but don't take my word on it, judge by service you get on entering the foyer and try to spot a smile. This is only our second negative report, but when your on holiday you want to limit negative experiences.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our tour guide recommended the restaurant for a good shoukrut and we arrived for the lunch.We took the "set menu"that includes first cours,shoukrut with 7 different meat and dessert.Ordered a bottle of Gewurztraminer to accompain the meal.
The restaurant is significant and charming but the sitting is alittle tight and the service very correct but slow.The food was very tasty and the main course is huge size come hungry.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We hade dinner in the main square at the Restaurant of the Hotel. The location was very nice but the service quite slow and we waited a few miuntes to get a table. We tried the local main course of various meat and it was abundant and delicious but slow to be prepared.
Good if you want to enjoy the localtion but come late afternoon.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S of Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

This is a great find in a fabulous city. The location is perfectly placed next to the Cathedral and in 5 minutes walking distance of the amazing Petite France area of the city.

The hotel is charming with original features, a unique exterior and querky interior murals and staircase. Our bathroom was so tasteful with light oak beams slanting over the modern fittings.

Our view through the little windows overlooked the high peaks of the roofs of the neighbouring properties with their picture book Alsacian windows.

The restaurant had great murals of the merchant life of 15th century Strasbourg, tasteful fittings and pleasant ambience. Food was outstanding with all the traditional specialities of the region. The staff were casual but very efficient and the restaurant manager excellent.
It struck us how very kind they were and made you feel instantly at home.

A recommended experience.

  • Liked — Location and unique building
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell

Address: 16 place de la Cathedrale, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.